We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BarlowMay13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe

Save Saved
You added The Globe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Globe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Topsham B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“BarlowMay13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at the Golbe Inn for 4 nights and found the whole experience gret. The rooms are small but well resourced and the staff are excellent. Friendly, attentive and always smiling - what more could you want.
The restaurant was even better, super choice on the menu which changed daily, served with humour and charm. Food was excellent, reasonably priced and for a "chain" hotel a real treat.
We are already planning next years trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    61
    15
    16
    9
See reviews for
31
76
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Okay, there's no parking to speak of, and finding the pay & display car park up the road involves some negotiating of very, very narrow winding roads, but that's the only drawback we found. This is a very well-developed, luxurious little hotel in a tiny, picturesque riverside port, very close to Exeter. We were there overnight, arrived about 7pm, were shown to our ancient and beautifully fitted-out room, had a delicious supper, slept extremely well on the most comfortable bed I've encountered in a very long time. Everything was done very well indeed. Breakfast was delicious and served rapidly, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and we'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: The old rooms above the bar are gorgeous and full of character, but do involve steep steps. The mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here on Sunday night (28/07/13) with my sister, our room was absolutely lovely! Seemed like it had recently been refurbished to a really high standard, the decor and facilities were spot on right down to the gorgeous toiletries in the bathroom! The price is extremely reasonable for what you get. My sister and I are both vegetarian and the very friendly and helpful staff went out and got us veggie sausages for breakfast especially! All round a very pleasant stay, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay whilst visiting Topsham or Exeter!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had lunch here last week. The food in the two courses for £12 was plentiful and very tasty. The service and courtesy of the staff was exemplary and they were very keen to make sure that we were happy. The choice of coffees was very good and in very large cups. There has been a marked improvement since the new managers have taken over and I am sure that there things will get even better. I will certainly go back and take friends there on our visits to Topsham

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a large group event here with dinner. Service was outstanding from all the team and Adam in particular made us feel like we were regular visitors. Food was good vale and the refurbished rooms very comfortable - particularly the bathroom. The only gripe was no air-con given the 'freak' temperatures! Would happily go back and probably will - a welcome change from the national chains with staff who care.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

very very clean , big and decorated room, on the little road with pub under. lots of tee and coffee . nice big bath towels , big bottles of shower gel , shampoo ,body lotion and soap.
it was little bit noise as it was Saturday night but not tragic , we went downstairs for dinner which was very tasty and looking good . close to the river little town and very clean and quite.
staff was very friendly and helpful . we had a iron and fan as the weather was very hot and there is no air con.
we will go there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Following the change of management and re-fit the Globe is a great place to go. Staff were excellent and very friendly, very helpful, despite being the last down to breakfast (and not a lot on display) they provided a fabulous breakfast. Very comfortable beds and super showers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.