We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch)

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parkfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch)
Save
You added Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch) to your Saves list
66450 Parkfield Coalinga Road, Parkfield, CA 93451   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkeley, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The place to stay if you want to get away from it all.
Owned by the Varian family, the cafe and lodge at the heart of a town so small there is no shopping, no traffic. Log cabin style, great people. Quiet California valley with ranch life and visitors from mostly California cities. Interesting and eccentric but very comfortable.
Emphasis on the beef for food. One lodge, one cafe. Rodeo and music festival in summer.
Stayed with family, friends and birdwatching over 20 years.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V6Ranch, Owner at Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch), responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much angelus! We are so glad you enjoy Parkfield as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

We enjoyed our dinner and overnight at Parkfield Inn. The restaurant has great steaks. The rooms we reserved at the Inn were two level. They had a bedroom and bathroom (not private) downstairs and another bed upstairs in the loft.
The drive into the Inn seems never ending but it was well worth the trip.

We arrived late and left early the next morning so I don't know of any attractions close by.

Part of our group has stayed at this Inn again since our group trip.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V6Ranch, Owner at Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch), responded to this review, July 30, 2012
So glad you had a nice stay! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Parkfield is one of the most remote travel destinations in California, or at least feels like it, and that is a great source of the charm of visiting there. It is known to many Californians as the location of perhaps the most intensive earthquake monitoring system on the San Andreas fault because of the regular 6.0 earthquakes in the area.

Parkfield is pretty much just the V6 Ranch, including the Inn and the Cafe (across the street from each other). A rodeo facility is a short walk from the Inn. The town sits in a pretty valley between low hills, all the product of movement on the San Andreas fault, which runs along a stream bed that one crosses as entering from the south. (On either side of the bridge are signs welcoming one to the Pacific Plate, or the North American Plate).

The Inn is small, with just a few rooms and a large general use room. It is a rustic-styled, all-wood ranch or hunting-lodge type design, very much in keeping with the surroundings. The rooms open out onto large, covered porches. Our spacious room had two very comfortable queen beds, one in the main room downstairs and another in a very large loft. A sizable flat panel TV with satellite reception was mounted on the wall. Additional furnishings included a round wooden table and chairs, and a coffee maker. Our room, the Inn, and the town in general were marvelously quiet at night and we slept very well.

The general room has many comfortable chairs, a couple small dining tables, a large fireplace, and a modest library of reading materials. There is a kitchen area with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator.

There is no innkeeper onsite at the Inn, which may feel a little strange. Check-in is across the street at the cafe. When we were there we were the only people in the lodge at night.

Lunches and dinners are available across the street at the Cafe, which of course features steaks from the cattle raised on the ranch. We only had dinner there - it was satisfactory and reasonably priced. The cafe also features a free pool table in a room with a great deal of San Andreas information and maps posted on the walls.

Since the Cafe doesn't open til 11:30 (except on Sunday morning, when I believe a buffet type breakfast is served), breakfast options are very limited. The Inn does provide some continental fare, placing items in the refrigerator of the general room and leaving it up to the guests to forage. Don't expect too much.

We were fortunate to arrive mid-day on Sunday, just in time to enjoy watching a local cattle-roping competition at the rodeo. No admission charge. Check the website and try to be there during one of these events - a lot of fun to watch in such a small, intimate venue.

For an offbeat, laid-back short vacation, I definitely recommend that you consider spending some time at the Parkfield Inn, which provides very pleasant accomodations - in unique surroundings - at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V6Ranch, Owner at Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch), responded to this review, July 30, 2012
4Runner4, thanks for coming out to Parkfield! Glad you were able to come out! Thanks for the complements and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch)

Address: 66450 Parkfield Coalinga Road, Parkfield, CA 93451
Location: United States > California > Parkfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Parkfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkfield, California is a place to put on your hat and join in on an adventure that will awaken your spirit and get you back to the beauty of the untamed West. The Cafe offers salads, steaks, sandwiches, and award winning burgers made from V6 Ranch all natural grass-fed beef. The Lodge is made up of eight rooms that offer guests a unique escape. Parkfield is also the home of events such as the annual Parkfield Rodeo, Parkfield Bluegrass Festival, Song and Wine Festival, among many others. Sweethearts also "rent the town" for weddings unlike any other. The town of Parkfield also serves as the starting point for adventures such as the V6 Ranch Trail Rides and Cattle Drives as well as the Cal Poly Wheelman Mountain Bike Race. Come on out and enter a lifestyle most don't even know exists! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkfield Inn (v6 Ranch) Hotel Parkfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkfield Inn (V6 Ranch), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.