We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ringmore Vean B & B

Ringmore Vean B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ringmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ringmore Vean B & B
Save Saved
You added Ringmore Vean B & B to your Saves list
Ringmore TQ7 4HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ringmore B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

To sum up: comfy, peaceful, local pub, near the sea, relaxing, welcoming and did I mention peaceful?

I stayed in the B&B room which was delightful and had everything I needed. My sister and her husband plus thier dog were already here but in the cottage. The B&B was free so they rang me to come down for a couple of days. So glad they did.

If you want to get away from it all for a few days but still be within striking distance of some lovely towns then this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a week in Vean cottage and can safely say it is just a magical place. Karen and Steve made us feel so welcome and there were such lovely personal touches, such as milk, eggs and biscuits on arrival. We even had a bowl of raspberries from the garden delivered to our door! The cottage is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. It is also incredibly comfortable and we slept like logs after days out exploring with our dog. We found Ringmore to be an incredibly warm and welcoming community and its location made it ideal for exploring South Devon. Having access to the swimming pool was such a bonus too! My partner and I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We sincerely thank Karen and Steve for such a fabulous stay and hope to be back really soon when we can try out the log burner!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent the weekend at Ringmore Vean and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Karen made us feel so welcome, thank you. The room is beautiful, the bed incredibly comfortable and breakfast perfect. Ringmore is a delightful village and boasts a fabulous pub within walking distance of the B&B so you can quite easily leave your car for the weekend and enjoy the local environs. We cannot wait to return once the pool is open in summer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Ringmore Vean was perfect for us as we were walking the South West Coastpath. It's tucked away in the tiny and picturesque village of Ringmore, which has the other essential: an old pub serving great food - which Karen booked us into. The views from the stable door are lovely - sheep and chickens close by - and you enjoy very peaceful and private facilities. We also booked a back massage for the morning before setting off again, so we can recommend that too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Karen Purdy's Ringmore Vean gave us the most pleasant surprise when we arrived in the late afternoon on a beautiful day in early September. Driving into this magical village was very promising, but when we got there everything felt right immediately. The two girls of the house were splashing in the pool. Two lovely black cats were wandering about and chickens were clucking and neatly picking on the lawn. It looked like a peaceful scence from a children's picture book.
The house overlooks a lovely garden and a view to die for, and Karen made us feel at home immediately by offering us some tea in the garden which was very welcome after our long drive.
What else can I say? The room is decorated with love, care and taste, the bathroom is cosy but perfectly adequate with a good shower. And the coffee Karen served for breakfast in our room is the best I've tasted apart from my husband Nick's. (Being German, I'm quite demanding where coffee is concerned.) Furthermore, everything was perfectly clean and the rooms were really well aired. This was much appreciated because quite a lot of B&Bs can be very stuffy.
And last but not least, the village pub, the oldest in Devon, served good food and provided the great atmosphere. Who could ask for more!
Well done Karen!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed here on Tuesday and it provided extremely welcome relaxation and comfort after 3 nights camping and walking. The owners were exceptionally friendly and welcoming and made us a reservation to eat at the village pub, the 13th Century “Journey’s End” (N.B. closed on Mondays), a minute’s walk away, which serves real ales and like Ringmore Vean, uses locally sourced food (gooey chocolate pudding highly recommended!)

One of things we really loved about Ringmore Vean was that a delicious breakfast was brought to us in our room (which has a dining table for two), a real treat for people who have to get up early normally when they are at home and do not want to feel obliged to get up at a set time to go down to breakfast when they are on holiday. It might not suit people who want a full cooked “English” (bacon & eggs, etc.) breakfast, but as there was a plentiful choice of juices, cereals, bread, toast, croissants, lovely freshly baked muffins, jam and marmalade, we were more than satisfied.

Ringmore is a typical chocolate-box Devon village, with narrow lanes (there is a guest parking space outside the B&B’s entrance) and thatched cottages, deep in the lovely South Hams, near Burgh Island and only ½ mile from Ayrmer Cove. The guest book in the room shows that quite a few of the people who have stayed there have been walking the South West Coast Path and the B&B offers perfect quiet and relaxation. The room is very private as it is a few steps down the garden from the owners’ house, the double bed is very comfy and there is an ensuite shower room, plus a kettle with tea & coffee, etc. and thoughtful touches such as a torch and board games. As we were only there for one night, we did not use the swimming pool outside the room (the website says that it does not form part of the accommodation but that guests can use it at the owners’ discretion) or have a massage (Karen, the owner, is a professional therapist), but hope to do so in the future. We definitely want to stay there next time we are in the South Hams and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ringmore Vean B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringmore Vean B & B

Address: Ringmore TQ7 4HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ringmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ringmore
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Ringmore Vean B & B Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringmore Vean B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.