We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ligurian Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Villatalla Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolceacqua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Villatalla Guest House
Save
You added Casa Villatalla Guest House to your Saves list
Localita Villatalla, 18035 Dolceacqua, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Dolceacqua B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ligurian Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Casa Villatalla is the most perfect place to get away from everything and to enjoy yourself. Its quiet and tranquil surroundings coupled with Roger and Marina's friendly and attentive management made our stay really pleasurable. The views from Villatalla are stunning over the Ligurian Hills and yet you are also only 15-20 minutes away from the seaside and a little further to Monaco, Menton and Nice. Whatever you might want to do it is easy reach from Villatalla and when you arrive back at the end of the dauy you are greeted with a smile and a warm welcome from Roger and Marina. If you choose to eat at Villatalla you will not be disappointed. Cannnot wait to visit again hopefully next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you arrive in daylight to enjoy the journey to the house and to appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
41
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Villatalla is nestled on the steep hillside in the Nervia valley of Liguria close to Dolceacqua. Only 20-30 minutes from the sea by car, this area is a goldmine of beauty and traditional Italian life. The owners of Villatalla guest house, Roger and Marina are incredible hosts. For the past 5 years I have taught art programs at Villatalla and students from around the globe have attended and loved the villa and the friendly hospitality. Roger and Marina have always been adaptable and gracious to the wants and needs of everyone. They have also never steered us wrong for local sites, towns and restaurants to visit, and there are MANY!!! The villa itself is like a home away from home with all sorts of fabulous places to just sit and look at the valley or snuggle up and read a book. My favorite towns to visit are Apricale for it's absolute beauty and Rocchetta Nervina where you will find AMAZING hand made ravioli at the restaurant in the square. The best pizza in the area is found in Isolabona! Oh, and Dolceacqua - WOW! An artists' dream come true! All were suggestions from our wonderful hosts at Villatalla. If you get a chance to enjoy Marina's cooking, you will never forget it! Ligurian cuisine is her specialty!! You can start your day with breakfast on the terrace over looking the valley ( Marina makes the preserves and the bread!). While you sip your cappuccino, take in the scent of oleander, lavender and clean mountain air. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stunning location; breakfast outside to the chorus of crickets, whilst taking in the amazing panorama; sampled Marina's excellent Ligurian cuisine a couple of evenings - there are also many options in nearby Dolceacqua, but go early if you want to avoid the car parking lottery in the town; enjoyed lazing by and in the pool; would like to go back again, but might not tell the in-laws :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

There's nothing not to like! We had an absolutely gorgeous stay at beautiful Villatalla, where we were thoroughly spoilt for 3 nights! Loved every minute and hope to go there again - only this time for longer! Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Don't hesitate to go if you get the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just like the other reviews say, Villatalla is the best place for recharging the batteries.
Such an honest, warm, comfortable & inviting home, it feels as though you've been returning for many visits (which we certainly will, wouldn't think of going to Europe without this precious paradise being a part of it)
The surroundings are stunning, the attention to detail evoking respect, love & passion towards the guests experience.
We travelled as a group, & I will return as a single, knowing we will be genuinely welcomed.
As a chef, one of my many delights was in the quality & the quantity of the local flavours that Marina so masterfully produced at every opportunity, & Rogers gentle care at the delivery of every need was so warming.
The couple's knowledge & helpfulness of the area contributed greatly to a full, beautifully well rounded, calm, complete & fun adventure.
Much gratitude to this wonderful couple!

Room Tip: Let Marina & Roger know your needs & trust their advice :)) xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Villatalla for 3 nights in August and if we could have stayed longer, we would have done so. Unfortunately, our busy jobs in London beckoned. If you're looking for somwewhere to escape from it all - well and truly, escape from it all - then this is a fabulous choice. The B&B is nestled among trees, herbs and flowers at the top of a hill, with breathtaking views over the surrounding valleys and mountains and only a few kilometres above historic Dolceacqua. Things we loved: hospitality from Marina and Roger, who made us feel ridiculously welcome and provided us with hints and tips on the surrounding restaurants and sites (the 3D Visionarium in Dolceacqua is well worth a visit!). Marina's cooking is delicious, so if you get the chance to eat at the B&B, we'd recommend that you do so. Our room had a balcony that looked out over the entire valley. Don't forget insect repellant, as there's no aircon in the rooms (a blessing for the planet) so if your windows and doors are open at night, the mozzies will feast. During the day, we were perfectly happy lazing by the pool and listening to the sound of the cicadas....and nothing much else. Divine. We hope to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tito (Italian for thyme, one of the many herbs that grows in the garden). I think this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Casa Villatalla is a gorgeous house in a lovely location up in the Ligurian hills. It's gloriously secluded and peaceful, but easy to access (an hour's drive from Nice airport).

The local medieval villages are spectacular - unspoilt by tourist concessions and packed with friendly and inexpensive local restaurants (no picture menus and some of the greatest Italian food I've ever eaten).

Unlike most guest houses, there's no feeling of being just another customer to process. Roger and Marina make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive, and they're expert at knowing when you're in the mood to chat and when you'd rather be left alone to relax - it's like staying at a friend's house.

This is an absolute gem of a place - perfect for anyone looking for a recharge and retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Villatalla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villatalla Guest House

Address: Localita Villatalla, 18035 Dolceacqua, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Dolceacqua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dolceacqua
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Villatalla is a beautiful Guest House situated in a stunning position in the hills above the medieval town of Dolceacqua, between the sea and mountains of western Liguria. Perfect for exploring the mountains with their perched villages, the Italian Riviera coast and the French Cote d'Azur, and less than an hour from Nice Airport. Breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and valleys, large swimming pool and large garden, complete tranquillity and a warm welcome! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Villatalla Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.