We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glen Auchie Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mull of Galloway Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drummore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mull of Galloway Holidays
Save
You added Mull of Galloway Holidays to your Saves list
Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Drummore B&B and Inns
Failsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Glen Auchie Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Glen Auchie Cottage is well worth a visit and good value for the rent. this year was our forth
holiday at this this cottage and we hope to be back in 2014. For people with pets there is an
enclosed garden so your dog may be let out to roam safely. Also there is plenty of car parking
space within the garden area. A good overhaul location to get to many of the attractions nearby.
eg the lighthouse & Logan gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks and pleased you came back to stay in Glen Auchie Cottage. See you next year hopefully. Diane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
79
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a weekend here in between two weeks in caravan accommodation and found it the height of luxury and comfort. We had a warm and friendly welcome, the room was large and very clean and all sorts of extras were added for our comfort. Large bathroom with super shower, again with all sorts of extras. We appreciated reading the history of the local area and guides to everything around.
But the stunning view across to the lighthouse and the Isle of Man beyond was the best for us. We are not as active as we used to be and to sit in that bay window in those comfy armchairs with a cup of tea and that view was just wonderful. (The nights were even better as there was no light pollution.)
Super breakfasts too. Thank you so much for a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great B&B at East Muntloch Croft!
Diane and John were extremely friendly and helpful, and gave us lifts to get evening meals as we were travelling by bike!,as well as taking Eve to Stranraer to get new bike tyres!
Our room had 2 easy chairs with a fantastic view down to the Mull of Galloway.
A great area to explore by bike! and a great B&B!

Room Tip: front room with great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for the great review, very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

thankyou diane and john we had a great holiday at auld smiddy cottage, it was home from home the cottage is fantastic and so cosy, highly recomended.there was so much to see and do around the area ,and we hope to return at a future date.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, they really help our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKBURN, WEST LOTHIAN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. We had the larger of the two rooms with a beautiful view down to the Lighthouse. In a quiet spot approximatey 2 miles from the lighthouse on the Mull. Warm, friendly atmosphere. Diane and John are a friendly, helpful couple who will go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. Good breakfasts and very comfortable accommodation. The rooms and en suites are immaculately clean. Yhe power shower is fantastic as a 'wake up' in the morning. Highly recommended. We were only staying for three nights but hope to pay another visit as soon as we can. Lovely area of Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the really good review you have written for us, it really helps our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

But we were lucky enough to have a fantastic clear view in the morning. Brilliant B&B (and we have stayed in many) - everything you could want in the room and for breakfast. Diane was friendly and efficient - just what we needed after a tedious day's travelling.

Having travelled through the area a lot (going to the ferry), we are, at long last, thinking we might come back to stay a bit longer. Now, that's a recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this really good review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here 6th & 7th Sept 2013 after spending a few days traveling around after revisiting Gretna Green For Our First Wedding Anniversary.
On arrival, we were greeted by Diane, who helped us get our belongings to our room.
We stayed in the 2nd room as the 1st room had been booked.
What a lovely room in a beautiful B&B, with all the extra's that you would expect - PLUS more.
Orange Juice, selection of Teabags & Coffee's, a Jug of fresh Milk every day, cakes, chocolate bars, even sweets.
The Location with the stunning views are simply breathe taking.
Diane Is such a delightful lady, very friendly & NOTHING was too much trouble.
Her Breakfasts were absolutely amazing - we're still "Stuffed" a day later!
Thanks very much Diane for a Fantastic Stay, we simply can't recommend enough.
Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Nigel & Shelly

Room Tip: Front Room Has The Best View, But you won't be disappointed in the 2nd room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland-on-Sunday, Owner at Mull of Galloway Holidays, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review you have given us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mull of Galloway Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mull of Galloway Holidays

Address: Cairngaan Road,, Drummore DG9 9HN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Mull of Galloway > Drummore
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Drummore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Muntloch Croft Bed & Breakfast, Scotland's most southerly point - Mull of Galloway. Two ensuite bedroom/sitting rooms. Reduced rates for children. Special diets catered for. Sorry no pets at B & B. Breakfast served early, late or later to suit you. Excellent views to the sea, mull of galloway and Isle of Man on clear day from B & B.Glen Auchie Holiday Cottage - two bedrooms, one double room and one twin room, bathroom with bath and walk in shower, fully equipped kitchen, sitting room and conservatory. Sea Views.Auld Smiddy - sleeps 2, log fire, pet friendly. Accept pets at cottage by prior arrangement. Gates and fence all around mature garden. Short breaks welcome. Sea Views. Free Wifi access at B & B also available to people staying in the cottages. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mull of Galloway Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.