We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, clean, slow breakfast, rooms 2 storeys above pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Globe to your Saves list
The Globe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Topsham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central location, clean, slow breakfast, rooms 2 storeys above pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Rooms above a pub, 2 floors up. Room was spacious and clean exactly as photo on website. Had to lodge the key with the bar staff when going out. Bar staff not always around. Luckily for us the pub itself was not busy but they do have karaoke and disco or live bands sometimes in the evenings. Good location in the centre of town right next door to the Plough Arts Centre. The car park at the back but was full so we had to use the public car park. Had to wait a very long time for breakfast in the morning.

I did hear stories of other guests being locked in.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    73
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
91
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Fantastic hotel - steeped in history, with so much character.

Really think the other reviews on here are not fair - it's a two star hotel and you get much more than a two star at this hotel!

The room I stayed in was spacious, in fact it was huge, with a very comfy bed, view over Topsham High Street, great shower and tastefully decorated in an old English style. I had my own tea and coffee making facilities - including delicious hot chocolate, a decent tv, spacious dressing table, chaise longue, massive wardrobe and drawers, there was even a chair in the bathroom.

Breakfast is highly recommended - again it's a two star hotel, but there was delicious fresh melon, yoghurt, fruit, a choice of cereals and juice to help yourself to and then several different options of cooked breakfast and toast. I stayed two nights and had a fry up both mornings, which was perfectly cooked, used local produce and was really good.

Service throughout my stay was great, the staff are really friendly and happy to help in any way that they can.

I also ate there one night, having a huge salad which I couldn't finish, but it was really very good indeed, a very generous helping and again used local produce.

It's like no other hotel I've ever stayed in and it's quirkiness is definitely part of its charm.

The only down side is the parking facilities in the courtyard - but saying that I never struggled to get my car in or out at any point.

Definitely would recommend this for a weekend break - Topsham itself has so much to offer and is a lovely part of the country, the little shops are adorable and really high quality. The rates aren't cheap, but it's the only hotel in Topsham, the location is fab and it's just worth it for the experience of staying in a 16th century coaching inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We visted Topsham earlier this month and 'treated' ourselves to an overnight at The Globe, in Room 5 with the four-poster. £98 inc breakfast.The room was small but the bed was very comfortable. Small niggles included only one cup for tea/coffee and broken extractor fan in the shower room. The shower cubicle was very small - even though the room was large enough to have allowed for a 2 person shower. The real downer was the indescribably ghastly shiny peach canopy on the fourposter. WHY????!!! Completely ruined the bed.
Breakfast was adequate though very limited and unexciting. The blonde lady serving bought my partners cooked breakfast while he was only half way through his cereal. She thrust it at him with a curt 'this is for you!'.

