We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view on a clear day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mull of Galloway Lighthouse

Mull of Galloway Lighthouse
Drummore | Stranraer, DG9 9DH, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Mull of Galloway is Scotland's most southerly point and is one of its least known areas, remaining an unspoiled paradise for visitors seeking peace and tranquility. We hope you will enjoy your visit and discover for yourself the beautiful countryside, beaches, splendid views and warm climate. Climb Scotland's most southerly lighthouse, visit our exhibition, RSPB reserve and Gallie Craig coffee house. We also have three former lighthouse keepers holiday cottages available for holidays or short breaks throughout the year.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic view on a clear day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went to mull of Galloway lighthouse in set 2012. It's a few miles drive down a single track with a few passing places. So take care. Ample parking at lighthouse. Brilliant cafe and shop next to it with reasonable prices. It's only a couple of pounds entry and that gets you into museum and up to the top of the lighthouse. On a clear day you get great views of the Isle of Man. Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited with 2 young boys. Staff very friendly and helpful. Everyone got a certificate for climbing lighthouse, which was great for show and tell at school. Views were amazing to Ireland, Isle of Man and beyond. Would recommend if visiting the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned home from a blissfully peaceful weekend spent at Kittiwake House at the Mull of Galloway lighthouse. Beautiful surroundings, perfect location for the 'get away from it all' experience, excellent standard of accommodation and a coffee shop selling remarkable food nearby....what more can you ask for? Even managed to see a pod of dolphins, brilliant! Highly recommend a stay here, feel like we've found a little gem to be returned to again and again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent Christmas at Puffin, it is exquisite. Took our children 4,6 &7 who entertained themselves for the majority of time. Great accommodation, modern, clean, warm and the caretaker/manager couldn't have been more helpful. This is a remote place, ideal if you want to just get away from the world. Can't wait to go back and neither can the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Mull visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent an unbelievable week at the Galloway lighthouse. Puffin house is very comfortable, well equipped and very cosy, just right for the chill out vacation we required. Unfortunately, the exhibition and tower were closed for december and january, also gallie craig coffe shop, so i cannot expess an opinion. This was a fact we had been told of before we arrived, so really did nothing to lower our opinion of the lighthouse. Many thanks to Steve the manager for our welcome. Glad to hear that the cottages will soon hopefully belong to the friendly community that made us feel so welcome. Incidentally, the views from the cliffs and local area are some of the best i have seen. Many thanks and kind regards

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mull of Galloway Lighthouse also viewed

Port Logan, Mull of Galloway
 
Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
Whithorn, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mull of Galloway Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mull of Galloway Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mull of Galloway Lighthouse to your Saves list