We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two oldies.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otago Central Hotel Hyde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Otago Central Hotel Hyde
Save
You added Otago Central Hotel Hyde to your Saves list
9079 Eaton Street, Hyde, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hyde B&B and Inns
Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two oldies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrived having not had lunch, that was quickly produced. We had been upgraded to a boutique room as there were only 4 guests (so had the other 2) and we all enjoyed a lovely meal together. The room was delightful, with en suite, and a very comfortable bed. The hosts were very friendly and informative and we enjoyed a warm and relaxing afternoon in the lounge before the three course dinner. All in all a wonderful place to spend the last night of the Rail Trail and such a great surprise as we had no idea what to expect in this very small out of the way place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
23
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a typical quality stopover on the Otago Central Rai Trail. This a lovely big old hotel with very considerate and friendly staff. The filling meals and fun atmosphere were carefully cultivated for the mostly cycling cliental. Our room was unfortunately a bit ordinary - small attachment to hotel.
Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main htel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had one of the rooms with ensuite for the last night on the rail trail.
We had a slight "glich" with the room allocated, but that was quickly sorted out by the helpful and friendly staff.
Although the room was very well presented as "old style" the bathroom was modern and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and well equipped with eiderdowns for colder weather.
We enjoyed sitting in the lounge/dining area, reading and talking to other guests.
The three course dinner was excellent and there was plenty of choice for breakfast.
The food served in the cafe was also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent an afternoon here, sitting on the porch out in the sun. The ladies serving food and drinks were just lovely to our group of two families and kept the counter open while we waited for a late pick-up. A very nice spot to be stranded on the Otago Rail Trail! We called in the next morning before setting off on our last day of cycling and filled up on cheese rolls (yum!!) and hot chocolates and coffees. A real highlight of the Trail!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

we stayed in the school house cottages which are two blocks from the hotel; an easy walk. There was a shuttle available for those who had spent all their energy on the bike trail. Comfortable and clean and a very peaceful setting.

Room Tip: All of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent the First night staying here while on 4 day cycling trip of central Otago rail trail. Staff friendly, rooms lovely. Dinner was set menu at set time value for money. Lovely food excellent group of friendly guests. We would happily return to stay again

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A very unique spot to stay/eat on the rail trail. It was a pub. Now a cafe open 9-3...with an accommodation set meal style package on offer. Ours was just a room in the original building kept pretty authentic queen bed with a private bathroom across the passage way. We would never normally have chosen this style,but my partner and I agreed it was a querky and different experience. As was the start time for dinner at 6 pm we all had to be seated for our 3 course meal. We had fun despite ourselves!! The trail is about the experience of course but also the people. Staying and eating here we had to chat and to meet others. Hosts were busy and professional. Everything was clean and well thought out to provide a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: There are a range of options for your stay. If you like a little comfort the ensure rooms or private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Otago Central Hotel Hyde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otago Central Hotel Hyde

Address: 9079 Eaton Street, Hyde, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Hyde
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otago Central Hotel Hyde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.