We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gota Village Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caramoan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gota Village Resort
Save
You added Gota Village Resort to your Saves list
Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Caramoan B&B and Inns
Taguig City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

PROS
- Immediate response upon inquiry
- Nice view from the beach
- Rooms are decent and clean
- Island tour was pretty good. It was too bad we were there during the rainy season so we didn't get to see all islands.

CONS
- The transportation from the pier is a little worn-down. It was a 90s L300 with crappy seats.
- Food is nothing great too.
- Be prepared to take a long boat ride with the locals. This is not your typical boat ride in Boracay or Bohol. So be prepared to "rough it out."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were picked up from the port by a battered van which did not make for a good first impression. The view of ricefields along the way was nice. The location itself is excellent nestled between limestone cliffs and trees. The place was very green, peaceful and quiet at night.

For me, the per night rate of the cabana was cheap considering the good location. The cabanas would have been excellent but they are showing signs of disrepair, molds are growing in places especially inside the bathroom. I loved the fact that they were made of wood and smelled of pine. Hot shower was strong and really hot! We had to ask for soaps and shampoos.

Food was pricey considering the recipes were nothing remarkable (just the usual home pinoy recipes), and since there were no other eating places around (the barangay outside the resort is a good 5-10 minutes walk) we had no option but eat in the restaurant. Although the waiter said each order was good for 1 person, we found out that the serving is big enough for two (we're not big eaters), so we managed to save a bit sharing one meal + extra rice. To their credit, the cooking was tasty. We also managed to buy bread outside the resort.

The private beach was ok, rocky in places but shallow and nice to swim in. The waves could get very strong. I was saddened to see a lot of trash washed ashore, although they did clean them up in the mornings. It seemed to me a serious problem around Caramoan beaches, the neighboring Hunongan cove had more trash.

The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful. Their island-hopping tour was excellent.

All in all, it was a good place to stay in and would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

It is a bit of a trip to get to, but the beaches were deserted, the staff was your typical friendly Filipino provincial folk, and it was amazingly cheap. I spent 11 thousand pesos (275 dollars) to cover 2 nights and 3 nights in a private cabin with food, a day of boating and a day of hiking with a private guide included.

You may not enjoy it if you want western food or a beach party type of resort, but if you want a nice quiet beach and a local gem with Bicol type foods, this is a winner. Also, the main lodge has wifi and the rooms have cable and movie channels, and the boat guide will drop you off on a tiny deserted island (for free) for a romantic day of private beach bathing.

I almost gave it five stars due to the fond memory, but this is a solid 4 star local experience.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The resort is nice. Nice little cabins with good sleeping accommodations. Stayed with my fiance and her son and it was good they had a small bed in another room for her son to sleep on. The beach was nice, and food was ok, and as always in the Philippines, the staff were friendly and attentive. The biggest problem was the long bus ride, and the two hour boat trip. There are places that take less time that are just as nice and the beaches are actually better. And as an FYI, when someone from the Philippines says a white sandy beach, they mean some sand and the rest is rocks, so be prepared...lol..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The place is definitely wonderful. The facility was great for a remote location but the problem is it is poorly maintained so in the future- it may not bee that great. The food is the problem. Its too expensive, the choices are limited and the availability is limited, you can no longer order after 10PM. Its also difficult to order some items (i.e. some foods are included in a set meal and you cant request for a particular item from the set meal). The option to address this food problem is to go to the town proper to eat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The place and food was great! The people are very welcoming and accommodating. An island we went is just so relaxing that you wouldn't want to go. The down side was just they would not give you the exact time of when the boat would leave probably because when we were there it rained. Some basic needs in a hotel room wasn't available. But non the less the experience was good. I'll be back for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is the best hotel you could find in caramoan,the resort is very secluded and beautifully planned. However i had lots of disappointments also. Since the resort is very secluded i felt like we were trapped. Two days felt too long. Going to caramoan is really a challenge. 2 hours land travel from Naga airport and another 2 hours boat ride on a rough sea and another 30 minutes ride going to Gota. Since we availed the package from gota village they provided us free pick up at the port. But the van was a bit run-down and no ac. Paying 5k person they should at least provide you with a van with ac. After almost 5 hours of travel all you would want to do is eat. When we got to restaurant we were informed that our package meal is set already. (you can't pick your own meal) We were not informed about this when we booked our room. The meal is chicken adobo that almost don't have meat since they use native chicken, one bland toasted fried fish. (fish is abundant in the island they should at least picked a good kind of fish and grilled eggplant, a very sweet iced tea for drinks and cold rice.
Really they can't even provide you with a good quality rice. And since all the meal is cooked prior to your arrival at the restaurant, the food is already cold.
If you can't even pick your own meal that just ruins your holiday. We fought hard though to change the set meal the next day and glad they let us however the taste is still pretty mediocre for what you pay but being in a secluded resort you really don't have any choice.
My only complain is the food but other than that the place is really beautiful. Feels like you are on your own paradise. However i don't think i would go back again. The long travel and the hassles are just not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gota Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gota Village Resort

Address: Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Caramoan
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gota Village Hotel Caramoan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gota Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.