With a bit of TLC this could be a fabulous place to stay but the overall impression is that whoever owns it probably earns enough and just can't be bothered anymore.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterGeorgie_P, Owner at The Globe, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Really sorry that you didn't like the bed drapes. It's very difficult to please everyone's tastes. Apologies if you were rushed at breakfast, the service doesn't sound like it met our standard at all on that day, I am sorry.
We do take great pride in ensuring we provide the best service and quality for our customers - we do care a lot - we are always trying to improve facilities and service for our guests and were shocked when we read the reviews. We carry out customer satifisfaction surveys at the Hotel and it appears that we have a very good satisifaction rating throughout with many customers returning again and again. We will though take account of all the reviews as we always strive to improve so always welcome constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The Globe is a very quaint Country Inn with Olde Worlde decor.However the accomodation leaves a lot to be desired.Our room (No 6) was very small and the decor very tired to say the least.(wallpaper peeling off and shabby paintwork)The window had to be wedged open.There was a very strange "shawl" arrangement covering the fireplace. At the window there were two strips of fabric which acted as curtains.The TV remote did not work.The bathroom suite was very Avocado green which in itself is a matter of taste, however the same could not be said for the BLACK mould which was growing all around the bathtub! and the carpeted floor.There were again two strips of fabric at the bathroom window for curtains which barely covered the window( which was clear glass looking directly out onto a roof terrace.)The level of cleanliness was not what I am used to.I paid £93.00 for my nights' stay which included breakfast.This was not bad if you like hard eggs!I stay in Hotels/Guest houses often as I work away from home on a regular basis and I can say that the Globe in my opinion was not worth the money, I wouldn't stay there in the future and I would not recommend it to anyone. It's a great shame as it has fantastic potential.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our stay here was disappointing. Topsham is delightful and we anticipated a pleasant stay. However we were let down by one of the local pubs at lunchtime, and the local fish restaurant in the evening, which was overpriced and camp. The Globe made a mistake with our booking and had the wrong date (fortunately we had the confirmation email with us), and the room was dingy and unappealing with an uncomfortable bed, although the bathroom was nice. The rooms overlook the courtyard which can be noisy. Breakfast was good, but overall the hotel did not come up to expectations and was pricey. We came away with the impression that because of the delightful location on the River Exe, you pay for this rather than quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterGeorgie_P, Owner at The Globe, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
I'm sorry that we made a mistake with your booking and you were not happy with your room and bed comfort. If you could let me know when you stayed and which room ( you can email me if you like) then I can look into this - it would be helpful, thanks. We may have already looked into this if you filled in one of our customer comment cards. Again apologies. Unfortunately due to the location we too pay a premium for having a business here, but do always want to provide value for money - your comments are helpful if you think not, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We booked a room at The Globe as we needed somewhere to stay that was close to Exeter without being in the city. Topsham itself is a pleasant place to while away an evening and we enjoyed strolling around. However the room (number 21) at the hotel was something else. It smelled damp and musty even after leaving the door and windows wide open for hours. The bed had the most uncomfortable sagging mattress imaginable, the furnishings were tatty and overall it simply wasn't worth anything like the rate charged. Access to these rooms in a separate block at the rear of the building was via rickety wooden stairs and much of the structure seemed to be in need of a major overhaul. It begs the question how the owners have the audacity/stupidity to charge what they do ....in the knowledge that none of their customers will feel satisfied. Their repeat business rate must be appallingly low, as we all know we are far more likely to tell people of our bad experiences than of our good ones. The staff were pleasant enough but none had any authority to reduce our bill and the owners were not on the premises to discuss our complaint. The staff we spoke to also seemed to be rather too practised in apologising for the shortcomings of the place which always a bit telling. We left the suggestion that the owners should spend a night in each of their letting rooms in order to experience what they are offering their guests. Breakfast was pretty poor too - cheap sliced bread for the toast, limited choice of cereals or fruit for those not wanting the fry up. It could easily have been so much better !

Dinner, however, was fine. One of us chose from the set menu, one had a basic salad starter (tiny portion) and a plain omelette. Lovely waiting staff. But there again the clientele comprised one group table and us ..... most of the restaurant was empty.

In the right hands The Globe could /would be a goldmine but we guess its reputation goes before it ...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExeterGeorgie_P, Owner at The Globe, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
I am sorry you weren't happy with your stay. I am not sure why your room smelt damp and musty, we have not had any probelms with that before,. The room you stayed in no 21 is extremely popular with our customers and we haven't had any comments about the matress - we will of course investigate. We like all customers to have a comfy nights stay so we do regularly check all our facilities and our chambermaids also keep us noted of any issues that may arise to from day to day. Unfortunatley we do have a problem that everyone likes something different so we may get many customer comment cards back expressing how comfortable a bed is then one saying the opposite. But we will always look into any comments.
We work extremely hard to provide good facilities and keep customers happy at The Globe and are rewarded with lovely people staying and returning many, many times. It seems so harsh that we have had a few negative comments on trip advisor when in truth we have so many very satisfied customers. We know like other businesses there will be occassions when we don't get things 100% right and will always apologise for any shortfall, but the staff and ourselves do take these negetaive comments to heart - we are certanly not complacent at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

we stayed only one night because we awoke for breakfast 0830 to find there were no staff any were in the building tables in the dinning room were not even laid.. all the doors were locked other guest were asking if we had seen any one there was access to the bars so any one could use a young lady turned up at approx 10.00hrs and when asked what was going on she replyed i am sorry i slept in when asked how we were supposed to get out be fore she turned in use the fire exits was the ansewer we even rang contact numbers we used no joy . we were even told this has happened before i had to ring a family member to assist who lived there in the town i wasinformed that there is supposed to be a member of staff on site because it is licensed

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.