We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trillium Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Trillium Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trillium Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   848 Clearwater Lake Road, Port Sydney, Ontario P0B 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Sydney
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Well we went from the worst to one of the best in one weekend .... Lol.
The Trilium really is a great place to get away from the busy lives we all lead. We had a gorgeous view of the lake every morning when we had coffee on the deck of our cottage. The staff was extremely helpful and curtious and a pleasure to deal. There are plans to fix the pool, which is a bit tired looking, and because they are on a well and septic, the water pressure is quite low, but overall a great stay, just no long showers.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Allwetwatersports.
Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Trillium Resort and Spa. Yes, this year has been difficult all over Muskoka with such dry conditions; our well pump has been working overtime. Traditionally our pool has not been a big attraction as most guests prefer the lake. As you mentioned we are looking at some different options for next year that will see big improvements in that area and hope you will return to see them.
Sincerely
Robert Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Here is my review

1. Lakeview Chalet - nice, but bathroom needs updating, as well as kitchenette. Beds were cozy. Freezer was not working, and porch "overlooking the lake", which you cannot see due to the abundance of trees, needs a serious cleaning and paint job.
No cable in rooms, and very small television.

2. Food - very good. Waitresses were great as well.

3. Spa - now here is where it went all wrong. My services were terrible. I had a massage by an esthetician, and paid the same as a massage from a RMT. The facial was the worst facial I have ever had. This is due to the esthetican I had, because my mother had the same services and she thought they were great (different esthetician)
The spa decor however was beautiful, but way too many stairs - WATCH YOUR STEP!

4. Staff - no complaints. All staff were friendly and attentive

5. Location and Resort - very nice. We were not able to take advantage of any outdoor amenities as it rained the whole weekend, but the beach and pool looked nice. Outdoor pool not heated.

Room Tip: Make sure you have coffee in your room for the morning. Lakeview does not mean full lakeview - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Connie G
Thank You for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Trillium Resort and Spa. To address some of your comments. After reading your review I did go up to the deck and agree that we should open the view up a little. We will mark some tees for removal. The freezer should work I will also look into that. The demand for Television is not very big and our Resort and Spa, however we are happy to provide a complimentary library of DVD’s. I have firmly passed on your spa concerns to our management company, who have since met and discussed concerns as well as taken steps to ensure our guests are getting high quality treatments. We were happy to compensate you accordingly. Again Thank you for you great comments regarding the food and staff.
We hope to host you again
Sincerely
Robert Henry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at the Trillium Resort and Spa this past weekend, and both me and my friend were very impressed.
We stayed in Lakeview 1 chalet and the only downside to this was that there are many stairs to get into the chalet which posed a bit of an issue for my friend who is currently walking with a cane. We managed quite well and the staff were very accomodating throughout the Resort.

Even though it rained the whole weekend, the weather broke enough that we were able to enjoy the hot tub, sauna, pool and beach. Best of all there were no kids since this is an adult only resort. The food was very enjoyable and the chef made a garlic butter sauce for my linguini that was the absolute best. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. Over all I would highly recommend this resort for a quick or long getaway. We are already planning our trip there next year. This would be a great place to go to in winter or summer. They have a main lodge that is very comfortable for reading, playing games, or sitting quietly.

The spa was not really the best, it seemed that the ladies were not really enjoying their jobs, so next year we will not make the spa a highlight (most reservations come with a spa credit).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear My3 dragonflies
Thank You for all your Great comments. It was nice having both of you here and seeing you enjoy, regardless of the weather.
We have addressed the Spa points and have gotten much greater feedback over the last several days. We Look forward to hosting you again soon in Lakeview #2.
Thank You
Sincerely
Robert Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Trillium for a one night stay and play package. The resort was very charming, with a rustic, relaxed feel. Not super luxurious like some Muskoka area resorts, but excellent value. We enjoyed having access to all possible activities for no additional cost such as canoes, kayaks, bikes, lawn toys, life-size chess, outdoor sauna, hot tub etc... We also sampled the spa and while it was still a very enjoyable experience one of our masseuses seemed to be relatively inexperienced. Great weekend all around and the golf at North Granite Ridge was also excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maple cottage and it was good. No experience with the other cottages, although they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A perfect Muskoka destination wedding venue. Being from Kingsville, Ontario we were pleasantly surprised that your house wine is from our local Pelee Island Winery. Stayed in a pet friendly 2 bedroom chalet. Accommodations were very nice with leather furniture, fireplace, mini bar fridge, kitchen sink, 2 burner stove top, coffee maker and stocked with kitchen basics. Other cottages were not as nice as the chalets. No TV reception. DVD movies were available at no cost. Would recommend bringing some movies of your own choice you've been wanting to see. Although no air conditioning, with ceiling fans and windsows open for lake breezes it was very comfortable to sleep at night. Dining room staff did an excellent job, Very accommodating and helpful. Hot breakfast buffet was different each day. We enjoyed fresh fruit, smoothies and warm cinnamon rolls. Take out lunches were priced right with good sized portions and always ready on time. Wish there was a hairdresser available at the spa for wedding guests. No charge for bikes & helmets, canoes, sports equipment etc. Just sign out and return. Easy check in & out. Be aware your credit card deposit is charged immediately upon making yoiur reservation.

