We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dottie's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dottie's Place to your Saves list
Dottie's Place
JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Butuan B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

the staffs need some improvement with their PR. the food was okay and so was the room. the pool was so-so. theres free wifi. the place is clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
11
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

am glad to see good reviws already written about this place. coz its deserves them. I read a few nagative reviews myself before i went there about unfriendly staff etc. .Am happy to say I have never experienced anything but friendly helpful staff in any hotel i have ever stayed in in the philippines. this place is not a s high class and not as expensive as its nearby competitor the almont inland resort which i would also recommend. it has one unique feature which i liked. rooms for singles at the appropriate price. nice pool. can be busy and noisy at weekends when the locals can come in for picnic and swim.no such problems with the inland resort. the other hotel i would recommend in the centre of town with no pool is the almont city hotel. theres a gaisano shopping mall in easy reach of all these hotels. few taxies in butuan only trikes and jeepneys.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I have never been happier in my whole life after checking in at this hotel after discovering that the hotel that I earlier made a reservation with turned out to be a great disappointment. Dottie's Place was a heaven sent for me as the room is very spacious, the bathroom is very clean, big and secure parking spaces and most of all, there is a no smoking policy. The food is good but not outstanding. Dottie's Place is just in front of the Bachelor Bus terminal and near to the courts. The next time I would go back to Butuan City for my business trip, Dottie's Place is the place for me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I should have realised what Dotties Place might be like after sending two on-line booking enquiries without receiving a response! I made an international phone call and secured the booking but that was about the only thing they managed to get right!

On first appearances Dotties Place looks fine. Unfortunately, its the management and ownership that fails here. I was visiting for business reasons and Internet in my room was essential. It was impossible to log on with the password given. I spents hours moving from area to area to overcome the problem. The reception staff were absolutely hopeless. Five young girls, clueless and tongue tied. No management available, owner not to be contacted. Not allowed to contact the Service Provider. They asked maintenance to reboot the server but could say when it would be done. I was told that I was the only person with a problem! That makes me feel great when I know my Laptop is fine! Every problem is greeted with the same response, "Sorry for that Sir".

Later in the evening, I notice 2 other guys with Laptops at the reception. Same problem! And they are businessmen too. Same stupid inane responses from incompetent receptionists still refusing to contact the the Service Provider. But wait, the 11pm shift changeover is taking place. A more mature woman is in charge who can speak and understand English! Oh yes! She knows the problem! Its been like it for 4 days! But its OK because the Manager has been told about it! When I asked what other customers did, she said they move to another hotel!!! What a way to run a business! I moved the following morning too.

Meanwhile, I take Dinner in the restaurant with two Philippino Business women. The restauarant is empty, the lights and air con are off. A group of 5 staff laughing and giving high fives to each other watch us cross the restaurant. No one shows us to a table, the lights are switched on once we are seated and I have to ask for the air con to be switched on too. Dinner was not bad to be honest but breakfast the following morning was awful.

Security Guards lounge against the reception desk, or smoke outside. They have no routine, guests are not checked or greeted. No evidence of management presence anywhere. The staff in this hotel all seem to be enjoying their chats and doing as little as possible for the guests. But it is no wonder, non existant management and an uninterested owner.

Never Again will I step inside this establishment. But I concede there seemed to be a number of young Philippinos staying there and that may be just the right market for Dotties Place! Youngsters will accept anything......

Room Tip: Not a room adjacent the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at dottie's for 3 weeks and found it to be very clean and the staff were mostly friendly. Staff could do with specific, job orientated training.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I asked for a reserved table for my marriage proposal and they went further and decorated and arranged for private dinning. Their rates for this was very reasonable. Only 500 pesos per hr. I rented it for 2 hrs and had the most wonderful time. I only asked for flowers and a banner to be hung, but they went all out and spared no expenses decorating it at little to no cost.

Thanks to the Restaurant Manager Sarah

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Clean, safe, and best value for your money for a hotel in Butuan City. Having stayed here for several days I agree that the staff could use some training on how to improve their customer service skills. This is relatively minor however, as one must always remember where they are and adjust their expectations accordingly. The upside is that the rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is secure and reasonably priced compared to the competition. I also stayed two nights at their main competitor down the road and their rooms were full of cobwebs and not nearly as well maintained, as well as being more expensive. Best hotel value in Butuan City.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dottie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dottie's Place

Address: JC Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Butuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Dottie's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dottie`s Place Hotel Butuan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dottie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.