We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powder anyone?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matukad Island

Matukad Island
Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Caramoan
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Powder anyone?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was planned for the longest time - the trip,the travel (bus) and the boat trip it was long before we arrive in Caramoan.
But i know that something was in store for us, and boy was i not disaapointed.
MATUKAD ISLAND welcomed us with open arms,beckoned us to take a rest, sit down lay down on its powder fine sand, i would consider it as FLOUR Soft like sand. it was so white and fine that i don't want to leave this island.
The water is clear and good for swimming
this island is adjacent to the snorkeling site in caramoan
the secret in this island is the lagoon just on top of the rocky climb, if you are brave enough which i recommend you should summon all the courage when you get hear and climb the rocky mountain you will get you reward.
in the lagoon you will see a big milk fish swimming alone
Legend has it that before there were 2 fish, a fisherman caught the other one and ate it, all other person who ate the fish died (urban legend)
but when you see the lagoon and the fish i remember the film (the last airbender) were the fish in the hidden lagoon in the water village resides that's how it felt like.
The climb up is pretty easy, the climb down is a diff. story
Enjoy this island and please do not leave your trash behind - Thank you for doing so.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A nice beach. Sand were mostly dead coral. Be careful with the waves when it hits you and make you roll, you might get bruises. It cost an additional 1k pesos to visit this island when included in the "long trip".

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Powder white sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Loved this particular island! It's powdery, just like Boracay! There is a spot on the island where waves collide and join, my mother loved it tremendously!

Now if you get asked if you want to climb up the rock that has a view of this huge milkfish in a lagoon, ask yourselves if you are fit enough for some rock climbing. I'm not afraid of heights but the problem is, my knees are sort of weak even though I am young, so it took me 15-20 minutes what should take fit people 5 minutes. It isn't high at all, just a few feet but one wrong step and you're doomed. I did not get to see the fish though! I was too high up and did not want to go down further :) view from above was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Perfect for a picnic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our next stop was the famous Matukad Island, known for its fine, white sands and calm seas. The sand in Matukad island is comparable to Boracay and Bohol's... powdery white, almost like baking flour! The water in Matukad is clearer and calmer than in most of the other islands.
Matukad Island is also rich in foliage.... with bermuda grass, plants and trees for shade. We decided to eat here for lunch (we bought take-out food from 'Lutong Bahay' restaurant at the city proper) Tip: make sure you bring drinking glasses if you plan to do a picnic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“secret paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Beautiful view from the top of the rock. White sand beaches, prestine crystal blue water, lagoon and limestone rock formations are just awesome work of nature. It has become one of my favorite island. A best place to visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matukad Island also viewed

Vinzons, Camarines Norte Province
Caramoan, Camarines Sur Province
 
Botolan, Zambales Province
Sagada, Mountain Province
 

Been to Matukad Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matukad Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.