We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, gorgeous location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Milltown B&B and Inns
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely people, gorgeous location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

From the time we arrived, we felt totally comfortable and taken care of. by Gret and Podge. Their children are adorable and we fell in love with the dog.

As you drive down the long driveway from the road, you are taken with the valley and the mountains beyond. We had that view from our window.

The room wasn't large but totally adequate. The living room always had tea and snacks and lots of books to browse through. We met two other New England couples we enjoyed.

There were several restaurants in Killorgin that we liked, especially the Tapas restaurant in an old church.

We would highly recommend the Kilburn House for value, comfort, cleanliness and a lovely location.

  • Liked — The friendliness, cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Room was a bit small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Kilburn House was one of the best B+B's we've ever stayed out - an absolutely incredible location, surrounded by the mountains, and on a lovely farm with horses and cows. The house is beautiful, our room was very spacious with an enormous bathroom, and there's a great sitting room with a peat fire, tea, coffee and books, that you're able to relax in - we had a great evening there once, chatting with fellow travellers and Podge. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, with lots of choices every day if you didn't feel like the traditional Irish breakfast. Gret and Podge truly bent over backwards to make us feel welcome, and even woke up super early on our last day to make sure we had a full breakfast (at 6AM!!) before we had to leave for the airport - we felt like they were family friends by the end of our 3 day stay. Even their dog Bailey was unbelievably friendly :) The only thing is that you do need a car to get to nearby towns for dinner/supplies, but if you're visiting Kerry you probably have a rental car anyway. All in all, Kilburn House was fantastic, and I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We had an absolutely fabulous four night stay in this memorable B&B just off the Ring of Kerry. All the positive comments from other reviewers say it all really - a lovely house run by a fabulous family who couldn't do enough for you. Breakfasts were an absolute treat, the bedroom was super and the sitting room a great place to relax. We really couldn't praise it enough. Kilburn House also represents extraordinary value for money. Service and hospitality were absolutely flawless - with B&Bs like this around, you wonder why people ever stay in hotels.

Our only warning is that it's hard to find anywhere decent for dinner nearby - local restaurants are cruelly expensive (presumably because of a captive tourist market) and the local pubs pretty dismal. Best bet is the local Indian, where you can get a perfectly good curry without being stung for 150 Euros for two. But you can't blame any of that on Kilburn Lodge, which really is impeccable and a great find.

  • Liked — The room, the ambience and the breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at the Kilburn House. We had a party of 4 adults and 1 6-month old and we were all happy with our time there.

Fran and Podge were very friendly and so were their boys. They accommodated some additional needs we had since we were traveling with an infant, all done with a smile.

We had two rooms to accommodate our party and they were very good sized and clean. The breakfast possibilities were pretty good; the oatmeal and full Irish breakfast were tasty and got us energized for the day ahead.

The surrounding area was quite beautiful and we found Milltown to be a great starting off point for our travels around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. Many good food options are available in nearby Killorglin.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

My son and I were on a ten day vacation in Ireland. My son is Ireland for college so I went for a visit. Kilburn House B&B was our first stop. We stayed two nights so we could visit the Dingle Pen. and the Ring of Kerry. It's right in between the two and close to both. The house is beautiful and our room was perfect. We were greeted with tea, coffee, brown bread, cookies and more upon our arrival. The owners are both wonderful people and couldn't help us enough with directions to the areas we wanted to visit. They are both just really nice people. Our breakfast was excellent both mornings with a nice food selection. My son had the Irish breakfast and I had an omelet with fresh cheese's. We stayed at a total of 6 B&Bs while in Ireland which were all very nice but not as exceptional as the Kilburn House. When I go back for a visit I will definitely stay there again. Two nights just weren't enough. This B&B is a perfect example of what Farm House Bed and Breakfast's are all about.
Beth & Darek
Michigan U.S.A

  • Liked — The way the owners ran the B&B.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Great location to ring of kerry and dingle peninsula. The hosts were very hospitable. Great breakfast!! we didn't even need to eat lunch the days we were there. We brought our baby along for the trip. The B+B had a high chair and crib for her. Large, beautiful house in the middle of pastures. very lovely and peaceful.

  • Liked — beautiful house, freindly hosts
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

A wonderful restored manor house in the middle of a gorgeous Irish countryside. We were warmly welcomed by Podge & Gret who treated us to an unforgettable dinner and the best breakfast the next morning in their sunny conservatory.
The rooms were huge with plenty of character and original details. The whole house was full of charm. Many thanks for the nice stay.

  • Liked — The charm of the house and the cooking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Milltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Milltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilburn House Farmhouse Hotel Milltown
Kilburn House Farmhouse b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.