We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BEACH RESORT IN THE MIDDLE OF BUTUAN TOWN...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almont Inland Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Almont Inland Resort to your Saves list
Almont Inland Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   J.C. Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao 8600, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Butuan
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A BEACH RESORT IN THE MIDDLE OF BUTUAN TOWN...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I came her very often through the last 12 years. My wife is from this town. The hotel staff are all very friendly and helpful, the rooms large and the service so good. The swimming pool is a must for kids from 1 to 100 years old, and the restaurant serves fine food incl. specialities from Butuan.

I will always come back to this nice hotel/resort in the middle of the town where smiles is a trade mark and relaxation is reality.

Room Tip: You can get nice rooms right out to the big, big swimming pool, and eat your breakfast right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    13
    11
    0
See reviews for
17
24
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel offer free shuttle to and from the airport which is a nice feature. It's about 15 minutes from the airport to the hotel. Check in was easy. A buffet breakfast came with the room, and we elected to take it at check in as we were leaving early the following and would not be able to take the buffet the next day. The Buffet is located in a large open area, no window or doors, and the they have kind of the standard buffet fare, egg station, a couple of different meats, rice, cereal, fruit and breads. One thing that bothered me was since the buffet was in an open area, there was an abundance of flies and the Sparrows flew in and pecked on the spoons that is used for getting your food.

To get to the room, you take a golf cart from the check in area, it would be a long walk if dragging bags. The room was large but rather basic, no carpet, tile floor, two double beds, and the only amenities were a refrigerator, with some drinks inside, and a flat screen cable tv. No room safe, no coffee service (water heater), but many mosquitos. The door was a sliding glass door that was somewhat hard to lock and it did not have an inside security lock. WIFI was available. The room has towels but no wash cloths, soap, but didn't see any shampoo.

When we were leaving for our business meeting with computer, LCD, and other stuff, we could not get any answer at the front desk on the phone, so we had to carry all the stuff up to the lobby ourselves which was a task. There is apparently no taxi service in Butuan as we had requested a taxi to take us to the event and a gentleman showed up in old car to take us for a fee.

The hotel has a large pool, which we did not use, and i'm not sure of any other features.

All in all, it was an experience, but not one that I would want to do again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had my wedding reception in one of their ballrooms. It was magical and solemn. Spent a night or two after the wedding, it was a peaceful stay with my husband. I enjoyed the late night deep at the pool with chilled red wine.

Staffs are warm but needs to show more care to guests. The rooms that are beside the pool are lovely and romantic. Suits family affairs as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went here for a business conference and the hall was huge although the sound system was a mess. We could hear the adjacent hall's activity. The rooms are good though way far from the conference hall but has the necessities i.e. soap, towels, ref with drinks, cable tv, etc. however the entry to my room was only a sliding glass door just like any veranda doors with a view of a stagnant man made pond. Surprisingly no mosquitoes though. Service is good they have this golf cart car that transports you to your rooms. Food is average and cost is just alright.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This resort has both good and bad things. I'll start with the good ones. The food! They make their own original longganisa and that was what i tried and it was the best longganisa i have tasted. For me, it was even better than the vigan version. I was really glad the waiter recommended this and this was the number one impression i had of this place. Second, the staff are really friendly and warm. They were really helpful and approachable. The entire place has this relaxing ambience with the small pond and the design of the facilities. The rooms are really big and spacious, with three beds. Maybe that was why the rates seem expensive, the rooms were meant for many people to share. The place was good but i have seen better places of similar rates. Now for the bad things about this place, I really did not have a good night's sleep here because of the insects (mosquitos and others) that kept bothering me. I have been in other resorts of this type but they do not have this problem. The pool area was actually a little noisy since the pool was meant for kids and not really for adults to relax in. At the time of my stay, some people rented the clubhouse and they were doing dance practice and their sound system was loud and irritating. Maybe they should soundproof their clubhouse. Overall, this place was good enough for me. I would still eat here but i wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Like most people, I found the rooms very spacious. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, despite our persistent haggling for a better rate. The superior rooms are bit dated and the bathroom fixtures need replacement. Also, the water in the bathroom has this slightly foul smell, probably because it comes from a well. Aside from this, I dont have any other complaints. If you are not on a budget, stay in a deluxe room which has newer facilities. Even with a somewhat average room, the complimentary breakfast more than makes up for everything else. They have unlimited coffee, and a very generous servings, with very good service to go along with the good food.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if your not on a budget. The superior rooms are old and run down. The water has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel has undergone many improvements since we last commented. The little things have been fixed. The staff are extremely friendly and service is great. The food in the restraint is well priced. The mosquitoes are still a problem but there are screens fitted to the rooms and we came prepared with our insect repellant. It is much quieter than Dottie's and easier to sleep.

Room Tip: Making an effort to speak Visaya is encouraged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almont Inland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almont Inland Resort

Address: J.C. Aquino Avenue, Butuan, Mindanao 8600, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Agusan del Norte Province > Butuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Butuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Almont Inland Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Almont Inland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almont Inland Hotel Butuan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almont Inland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.