We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay at this beautiful boutique inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Salutation Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Salutation Inn
Save
You added The Salutation Inn to your Saves list
68 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topsham
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay at this beautiful boutique inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the quaint little town of Topsham from 21st March to 23rd, in room 1 of the Salutation Inn.

From the moment we arrived the welcome from the owners and their team was warm and welcoming, even offering help with our luggage.

The suite was spotless, modern and spacious. With robes and luxury soaps and shower gels on offer you knew you were in high-end establishment.

Rather than offer basic tea and coffee facilities the Salutation Inn had a lovely communal galley kitchen containing fruit, homemade biscuits and all manner of teas and coffees.

The attention to deal was perfect and you felt happy to relax in the room with a cup of tea after a day of exploring.

The breakfast was served in the splendid Glass House conservatory, a beautifully presented selection, and the full English was fantastic. I'm not a massive fan usually but this was a far cry from what can be a heavy and greasy meal. It was tasty, fresh and a perfect size.

The Inn is only a few minutes from the train station which has regular trains to the fantastic city of Exeter. Exeter is well worth a visit and Topsham is a bright little town with a big antique centre and independent shops. (Avoid Exmouth, sadly it's a bit tired).

The fine dining experience is well worth paying for. Beautiful food, many different tastes on offer and they were more than happy to tweak the menu for my vegetarian (fussy!) partner. The staff look after you brilliantly, and it's an experience well worth doing. Start with drinks and complimentary canapes in the lounge and move through to the spacious restaurant room - it's well worth it.

(There's a car park round the back which can be tricky to find so it might be worth confirming where the turning is before you go)

All in all this is a lovely place to have a few days away. Relaxing, warm and cosy you can't go wrong if you want to explore Devon. It was the little touches such as the homemade welcome petit fours and fluffy bath robes that make this boutique inn so special. Clean, spotless, great atmosphere, classy - couldn't fault it. We will definitely stay again!

If a high-end break away is what your after then get booking!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Bovey, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

All good to say about The Salutation Inn. Excellent service, rooms, food, location, price. Every detail thought of; if you can suggest an improvement (and you'd find it hard to think of any) - mention it to them as they really seem to want to know and implement it. Having a night away without our four children is a very rare and valuable treat for my husband and myself. Therefore we are very fussy and place a lot of value in having a good experience. This place was well up to the mark; I've already recommended it to pretty much all the people I've had a conversation with since our return 3 days ago! We stayed in the brilliant suite on the top floor and did hear noise from the street front quite early on Saturday morning. This was fine with us (four kids remember - used to early starts) and anyway the totally delightful Esther had told us this when we were originally making our room choice. So a room at the back would be a better choice if you would like more guaranteed peace. (The Junior Suite looked to have a superb aspect and is what I would like to try next time - mostly for the fact that it seemed to have the morning sun pouring in from not-too-early-o'clock AND from another window views out to the river. I didn't see this room, rather from the Glasshouse noted the favoured position of the room and so enquired as to which room number it was for future reference...!) Anyway, enough rambling - GO THERE, have a great time (Topsham is top notch for visiting too) and thanks to all at The Salutation Inn for a special night :o)

Room Tip: Aspect of Junior Suite looked amazing Rooms at the back avoid any street noise Master Suite on (wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We only had one night in Topsham on our trip from Australia but we prebooked in the Salutation Inn and were not disappointed. We found the staff there to be very friendly and helpful. The quality of our room was very good and the bed was very comfortable. While we didn't eat dinner here (and it was tempting considering all the great reviews), we had a pre-dinner cocktail and canapes and also had breakfast ... both were excellent. Would certainly stay here again if in this neck of the woods. Best to ask for a parking spot when you book ... we didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a wonderful family celebration at The Salutation last weekend. Thank goodness we chose this Hostelry - recommended by so many. We dined in the large upstairs room and 14 of us sat down to a delicious meal cooked by chef Tom Williams-Hawkes. My brother and wife stayed the night in a suite and I gather breakfast was exceedingly yummy too. The staff were attentive but unobtrusive and I really cannot find fault with anything. Thanks to Toms dad who happened to be in the right place with matches to light candles and dim lights!! Thank you too Salutation for making Mums Birthday so memorable too. We shall definitely be back again. PS There is parking around the back - ask for directions when you book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had booked a two night stay to celebrate my partner's birthday, at another hotel quite near to the Saluation. However we moved out after one night because of the many problems we encountered and we were far from happy. My partner decided he didn't want to spend his birthday there.

We then had to decide where to find another hotel at short notice and I remembered the Saluation, having had a nice meal there last time we were in Devon. So we checked out of the hotel at 0900am and arrived at the Saluation to ask if they had a room at 10:00am. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

We were shown three rooms, one of which included The Suite. We selected a room at the front of the building and left our luggage and went out for the day. When we returned we were surprised to find that they had booked us into The Suite at no extra cost and provided a thoughtful touch of some little pettit fours for my partner's birthday.

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere - welcoming staff, beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The added attraction is that it is right in the middle of Topsham with it's lovely walks and interesting little shops.

We had enjoyed Sunday lunch on a previous occasion, but the tasting menu we had in the evening was superb, as was the freshly cooked breakfast the following morning.

Thank you to all the kind staff who saved the day and made my partner's birthday enjoyable after all, We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want to push the boat our then The Suite is perfect, but the other rooms that we saw were equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

On the strength of our previous visit, we booked the Salutation for another three nights, finishing with an informal family party for 10 following a wedding, including family guests in 5 rooms overnight. The standards were all as before, and the staff extremely helpful in meeting all our requests for our guests particular needs, and ensuring we were very comfortable in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. The kitchen coped with a non-meat diner, a non fish and meat diner and a gluten free diner in their tasting menu without any problem at all! A particular thank you to Julien, the Manager, who we repeatedly contacted with various requests, all dealt with expertly and without fuss.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have literally just got back from the best night away in years. The food and wine was sensational and the staff matched it. There is just no way to explain how much we enjoyed ourselves. Thank you very very much to the Salutation Inn for making our anniversary so very special. X

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salutation Inn

Address: 68 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Topsham
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation. Within The Salutation we offer two suites and four bedrooms with individual decor. On the first floor the 'Galley Room' is available during your stay for hot drinks and treats to help yourself or room service for morning coffee or afternoon tea. Our aim is to give you a comfortable night's stay with the finest of food in an ancient Inn with modern facilities. Our beds have been hand made in Topsham by Naturalmat, and offer the finest in comfort - All our products are sourced locally wherever possible including all the ceramics and most of the carpeting. Topsham & Surrounding Area - An ancient port at the head of the Exe Estuary Topsham is vibrant with its interesting architecture and small streets, riverside quay and walkways. The Romans, the Vikings, the Dutch and many other visitors have chosen Topsham as the perfect stopping off place! Topsham caters for all forms of transport ... We are five miles from Exeter International Airport and two miles from the M5 Junction 30. Topsham has its own Railway Station,regular bus routes and Marina and is on the Exe Cycle Trail. It is famous for its RSPB Bird Reserve, Museum and with lots other things to do. Explore Topsham to discover a special place. Whatever your pastime whether it is sailing, fishing, cycling, watersports, Rugby (Premier League) tennis, snooker, swimming, bowling, motor boats, walking. Let us help you organise your satisfaction. The Salutation ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Salutation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.