We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here with confidence!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Globe to your Saves list
The Globe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Topsham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saltash, Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here with confidence!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

An old fashioned experience - creaky, charming hotel and enthusiastic, attentive staff. We stayed in a recently added extension, thus the best of both worlds! Early dinner and late breakfast - a better option than anywhere we have stayed in Exeter, yet only minutes away from there. In the early evening the bar staff might have asked three of the gentlemen drinkers to launder their language!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    79
    17
    17
    9
See reviews for
40
101
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place has had a refurb in the last year or so and the interior seems modern but retains much of the quirkyness you expect from an old establishment. My room was inside the main building and was on the small side yet clean and warm (A little too warm) It's not really set up for business people, the rooms have no desks, poor internet access and very limited parking. I had to park 200 yards up the road only to find out later that some of the meagre parking spaces had been taken up by the hotel's staff.
The bar was lively and had a good range of real ale. The restaraunt was very good with a quality selection of dishes as well as competent and attentive staff. I had the monkfish and tiger prawn curry which I would recommend.
Some of the staff appear to be new and will take some more experience to provide an excellent service. I feel this hotel will improve with time and I willm use it again.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a parking space. Balcony rooms have less privacy but have more space and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Used to go here as it is very close to the est restaurant in the area, La Petite Maison. However it was taken over by StAustell brewery recently, and , apparently, the bedrooms were all refurbished. Well. I am sorry but I found the bedroom we had very disappointing. A mis match of furniture that really didn't work, old windows that didn't conceal the loud noises from the pub belw that went until after 1am, even though the Hotel advertises that it closes at 11pm. And the softest, most uncomfortable bed I have ever come across

Room Tip: Try somewhere else, Exeter, or Exmouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having being to the Globe many times over the years, it was sad to see a great place full into such, sad tired place, completely soulless with no service either
Having visited on Sunday for Lunch yesterday, I was completely and pleasantly surprised, the place has come back to life, food was brilliant, service, especially from our server Adam was top rate.
Will return very soon to this revived gem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Disappointed is probably the best way to describe our visit. Our room was okay but with a balcony/walkway to all the other rooms which allowed all going past to look into your room. The only way of obtaining some privacy was to pull down the black-out blind and turn on the lights. Trouble was the lights not very bright so getting ready for a wedding when we needed some light was to put up with people starring in. We did not eat in the pub in the evening but we were looking forward to breakfast and we wish we had not bothered. Breakfast still had half an hour to go but there was absolutely nothing left. An average cooked breakfast did arrive as did some coffee which we had to get up from the table to fetch. St Austell need to come up with some better arrangements, especially for the price they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at The Globe, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at The Globe. We pride ourselves on getting it right and giving customers great experiences. On this occasion we have fallen short of our usual high standards. With regards to your room the lighting is something which is currently being resolved.

Please accept my sincere apologies for you not getting the break you wanted. I would be very grateful if you could contact me on 01392 873471, so we can rectify the situation and get some further information surrounding your breakfast experience.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Adam Carew

Acting General Manager
The Globe, Topsham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

6 of us ate here, and all of our food was brilliant! 2 Ribeye steak, monkfish curry, Caesar salad, mussels and fish and chips were all very nice, clearly cooked by a 'Chef'. Great banter from the batman/waiter! Desserts were delicious too! We will definately recommend The Globe!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a friendly atmosphere with excellent service in the bar and the restaurant. Scott who looked after us was very professional and friendly. We have visited many times and have
always had such good service. A lovely venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Topsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Globe 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.