We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Milltown B&B and Inns
maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you read Gret's guest books, you will soon find that lots of people say this is the best
bed and breakfast they stayed at in Ireland. Podge's peat fires were most welcome in
one of the coldest May's in memory. Gret and Podge have thought of everything to
give guests a warm welcome and comfortable stay. Loved the pictures of renovation
in progress - a big undertaking and well crafted. Excellent location for exploring
Dingle and Kerry peninsulas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rensselaer, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and I spent two nights at Kilburn House recently. Gret and Podge were great hosts, the house was beautiful and the fire most welcome! Our hosts were friendly and helpful and patient with our silly questions of why Ireland paints the sheep. We had two beautifully appointed rooms and our stay was very comfortable. Each night when we returned to the house, the fire was burning merrily and it was most welcome. Leave it to us to make plans to visit Ireland for the first time when they are experiencing the coldest March in decades.
The location was fantastic for the Ring of Kerry and the views were wonderful from the house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This bed and breakfast was my favorite of the twelve bed and breakfasts I stayed in while visiting Ireland. Since I was the only guest that night, they let me stay in the lovely family suite. The views from the house were beautiful, and the host family was great as well. They're very keen on recycling and not wasting water, which is something I absolutely respect. And in the morning, I had so much delicious food waiting for me. Only place I stayed that offered omelettes. When I go back to Ireland, I'm definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kilburn House B&B is ideally situated between the Ring of Kerry and Dingle peninsula for visitors to either and is a short walk (about a kilomentre) from the village of Milltown with Killarney a 25-minute drive away.
The B&B forms part of a functioning farm, well away from noise or distraction. The farmhouse itself dates back to the 19th century and seems to have been restored to a very high standard (we forgot to ask our hosts about it).
A few real plus points of note were the size of the bedrooms (and brilliant showers), the excellent cosy sitting room with real fire at the front of the house for guests (where tea and coffee are available) and the overall feel for the place. This was one of 3 good B&Bs we visited on our trip to Munster over a long weekend and it's the one we are sure we will revisit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I fully enjoyed our one night stay at the Kilburn House in early March. We had experienced a wonderful drive on the Ring of Kerry and were a bit tired. We were greeted by a friendly host, a roaring fire in the living room and freshly made tea was set out for us. The house and the setting was just beautiful. The room was lovely and comfortable. Breakfast was a treat since mine included a sampling of local cheeses. My husband totally enjoyed his kippered mackerel. Overall a terrific experience

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The most wonderful place to stay on our 10-day Ireland trip a couple of years ago (catching up reviewing now). Peaceful and atmospheric farm, very convenient large room with views to horse pastures, lovely living room with a roaring log fire (how idyllic after a long day out) and hearty & delicious breakfast. Everything topped up with smiling and friendly service, wholehearted Irish hospitality. Extremely good value for money.

Warmly recommended, wish to be able to return some day!
(Btw. also a great book shelf where you can swap some holiday reading.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were very happy with our choice to stay at Kilburn House for 3 nights. It is well located to explore Dingle, Kerry, Killarney park and Beara. While just off the main road, it is very pastoral and quiet - the perfect combination.

The room was very comfortably and cosy. The furniture is rustic and home-style, and even the water pressure in the shower was very good.

Gret is a very nice person and a great hostess. She makes guests feel at home and gives some helpful tips about the area. The choice of breakfast is outstanding, and it will also suit those who don't like to eat full irish in the morning.

Overall, we highly recommend staying at Kilburn House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Milltown | Gret Leane, Milltown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Milltown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilburn House Farmhouse Hotel Milltown
Kilburn House Farmhouse b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilburn House Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.