We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not staying in this hotel again...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dottie's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dottie's Place to your Saves list
Dottie's Place
JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Butuan B&B and Inns
Surigao City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“not staying in this hotel again...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

first, the receptionist are not friendly nor accommodating, the reception counter is not height friendly, when you are short like me you have to raise your head so that you and the receptionist can have a good conversation. upon check-in you are required to pay in full, i never filled up any information sheet either. the lobby is not well lighted.

the hotel is old in everything, the design, the ambiance, everything! i got their executive room on which is located in the 2nd floor. i was expecting an "executive" room since i pay Php 2,200.00 on it but to my disappointment. i entered a spacious room yes, but the pillows are flat, the linens do have stains, the phone is old i cant even used it, the remote control doesnt have a cover that is why my batteries keep on spilling, the only new thing in the room is the samsung flat screen T.V. the c.r. is small though soap, shampoo and conditioner are provided and the worst of all...when i opened the window a concrete wall greeted my eyes! i even touched it just to checked on it!

the hotel is old, like Spanish era, but there;s a pool on the left wing, the parking is very huge as well but the rooms is a disappointment. the breakfast is a buffet of scrambled egg, coffee, corned beef and rice and pancit canton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
10
13
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perryville, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Dotties is one of the largest hotels in Butuan City, close to the airport and to the main road through Butuan. The pool is popular with visiting tourist, especially those that have kids and breakfast is served next to the pool daily. Rooms are average, bring your own pillows or you will have a stiff neck the next day. Food service is a little slow but portions are large. Make sure to get a hotel room that does not face the highway if you want to sleep well. Staff are friendly and responsive. Internet service varies from room to room. Get an extra key card so your AC can stay on while you are out of the room.

Room Tip: get a room that does not face the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in Dotties place from August 11 to 18, 2013 and also last year July 2012. it was very good place to stay even in the wet weather. Our room was clean in poolside but it was bad odor when the firsttime we come in, I told the reception about the problem and the next minute the housekeeper came and sprayed the room and the air- conditoned. They have a big nice swimming pool and a pool restaurant that we used to set down to entertained family and friends. with no mosquitos. Good food in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet was very poor, only for local people. The hotel has no protection, they have security guards but not in the entrance doors, no one opened the door for thier guests. The guards are inside smoking and talking or eating. Anyone can come in and rob the hotel and customers, anything is possible when there are no guards in the hotel. One time when I left the hotel very early morning , I saw a guard sleeping at the entrance door, I went out pass the door with out him awoke. If I were the owner I will fired them from their job and change another security company who can do the real job. The receptionist are friendly and attentive except the one young woman who have long hair who looked like "dont disturb me" face, she must be new because I had never seen her last year. Anyway We will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Choose the poolside room because there is internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is near the airport and the room was clean and neat. There's a flat screen TV with more than 50+ cable channels to choose from. Food via room service was good but the breakfast buffet can be improved.

Overall for the price I paid (PhP1,000+) the service and accommodation was more than worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a room beside the swimming pool so you can enjoy both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Some rooms are new while some remind me of old hotels, afterall Butuan City is one of the oldest cities in Mindanao. What I juat dont like about the place is their service (waitressing, room service, front desk people) are inconsistent. One stay, im pampered but the next visit, i have to make an effort to follow-up on orders, especially at the restaurant but i guess it is also because of the busyness of the place. Though it's never a good excuse. The front desk people are very friendly, smile a lot though lack the finesse of highly-trained front desks in more urbanized areas. I love their pool though and the staff are very lenient to guests who love to swim even late at night. Wifi on the other hand -strong near the poolside, recommend staying near there. Overall, rooms and even the food is great! Just needs more finesse on servicing customers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Dottie's in Butuan is an excellent place to stay...........The Customer service is excellent ......the food is excellent.........the swimming pool is excellent.....but not deep enough........If only it wasn't so bloody hot there all the time!!...hahhaha!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

upon arrival, no one opens the door for you because the guards were talking to the other employees. the desk staff did not greet and i thought she was not happy to see a client. when im inside the room, i did smell a terrible odor. too many mosquitoes and i saw spider webs at the bathroom. the shower took a lot of time to heat. no curtains at the window of the shower, you can even see the fence and the sky. the breakfast was buffet and they only have 3 kinds of dishes, 2 types of rice, a juice, coffee, and water. no fruits and you'll have to pay for a bread if you want to eat bread. good things, they use key cards for rooms and theres a pool near my room. the view of the pool makes the hotel nice. i dont want to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dottie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dottie's Place

Address: JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Butuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dottie's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dottie`s Place Hotel Butuan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dottie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.