We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CARAMOAN ISLANDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matukad Island

Matukad Island
Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Caramoan
Attraction details
Caramoan, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“CARAMOAN ISLANDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoy the yellow sand, very clean sea water that you can see the sea bed. An added attraction for the lake at the center of the island having 3 lone fish. Before reaching the lake you need to climb sharp stones.

Except if there is survivor shooting. Nice islands are closed by the bully guards.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    26
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“People need to appreciate nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is where we had lunch, full table setup by Tugawe cove. It was nice scenic island, if only people would keep the island clean! There were lots of plastic cups and rubbish on the island. If this is not cleaned up, then the tourism business here will die.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Caramoan Splash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It was my 25th birthday. so I guess that was last year! lol. Well, there are 3 ways to reach Caramoan but we had chosen this option: we take Penafrancia Bus on a delux cabin from Cubao Terminal that leaves around 8 pm and goes directly to Sabang Port for 700-800.00 php fare. land travel takes 9 hours. just make sure to arrive in Sabang Port in the morning cause they don't have schedule after 11 am. boat ride takes 2 hours for 120-150.00 php boat fare. when we arrived in Caramoan Port we took a 45 minutes trike travel to the town of Caramoan for 50.00 php per person.. you can stay in the town or you may opt to stay in the beach. there are a lot of inns and lodges around the town. you may also packed your tent and stay in this Matukad Island. we stayed in Villa Julianna Inn on our first day for 800.00 php good 3 pax with 3 beds and shower! we stayed in La Playa Beach Resort in our second day for the same price. island ride is P1,500.00 good for 3-5 persons. and then everything is beautiful. you must see it for yourself!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Matukad means Deep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Since Survivor group has been filming in and out Caramoan, its best to visit this Place around November- Feb.. they film around March-July or August, depending on the schedule.. But usually, you cannot visit Matukad, Lahus and Gota for the 'contract" reasons between Camsur and Survivor.. That's what they say.. We went there MAy 2010 and yes, Survivor Israel is filming.

Be mindful of the season, the waves in the Pacific is strong.

Nevertheless, Matukad is one of the fine white sand in caramoan Peninsula. But the beach is short, same-same rock formations with the other islands. :)

Not to mention, Ive been to Phuket, But ill still choose to Visit Caramoan again and again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mystical Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was our first day in Caramoan, and Matukad Island was one of the Islands on the first day of our itinerary. It was more than two hours from the port (I forgot the port :P) but worth the long wait and the big waves of the sea going to Matukad Island.

From far away, we were so amazed with the white sand and the gorgeous rock formation of the island. The fresh coconut refreshed us for just 35 pesos, and the white sand that was so soft to sit and to walk really made the stay in the island totally relaxing!

But, relaxing alone was not just the activity you can enjoy at the island. At the side, there was the stiff click rock formation where it tested my and us strong arms and legs! without harness or any protective gear for climbing, rushed my adrenalin for adventure wiith a spectacular lagoon at the top of the island waited for us. So mysical that no one knows how the 2 bangus (milkfish) grow there for a very long time (side story: actually, there was only one bangus left now,it was said that the another bangus was caugth and feasted by a family who soon got sick and died after eating it).

After the rock climbing, it was really good to soak our tired body to the clear water of the sea, and rest under the shades of the trees while having our coconut drink direct in its shell! :D

And yes! this is my favorite Island in Caramoan!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matukad Island also viewed

Vinzons, Camarines Norte Province
Caramoan, Camarines Sur Province
 
Legaspi, Albay Province
Caramoan, Camarines Sur Province
 

Been to Matukad Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matukad Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.