We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay - amazing suite, great breakfast, nice people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reka Dom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Topsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reka Dom
Save
You added Reka Dom to your Saves list
43 The Strand, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Topsham B&B and Inns
Watton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely stay - amazing suite, great breakfast, nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed a few nights and will definitely be going back! Matt and Ros made us very welcome and the breakfasts were superb - the range of fruits, fresh and preserved, on top of the usual cereals and a good variety of cooked breakfasts, was terrific... and all capped off with a little extra treat at the end of the meal - but I won't say what and spoil the surprise. We stayed in the Powderham Suite, which has phenomenal views across the estury, a huge, comfortable bedroom/sitting room, a smaller bedroom with a small double bed and a bathroom - and its own front door. We just trotted across the drive each morning for breakfast. The entrance to the driveway takes a bit of practice, but by the end of our stay I was getting in and out without lots of twiddling - once you have the hang of it, even large cars can get in and out with ease.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our daughters. The room was lovely with incredible views in probably the best location in Topsham. The owners were extremely welcoming and accommodating and to top it off, we had our best ever breakfast.... twice!! Thoroughly recommended, especially if you love a great breakfast, home made biscuits (restocked!) in the room and fabulous, quirky listed houses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay. We chose based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not dissapointed. We had a lovely room that was spotlessly clean with a good shower room (this was also spotless). We felt like we were the only people who had ever been in the room. We are now coming down to the Westcountry often and will definately return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Right at the end of Topsham with splendid views over the estuary but just a short pleasant walk back to pubs and restaurants. House is old and lived-in but most welcoming and run by a lovely family.. A very fulsome and varied buffet breakfast that most large hotels don't match.
All in all a damn fine place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I’m having a moral dilemma here. If I tell you how great this place is, you’ll all book a stay and we won’t be able to get in. However, it would be a travesty not to give this great B and B the plaudits it deserves. The first being that it has restored our faith in B and Bs. A few bad experiences, particularly of intrusive owners, put us off. So the restrained attention of Ros and Matt was much appreciated.

We stayed in the Tower. WOW. Whilst the somewhat narrow stairs may prove difficult for some, the effort was worth it. From the fabulous views, to the ground coffee for the cafetiere and the home-made cookies, we were enchanted with the accommodation. It wasn’t without its flaws. The living area was somewhat chilly (which we mentioned to Ros who largely sorted it out) whilst the bedroom was lovely and cosy. My husband thought I should mention the steps up to the bathroom area, which could prove a hazard in the night; although I have to say this didn’t bother me. I was more concerned about a lack of a curtain or blind at the bathroom window but that’s probably just my natural modesty.

These minor points aside, as far as I was concerned, this place was heaven. The views from the living and washing area were sublime. The breakfast likewise, with really good quality bacon and sausage. These were complimented by a fantastic choice of cereal, yogurt and fruit. I particularly liked the very scrummy local honey and the various jams, which having that delicious, slightly tart zing, tasted home-made.

Topsham itself is charming and to avoid the parking problems mentioned in other posts, we went by train. A journey we certainly hope to repeat in the near future; as long as we can book into Reka Dom again.

Room Tip: The Tower has truly wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have been once before and second time round it was fantastic again, the building is a real treat, a family home for generations and restored over the generations, the family are very easy and welcoming, no fuss, just made to feel at home, the breakfast is unlike any I have had elsewhere and exceptional and finally the views and positioning, right out over the estuary from the riverbank, whether its is sunny or raining it is somewhere very special. I've stayed at places all over the country for work and pleasure and this one stands out as the best I've ever been to.

Room Tip: It's quirky and not modernised but if you appreciate unique then this is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having negotiated the dodgy parking mentioned by others, we were welcomed by Ros who offered assistance with luggage, something not offered at a recent 4 star hotel.
We were shown up two flights of narrow stairs to the Woodbury suite. We would have appreciated directions in case of fire! The bedroom was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Our sleep was only marred by heavy footsteps on the floor above.
The bathroom was very small and dated and the bath had seen better days but there was plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. The tea was made with leaf tea and the coffee was of impressive quality.
Topsham is a delightful place and Reka Dom is well situated to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rekadom, Owner at Reka Dom, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write what I feel is on balance a very fair review of the 'Woodbury Suite' experience, echoing comments made by previous reviewers regarding the decor, bathroom etc. Maintaining our old and quirky family home is a never ending project and we have yet to refurbish 'Woodbury' to the standard of our other 2 rooms and consequently are at pains to never 'oversell' it.

We are grateful to be able to offer our guests (albeit 'dodgy!') off street parking as this is a very rare commodity in Topsham. The entrance is quite narrow but we do endeavour to forewarn and are able to offer clear guidance when asked to do so. (Note to competent drivers with large cars: please don't be put off... we have had a long wheelbased Mercedes Transporter and other similarly large vehicles negotiate the entrance unscathed!)

Most importantly I'd like to reassure any travellers who may be put off by the potentially misleading comments about fire safety that:
both The Tower and Woodbury have clear and direct access to the single staircase leading straight to the one and only exit/entrance to the guest accommodation. The staircase is marked with emergency exit signage pointing down the staircase at intervals and we have a wireless fire alarm system with interlinked detectors which is serviced twice yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reka Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reka Dom

Address: 43 The Strand, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reka Dom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.