We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome trip, awesome hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Milltown B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
1 review
“Awesome trip, awesome hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

In February, I traveled to County Kerry with my wife and two young children and spent five days at the Kilburn House. This was my second visit, as my wife and I stayed at Kilburn in July of 2004. The Kilburn House is a beautifully restored, historic property. It is warm and welcoming just like the hosts and owners, Podge and Gret Leane. Also for those looking for a great meal, the Kilburn House is hard to beat. I have already recommended it to a number of friends from Massachusetts, several of whom have said it was the best bed and breakfast they stayed at during their trip. I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting County Kerry given its central location.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We just got back from a trip to Ireland. We spent two nights at Kilburn House and it was fantastic. Gret and Podge were great hosts. They gave us great advice on touring the area. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was clean and spacious. The Kilburn House is perfectly situated. An easy drive to both the Dingle Peninsula and the Ring of Kerry. I would highly recommend staying here. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

This B and B was amazing!!! The hosts were very welcoming and really really friendly giving us great tips as to where to go go and what to see in the area. The rooms were large very comfortable and clean. The guests living room with books and TV and tea and coffe was a brilliant idea. We were stunned at the choice and variety and quality of the breakfasts on offer. It really made our weekend and we would highly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac-Megantic, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Driving down the small road to the house, our breath was taken away by the beauty of the place. We were warmly welcomed and showed our very spacious room (YES! SPACIOUS) with a very large bathroom. Soon after, our 14mo old daughter took a tumble down our bed head first onto the hardwood floor, making my heart stop. I rushed to the owners who calmed me down a little and called a doctor for me, they then drove me to the doctor with my child (who was laughing and playing by then but mommy was still stressed out). When we got back to the house, they made us a fresh pot of tea and put a kid's movie on for my daughter so she wouldn't fall asleep as the doctor asked. They were so attentive and giving, I will forever remember them :)

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Just returned from vacation in Ireland. This was our favorite B&B. The house was well maintained, breakfast was delicious and hosts were very accomodating. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Having stayed here 5 years ago, I was looking forward to returning this August. I was pleasantly surprised to see all ameneties had been kept up to the good standard I enjoyed the last time. Gret is a great hostess; good breakfast, clean and modern rooms, peaceful environment, great central location for the Ring of Kerry are what you can expect here.
The price is very good value, especially compared to more expensive and lesser quality, lower standard equivelants in neighbouring Killarney.
It´s not a 5 Star Hotel, it´s just a homely retreat where you feel welcome and can relax in quiet surroundings without being miles from anywhere. Everything you would want from a b+b.
This report from someone who travells the world on business and is not easy to please.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbighshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had a two night stay in this lovely B & B. Although we had only booked in for one night we changed our travel plans to spend another night here. It is ideally situated for travelling around the ring of Kerry etc. The evenings in the guests' living room were very enjoyable sharing travel stories with fellow guests from New York, Australia and Israel.
We agree with all the complementary comments.

  • Liked — The warmest welcome.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Milltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Milltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilburn House Farmhouse Hotel Milltown
Kilburn House Farmhouse b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.