We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation at Tiskita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiskita Jungle Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tiskita Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tiskita Jungle Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Punta Banco, Pavones | P.O. Box 13411-1000, Pavones, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
SanJose
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation at Tiskita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

My husband, two boys (ages 4 and 6), and I have just returned home from spending 5 nights at Tiskita. We had a great time! We relaxed, saw tons of wildlife and really felt we were in the rainforest. I loved getting away from cars and televisions and just listening to the jungle sounds. The boys especially enjoyed the pool, the sandy beach (with tons of crabs), and the game area of the lodge. Just from the pool and walking between the lodge and our cabin we saw squirrel monkeys, capuchins, toucans, scarlet macaws, coati, and agouti. We spotted sloths and howler monkeys on our short walks on the trails behind the lodge. My favorite memory from the trip is waking up to see my two boys watching a troop of squirrel monkeys passing by our cabin. Another highlight of our trip, was Peter (the owner) taking us on our tour of his fruit orchard.

The lodge was very casual and I didn’t feel that the boys were disturbing the other guests. Meals were tasty. I don’t eat red meat and on the few occasions when red meat was served, the staff prepared something else for me. The cabins were rustic but clean and the showers were hot.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

This is definitely a fantastic spot if you want to get off the beaten tourist path. There are nicely-groomed private trails for hiking, an incredible fruit orchard and comfy, screened-in rooms that are perfect for listening to the sounds of the rainforest at night. The cabins, made entirely of wood, are dotted along the hillside and have incredible views of the Pacific, as well as private porches with hammocks for lounging. We stayed in one of the newer cabins, called Jaguarundi, which was roomy and super quiet. The bathrooms were totally spotless and the water came out piping hot. There is also a nice swimming pool.

Meals are simple, Costa Rican country-cooking and are served family style. (Think rice, beans, cabbage slaw and various stews.) Drinks are largely of the fruit variety, fresh from the property's orchard. Alcoholic drinks tend to center on beer and wine, so if you prefer cocktails, it might be a good idea to let the staff know when you are making your reservation.

This is definitely an incredible spot to get away from it all. My favorite thing to do was to take long walks on the lodge's private trails, where you could see all kinds of plant species, as well as monkeys, toucans, and more. The site is really a testament to the hard work of the lodge's personable owners, Peter and Lisbeth Aspinall, who have, over the years, replanted what was once a deforested area with lots of native species. It is incredible to see. They have also helped reintroduce the scarlet macaw to the area.

I disagree with an earlier post that said that this lodge wasn't a good value. It's true that you're not going to get gourmet dinners here (nor would I expect to in the middle of what is a very remote area), but the real attraction here is the nature. And in that regard, the Aspinalls have done an incredible job. The lodge's simplicity lets nature be the star of the show.

  • Liked — The rainforest!
  • Disliked — It's a long haul to get there. (But it's worth it!)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2005

Spent 2 weeks in the southern peninsula (Not the Osa, the southern Peninsula) and had a great time. I would suggest (if you have the time) to rent a car and drive if possible (it takes about 10hrs from SJO) because my trip wouldn't have been half as fun without the mobility a 4x4 provided me.

I was in awe when I arrived at the lodge, the grounds, the lodge and the rooms are just beautifully done. You could tell that the design took a lot of detail and work and that it shows through in just about every archetectual feature of the lodge.

While the rooms and the grounds were fantastic, the staff and the food left lots to be desired. I was looking forward to some home (lodge) cooked meals but in all honesty, the food was less then marginal. Additionally, the buffet was on a tight schedule that forced you to be at the dining area within 15minutes of chow time or you were out of luck. Those of you who trek and lead a less than scheduled lifestyle while on vacation will most likely find this a pain just as we did.

The management and the staff were neutral and at times even down right hostile.

In short, we enjoyed our stay at the lodge for the archetecture and grounds alone but at $200-$300 /day this was one place we would not return to again. In the 2 week stay we had the chance to spend time at several other locations and found them much more enjoyable and at a fraction of the cost. Tiskita allows guests who are not staying there to get a day pass for (I believe $15). I would stay somewhere else and get the day pass to enjoy the lodge and decide if the additional $200 are worth it.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2005

Tiskita Lodge is on the Pacific coast of far southern Costa Rica. It is a family run lodge with cabins scattered about a beautiful section of rainforest. Meals are included, and feature Costa Rican cuisine with an emphasis on the over 100 varieties of fruits and vegatables grown locally. The host family are natives, one of which is a horticulturalist, and a native guide is also there for daily walks encompassing a variety of themes. We stayed for an entire week with three children six and under. The older kids cried when we had to leave! We saw an extensive amount of wildlife, most of it visible from the veranda at our cabin. We played in the pool and surf, took a fabulous wildlife tour on horseback, and daily enjoyed learning about the rainforest. The lodge was very family friendly, and bent over backwords to accomodate us. The accomodations are clean and well designed, putting you literally in the middle of the forest! Arrival is usually by single engine plane onto a tiny airstrip from San Jose. If you want an authentic experience, which benefits the community around you (the family supports and employs the local villagers, does education in the schools, reforestation, and helps to maintain a turtle nesting habitat), not a luxury pampered experience at the Hilton, this is definitely a place to go!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tiskita Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiskita Jungle Lodge

Address: Punta Banco, Pavones | P.O. Box 13411-1000, Pavones, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Pavones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in Pavones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiskita Jungle Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret in Costa Rica, Tiskita Jungle Lodge offers guests the opportunity to experience pristine tropical rainforest and wilderness beaches on its 800 acre biological reserve. Our collection of tropical fruit is one of the largest in the world and Tiskita also hosts and abundance of wildlife, such as over 275 species of birds and a myriad of mammals. A travel destination like no other, Tiskita awaits discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Tingo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tiskita Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiskita Jungle Hotel Pavones

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiskita Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.