We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing & much too noisy...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Globe to your Saves list
The Globe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Topsham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing & much too noisy...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at The Globe this weekend, looking for a relaxing weekend away. Whilst the room was lovely & the location very convenient, the overall visit was not enjoyable as we simply were unable to sleep!

Our room (#8) was directly over the pub, and no attempt was made to quiet this prior to last pub guests leaving at approx 1 am. This wasn't a bit of background noise, but loud to the point that you'd have thought the pub customers were in our room.

When we shared this with reception, we got a reaction that was entirely dismissive, saying that they are a pub & this is how it is. When our bill was £200, we felt a bit differently, and were also unhappy with how disinterested reception was.

So -- if you consider this hotel, insist on a back room & do not even consider staying in rooms # 7 / 8 / 9 as these are all on top of the pub.

Room Tip: Do no consider rooms # 7, 8 or 9 as these are extremely noisy & on top of the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    73
    16
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
91
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for four nights in September 2013 on our Paris and London visit from the states. The service was wonderful as was the entire visit. We stayed in the new section on the second floor, our room was very large, great beds and extremely clean. They made sure our bags were taken up and down the stairs upon arrival and departure. The meals were reasonable and very tasty only wish we had eaten here more. The mussels were the best we had. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful I blew a fuse with a hair dryer and they had a replacement up within minutes. They made us feel welcome and the pub was always fun at night for a great way to end a day in this beautiful town. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Thank you for your very nice treatment for two visitors from another country.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are very large and have everything you need. Great beds, tea furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

stayed here so we could visit darts farm shop,and more,staff so kind, rooms beautiful,all looked the same style,restaurant very good food,staff a little miserable,but ,it was early morning !
bar area great lots of locals,food in here excellant,scallops yummy.
manager even served the food at night lovely guy.all in all we will return,only one slight thing,only room for 6 cars, in carpark.roads all one way very narrow ! we had to park in homelands,very dark.not lit.and we had to pay ! then walk back through houses,i would never ever have done this on my own !!
if you end up staying here go to darts farm for tea wonderful....4 mins driving.

Room Tip: the room we had there was air conditiong or heating boiler near our window very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Having enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch with family in January, we enquired about booking rooms for our wedding in October. The owners were very helpful and we were able to secure all 19 rooms for 2 nights at a pre-agreed rate for B&B. This proved exceptionally helpful with so many of our guests travelling down from London. With Topsham train station only 5 min walk away, this makes connecting with Exeter St David's and beyond really easy.

The bar staff were really friendly and the locals helped us pack out the cozy bar on the Friday evening. The home cooked breakfast options were all tasty and filling for the morning-after...

Our room (room 1, above the bar in the original coaching house) was great and speaking to the rest of our group, every room was spacious, really well decorated and clean.

We'd certainly recommend The Globe as a great place for lunch or to stay, anytime of year, with affordable and comfortable rooms in the middle of Topsham, a great place to visit in its own right. Indeed many of our wedding guests have already said they're keen to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend away at Topsham staying at The Globe, its in a good location a minute's walk away from the quayside, it has comfortable and homely surroundings and has a very relaxed atmosphere. The evening meal we had was excellent, (my son said the hand made burger he had was the best he has every tasted !!) the staff and landlords Debbie and Jason were very welcoming, friendly and polite. I have noticed a couple of minus points made concerning the car parking, this was full when we arrived but a 3 minute walk away was public car park that cost us £1.80 for 24 hours !! bargain and not at all inconvenient. We would definitely go back there, hopefully very soon !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

we finally had a meal at the globe this evening, and it was really really good, and the price very reasonable.plus points --nice surroundings, friendly waitress,an good english cooking lovely and fresh. The only minus points is that the small car park was full, and parking therefore was a long way away. however this should not put you off it is worth the walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaldon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had an excellent lunch here last week. Lovely fresh fish and chips with mushy peas and really top quality home made tartar sauce. We have eaten here a few times before and have never had a bad meal.and they didn't disappoint. Even though it was after 2 o'clock and there weren't many people dining the service and food were of a high quality.

Having left a restaurant without eating our fish and chips the week before because the meal constituted batter and chips (!) it was nice to get the real thing.

Just one request - a hot sweet (i.e. apple pie or crumble with custard) on the daytime menu would be welcomed (especially with winter approaching)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.