We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect family run restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Petite Maison

La Petite Maison
35 Fore Street | Topsham, Topsham, Exeter, England
01392-87-36-60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Topsham
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Look it up on the web. It's brilliant. I'm amazed you haven't got it listed
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The perfect family run restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Having read the previous reviews here we weren't disappointed. Run by a charming husband and wife team this is the restaurant we all wish we had in our locality. As with all good restaurants, it has a limited but well thought out menu with choice to suit most tastes and a well priced wine list. Our bill including wine for three courses and coffee came to £50 a head which was excellent value. The quality of the food is top notch and the service excellent. It's also so nice to see a chef show his face in the dining room to answer questions and make sure everyone's enjoying the experience. Happily our daughter is at Exeter university for another three years so we will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    15
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We have used La Petite Maison for many years and it has always been our favourite place to eat. We moved from Devon five years ago and we have yet to find a restaurant as brilliant as this one is. Liz is brilliant front of house and Doug's food is second to none. La Petite Maison is the whole package for fine dining and well worth going to. A delight!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful food and wine. The best meal I have had in absolutely ages. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The friendliness of the owners when I met them by chance as I passed the restaurant during the day led me to book a table.

My instinct was not wrong: a most interesting menu, exquisitely presented and wonderfully flavoursome food, nicely served.

The wine list was as interesting as the food menu and the final bill for the meal was not expensive.

If you don't visit La Petite Maison in Topsham you will have missed out on one of Devon's top restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter Devon UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Delightful

A fabulous restaurant - First class cuisine and first class service.
It is a delight to be able to dine in such a beautiful establishment, I could not recommend this restaurant more highly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Maison also viewed

 

Been to La Petite Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Petite Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.