We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Mean” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Inn Blaxhall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ship Inn Blaxhall to your Saves list
Ship Inn Blaxhall
School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Blaxhall B&B and Inns
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Mean”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Recently went to the Shipp Inn, Blaxhall for supper and hadn't been for at least 3years when the food was very good and the place spotless. Alas, not so now. The menu was very disappointing and not very good; we had high expectations after reading the reviews. One of our party had the scampi which I would have thought couldn't be messed up, but it did not look at all appealing and the vegetarian option was worse, the steak pie was not too bad but the sausages were undercooked. The actual dining area could do with a good clean, the drinking glasses on the shelf didn't not look at all clean, looked like they'd been dipped in water and left without drying.
Needless to say we will not be going again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your visit to our pub, naturally we are sad that you had such a disappointing visit and will discuss your comments with the staff in detail.

Given that we always visit each table at least twice during meals to check that everything is satisfactory, and I usually do this personally; I am surprised that you did not tell us of your concerns. We would have gladly replaced your dishes or given a refund. As far as I am aware everything was satisfactory at your table until now when there is little opportunity to 'put things right' for you. You would also have been asked if everything was satisfactory when you came to pay your bill!

Regarding your comments about the menu, 95% of our dishes are home made using fresh local ingredients. Our facilities are limited and we try to make best use of what we have to produce good quality 'home cooked' food at reasonable prices. We do not buy in pre-prepared meals from third party suppliers. Accordingly the menu is not as big as many of the larger pub chains or hotels, but offers a good choice of dishes and it is changed every quarter. In addition there is usually at least 1 daily special. Finally, if a customer genuinely cannot find anything they like on the menu, if we are able to the chef will prepare something special to order - time and ingredients permitting.

Located in a hard water area, we do sometimes have a problem with 'spotting on glassware', this does not mean that the glasses are dirty - far from it, they are steralised in our glasswasher. We are trying different rinse aids to cure the problem and will find a long term solution soon. Industry best practice and hygiene advice suggest that glasses should no longer be dried with a cloth but left to drain on mats with free air circulation. We certainly do not dip them in water and leave to drain!

We accept that the pub is an old building and in need of re-decoration plus some of the furniture needs updating, accordingly it would be easy to mistake the need for cleaning with an aged environment. Having said that, the pub is cleaned every day and Siggi or I personally check the dining area before the start of each shift. The interior paintwork aged badly and looks tatty in places, and we plan to renew this in the spring giving the whole a much cleaner and fresher appeal.

I am sorry that we appear to have let you down on this occasion and would welcome the opportunity to 'put things right' for you, we very rarely have unhappy customers and take pride in the ever growing number of positive reviews that have been received since last Autumn.

Yours faithfully,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
21
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a wonderful afternoon , the atmosphere was great , food drink and service fantastic. The music was superb. A great afternoon spent making new friends and catching up with old friends . The location is perfect .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for writing such a positive review of your visit to our lovely country pub. Sundays have become the traditional kick back and relax days here. With a home made Sunday lunch followed by one of Sharon's special home made puds, there is often the opportunity to listen to some great live music in a nice friendly environment.

Siggi and I are delighted that you had such a pleasant time and have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Many thanks to Siggi, Adrian and staff for making our stay so enjoyable. I think my only complaint is......our stay was not long enough!!!
Accommodation is clean, spacious, comfortable and peaceful. Breakfast was excellent and all cooked fresh on arrival at the dining room. The pub is very friendly and the locals made us feel welcome. There is a good selection of well keep real ales which pleased my husband. Food was great, it was a plentiful portion served nice and hot. Have to say after a starter and main course had no room for dessert so didn't sample these but from the board there was a good choice. During our stay There was a different special offered every night. One night it was german meatloaf which was devine.
My husband and I enjoy walking and only a short distance from the pub you have Blaxhall Heath and Tunstall Forest ideal for a walk before breakfast or after your evening meal.
Will definately return very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hiya,

What a useful and informative review! Thank you for the kind comments which we have already shared with the team. Naturally we are all delighted that you enjoyed your break in our beautiful village so much.
Siggi and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ship Inn again soon.

Best wishes & kind regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I spent more than 3 weeks at the Ship Inn whilst working in the area. A very welcoming pub with good local real ales and home prepared food with accommodation available with en suite facilities. The line caught cod in batter is particularly good,as is Siggi's recently introduced German Meatloaf and Jägerschnitzel. Free wifi available in the bar area (But not in the rooms, so an incentive to spend some time in the bar Lol). The pub is popular with local folk musicians who have regular sessions in the bar. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Alastair,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review about the Ship Inn at Blaxhall. We really appreciate customer feedback and use it to both benchmark our performance and as a training aid for staff development.
Having stayed with us for such a long time you are better placed than most to make an objective assessment of how we measured up, Siggi and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for your kind comments.
We hope that you will come to Suffolk again soon and make a return visit to see us.

Best Wishes & kind regards,

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Many years ago this was almost a local. Went recently just for a lunchtime beer and great to see the place doing so well. Lovely ale at a decent price for this part of Suffolk. However, if you be a tall person, drink lots as it will numb the pain as you crack your head on the low beams, or develop a stoop! Lovely pub and well worth seeking out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Tim,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your visit to the Ship Inn and also for your kind comments.

Siggi and are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit. I will pass on your praise of his beer to Toby, he too will be very pleased.

As for the beams, we moved in a few months ago and by now I should know where each one is but I still bang my head almost daily!

Best wishes,

Siggi and Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic place the Ship Inn is . A true community pub that is clearly thriving under the new stewardship of the lovely Ziggy and Adrian . Good clean accommodation , great food and superb entertainment . The place really does rock . Amazing atmosphere with some real local characters . Restores your faith in human nature . Lovely lovely lovely ! Can't wait to go back ! Thanks to all who made our stay so special . A little gem if ever there was one !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, General Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Wow! What praise indeed! Thank you for your glowing review, we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our lovely village and of course your stay in the Ship Inn.

We thoroughly enjoyed your company and sitting up late playing guitar with some of the locals was a memorable event.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Siggi & Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay at The Ship Inn. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely. The accomodation was clean and comfortable, and it was really warm on an extremely cold night. We would happily visit again, and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianBatstone, General Manager at Ship Inn Blaxhall, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at The Ship Inn, your kind comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to the rest of the team here.

Customer feedback is very important to us, praise is always wonderful to receive, but we also appreciate it when customers tell us that we haven't quite come up to the standard they expected. We learn from the experience and make the appropriate 'adjustments'.

I hope you will come and visit us again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Adrian and the Ship's crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ship Inn Blaxhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Inn Blaxhall

Address: School Road, Blaxhall IP12 2DY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blaxhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blaxhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ship Inn is a traditional country pub with detached accommodation in the beautiful village of Blaxhall, just 2 miles from Snape and 6 miles from the Suffolk heritage coast at Aldeburgh. We offer a real taste of the country with fine homemade food and Real Ales served in our two interconnecting dining areas. Alongside the inn, we offer high quality chalet accommodation complete with a real English breakfast.In easy reach of Aldeburgh, Snape and Woodbridge Traditional interior with exposed beams Detached bed & breakfast accommodation Home-cooked food and authentic Real Ales. Regular live music and events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ship Inn Blaxhall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship Inn Blaxhall Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Inn Blaxhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.