We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eochar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anglers Retreat
Save Saved
You added Anglers Retreat to your Saves list
1 Ardmore, Eochar HS8 5QY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Eochar B&B and Inns
Arklow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We keep going back. That says it all.
There are so many places that I will not be returning to but Anglers Retreat is not one of them.
Hosts Billy and Marion Felton have built up a great reputation of good food, good company and good advice on anything from fishing to walking to local flora and fauna.
Thanks again for a great week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
16
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Anglers Retreat for one week in August. My husband was keen to try fishing again, something he a had not done since his teenage years. Thanks to Billy's invaluable advice and patience the whole experience was a great success. Marion provided fantastic food and we were treated as old friends the whole time we were there. I had plenty of time to explore the beautiful countryside of South Uist and Benbecula which was a treat. It will be a sad day when Billy and Marion decide to move on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baku
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for one unplanned night and had a memorable time. Billy and Marion pour their hearts into looking after guests and trying their best to ensure they enjoy the islands. They both went completely out of their way to help with fishing and access to some areas I had visited 30 years ago.
I'll be back, thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from my second week long fishing trip to south uist which was made even move pleasurable by my stay at the Anglers Retreat. Billy and Marion Felton really know how to look after their guests both in terms of comfort and fishing expertise. They could not have been more helpful and the whole atmosphere of the place and fellow guests made for a wonderful stay. Marion needs special thanks for her catering; the food was plentiful and delicious and she worked long and hard to meet our needs. even when we staying out till dark and returned at 2130 dinner was piping hot on the table waiting for us. Add to this the ridiculously low cost and you have THE place to stay in South Uist, particularly if you are fishing. Gary Bateman

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

First time in South uist and it could have been so Different! Billy and Marion made us feel so welcome. Marions meal are fantastic having spent a hard days fishing and the fishing could have been difficult had it not been for Billy Excellent advise and extensive experience. Thankyou guys for a wonderful time and I will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stay here for a weekend in early June 2013 whilst working on the Isle of Lewis. Marion and Billy were the model hosts, it was like a home away from home. Billy has exceptional knowledge of the islands and is especially helpful to fisherman and birdwatchers. I fall into the latter category, and he knew where to send me to find what I was after - mainly corncrakes. I am hoping to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

our second stay was as good as the first great food great people from fishermen to book writers plenty to speak about and marion makes sure your belly is full ready for a days fishing led by billy who knows this place like the back of his hand see you next year hopefully thank you very much cheers tony and monty

Room Tip: upstairs for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anglers Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Retreat

Address: 1 Ardmore, Eochar HS8 5QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Eochar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Eochar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.