We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Good beer. Friendly atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn Restaurant

The Globe Inn Restaurant
14-16 Lower Town, Sampford Peverell EX16 7BJ, England
01884 821214
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good food. Good beer. Friendly atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stopped off here for morning tea and coffee on a walk along the delightful Great West Canal that goes right past the back door. We found The Globe very pleasant, staff very helpful and our morning refreshment good value. The menu looked good so we asked if we needed to book for lunch. Although they had a lot of seating they advised that we should and we were pleased we did.

Lunch time was pleasantly busy but the staff coped well and were very friendly and professional. Good beers including Otter and Doombar with a very good food menu too ranging from excellent beef (thickly sliced) and horseradish crusty baguettes with salad (chips only £1 extra!) to good liver bacon, mash and red onions and fish and chips. They must have very capable people in the kitchen here. The food is a step above the pub average and very good value. They seem to cater well for well behaved children here too..

We really enjoyed our visit here. Thank you all at the Globe for all your hard work.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    15
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent roast lunch at the Globe on a Sunday in mid April. It was lucky we had booked a table a couple of days in advance, because the restaurant was very busy, although by 1.30pm tables were available. There were some large groups booked for lunch and it was necessary to be patient and wait for an opportunity to join a short queue for food.

The roast carvery had a choice of beef (cooked to perfection for us - well done outside and pink in the middle) or gammon. The self-service vegetables were plentiful, interesting and weel cooked - including cauliflower, roast potatoes, carrots, leeks in sauce, courgettes and the nicest yorkshire puddings we have eaten in many a year. The carvery cost £8.95 per person.

Service (for drinks and other food items brought to the table) was efficient and very friendly.

We would recommend asking for a table in the bar area - nicer atmosphere than in the crowded dining areas elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub but missing something”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you wanted to show a visitor what a traditional English pub looked like then you couldn't do much better than visiting here.

Pro's: Inside the pub looks amazing, the food is of a high quality and there's a good range of ales, decent amount of parking and a children's play area. Free WiFi.

Con's: The staff aren't very attentive, whilst polite and friendly there is a real feel of being just another customer, they don't remember your names, what you drink etc.

Over the last 6 months we've been here a tonne of times, on our own, with friends, family, to a wedding reception and everything in-between! It is a beautiful albeit soulless place (you could be in a Wetherspoon's tbh) -as much as I hate to say it, it does feel like a theme pub at times.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were staying at the nearby campsite, which was handy for us to walk to along the canal, so we booked to eat here the evening of Good Friday.On arrival we were warmly greeted and we found the staff to be extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. We found the food hot and extremely tasty. I had the lasagne, which was delicious. The others in the group had fish and chips, the fish filled the plate! We found that the food at this pub was one of the best we had eaten in and found it to be good value for money. We look forward to returning again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Maybe they were just having a bad day...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stopped in for a half term lunch with my daughter. Had to wait for a good few minutes before being served at the bar (despite there being several bar staff and very few other customers). Not even a flicker of a smile from the woman who took my order. The food arrived quickly but my daughter's scampi and chips were lukeworm and the chips I had ordered (and paid for) didn't arrive- when I queried this, I was informed I hadn't ordered chips- eventually a bowl of cold chips were practically thrown across the table at me without so much as a word of apology. Soggy tasteless prawns in a baguette swimming in a watery sauce. The best part of the meal was the salad which was very nice! Overall unwelcoming, at times bordering on rude, service and disappointing food. I have never written anything negative on tripadvisor before but was so disappointed with our lunch that I felt compelled to write about this- we will be going to one of the many other excellent pubs in the vicinity in future rather than repeating this dismal experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sampford Peverell, Devon
Tiverton, Devon
 

Been to The Globe Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.