Room Tip: Lakeview 1 chalet is closest to main lodge. Others are up a steep hill. Although chalets were duplex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I didn't really have any expectations with this resort and were open to a new experience. Upon arrival the resort had a rustic charm to the grounds. Our semi-cottage was average and relatively clean. The fridge in the room was extremely loud, sounding on and off throughout the entire night. Needless to say, we didn't sleep well. We had access to bicycles, canoes and paddleboats. The canoe ride on the lake was romantic and peaceful. We enjoyed the tranquility of the lake. The hiking grounds were not the greatest as our visit was during a more dry season. The soil on the hiking grounds were almost hollow with dry rotting trees. It wasn't as nice as I hoped it would be. A part of our package included a spa credit; my husband had the facial and I got a deep tissue massage which didn't seem like it as all. The masseuse seemed to enjoy talking about and had a nervous energy which wasn't exactly relaxing. My husband enjoyed his facial and had no issues. The food lacked flavour and there was a lack of service. The staff seemed to be talking to each other more than tending to the customers. When we arrived for breakfast, there was no food available. We had to wait for coffee and more food to be prepared. At check out they automatically added a service charge to our bill, forcing us to pay more than we wanted due to the service received. We will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear ZenFunTravel
Thank You for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Trillium Resort.
To address some of your points; In terms of the food, I spoke with the Chef and he assured me that he adds many flavorful ingredients including some grown here on site, while he prepares his dishes. We had many favorable comments on the food, and we realize that personal taste and opinion come into play. I passed on your comments to our management company at the spa and they mentioned that it was said all was great. The reason there was no food when you arrived for breakfast was that you were ½ hour early as breakfast starts at 8:30 Monday to Friday not 8:00, however coffee should have been available. The hours are posted on our board at the front desk area. The 15% that was added to your bill was as per the Jaunt Voucher that you purchased and is clearly outlined that it would be posted upon check out. I was sorry to read that you would not return to our Resort. We have had guests in the past that have only stayed 1 night like yourselves ,returned for a two night stay and commented that the 2 night stay allowed for a greater experience all around. All your points have been noted and discussed throughout our staff.
Thank you
Sincerely
Robert Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a wonderful two days at this resort. The staff was wonderful. Joanne was so helpful in arranging things and getting us the train schedule. Please note this resort can be reached by public transit to Bracebridge and then Bracebridge taxi to the resort (about $60).

We were very impressed with the excellent quality of the food...it really matched the level of food quality and service found in Toronto. The food was fresh and wonderfully prepared. Melanie, Jodi, Emma, Kaycee, and Taylor provided exceptional service in the dining room.

The main lodge was excellent and beautifully rustically decorated. Our cabin was simply but with a very comfortable bed, microwave, and fridge. We stopped on the way and picked up lunch fixings as the resort has a very limited box lunch menu. We also brought snacks such as popcorn to walk with the movies. There is no cable so you might want to purchase several DVDs to take for the evenings. They have a library of DVDs but you might want to bring something special of your own. Everything is sparkling clean.

Having spent years at a cottage I know that plumbing problems pop up from time to time due to septic systems. The management immediately had the problem fixed and provided us with free drinks at dinner to compensate...an unexpected touch.

The swimming pool was large and immaculately clean. The lake provided opportunities for all kinds of water activities. The bottom is muddy so bring water shoes. The lake was very warm. We loved the beds by the lake and I had a chipmunk jump up on the bed and steal my lunch which was much fund for an innner city condo dweller.

Help was given with luggage. I had a walker and extra help was provided. Please be aware if you have an accessibility issue that it is very hard to use the walker on the paths and the lake is down a slight hill. Cabins have a couple of steps into them. A small folding ramp at the main entrance would be helpful. The pool is down a set of steps as well.

The spa services were superb. I had the best massage ever from an RMT from Huntsville. She is amazing...ask for an RMT. The facalist was wonderful as well. A+ for the spa services.

My only negative comment would be the limited offerings at lunch and the accessibity issue at the main entrance and the changes in floor levels in the main building. Perhaps there is a way to make the pool more accessible in the future.

I would return in a heartbeat. The staff were the best staff I have encountered during extensive travelling.

Make reservations now!

M. Cox

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_K_Henry, Innkeeper at Trillium Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Marg C
We all agreed what a pleasure it was to have you both here, Again I can't tell you how extremely fortunate we are to have such a great staff that cares so much about all aspects of the Resort.
We have taken your suggestion and now have on hand a ramp if needed for use at the front door.
We do not have a high demand for lunch, although would like to, however we will keep your comments in mind and if things change we will modify as needed.
Thank you for all your comments and we will look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sincerely
Robert Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trillium Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trillium Resort and Spa

Address: 848 Clearwater Lake Road, Port Sydney, Ontario P0B 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Port Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trillium Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among 86 acres of pristine forest and woodlands, a spirited waterfall and private lake, The Trillium Resort & Spa, located in the heart of Muskoka, Ontario offers the perfect "adult only" vacation getaway. The lakeside resort accommodations feature six waterfront chalets and eleven "bedsitting" cottages set amid towering hardwoods.For a truly indulgent Ontario resort experience The Trillium Spa offers an array of luxuriating spa services and treatments in the 5,000 square foot post and beam spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Trillium Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trillium Hotel Port Sydney
Trillium Resort And Spa Port Sydney, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trillium Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.