We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back for sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gota Village Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caramoan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gota Village Resort
Save
You added Gota Village Resort to your Saves list
Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Caramoan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'll be back for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The place and food was great! The people are very welcoming and accommodating. An island we went is just so relaxing that you wouldn't want to go. The down side was just they would not give you the exact time of when the boat would leave probably because when we were there it rained. Some basic needs in a hotel room wasn't available. But non the less the experience was good. I'll be back for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is the best hotel you could find in caramoan,the resort is very secluded and beautifully planned. However i had lots of disappointments also. Since the resort is very secluded i felt like we were trapped. Two days felt too long. Going to caramoan is really a challenge. 2 hours land travel from Naga airport and another 2 hours boat ride on a rough sea and another 30 minutes ride going to Gota. Since we availed the package from gota village they provided us free pick up at the port. But the van was a bit run-down and no ac. Paying 5k person they should at least provide you with a van with ac. After almost 5 hours of travel all you would want to do is eat. When we got to restaurant we were informed that our package meal is set already. (you can't pick your own meal) We were not informed about this when we booked our room. The meal is chicken adobo that almost don't have meat since they use native chicken, one bland toasted fried fish. (fish is abundant in the island they should at least picked a good kind of fish and grilled eggplant, a very sweet iced tea for drinks and cold rice.
Really they can't even provide you with a good quality rice. And since all the meal is cooked prior to your arrival at the restaurant, the food is already cold.
If you can't even pick your own meal that just ruins your holiday. We fought hard though to change the set meal the next day and glad they let us however the taste is still pretty mediocre for what you pay but being in a secluded resort you really don't have any choice.
My only complain is the food but other than that the place is really beautiful. Feels like you are on your own paradise. However i don't think i would go back again. The long travel and the hassles are just not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Was a little concerned based on some of the reviews I had read but ended up really enjoying Gota Village. It is perfectly located for exploring the amazing islands of Caramoan. The cabins were very clean and comfortable with great a/c and plenty of hot water. The food was very good and reasonably priced! The beach at the resort is fantastic - best of the places we stayed in Caramoan. We did the "a la carte" version instead of the package. The complaints tend to be about the package but I have no complaints at all about the resort doing it "pay as you go". We had an excellent time and will most likely be back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We arrived to Gota by chance: we had a booking for another hotel that happened to be fully booked. Because of this blissful mistake, we ended up at Gota Village.

Hidden between mountains, Gota is an amazing resort for a very affordable price. The cottages are clean and modern, the bed was comfortable and the shower had an amazing water pressure (this is not common in the Philippines, specially on the provinces). The private beach is amazing and it's located on a place where people can enjoy peace and quiet for a few days.

The food on the restaurant was overall good, yet it took a long time to be ready. It was OK though because the service was amazing. On the first night, my friend and I were absolutely tired and we didn't want to leave the room: we asked the staff if they could bring us the dinner of our choice (chicken curry. Really good choice) and they did, with a jar of water.

I believe Gota is usually closed on the high season due to the Survivors. But it's easy to understand why Gota was the resort of choice for the production of the show. I loved it and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went overnight at Gota Village while typhoon Labuyo was slashing Luzon. Twas signal #1 from #3 the day before. Sea transfer was cancelled. However, since we were already at Sabang Port, we decided to take a private banca. 2.5 hours of a roller coaster ride on the rough seas. There was no turning back and we entrusted our lives to God and the 2 boatmen. The journey seemed endless. Alas, Caramoan port was in sight that I wanted to hug Jack, the boatman as a sign of relief and gratitude for a safe journey. The van was already there waiting for us. Another 30 mins of road travel until we reached Gota Resort. We were greeted with a cold towel and drinking water which wiped the salt from our face & neck. We were then led into our wooden cabin with linen white bed comforters and fresh towels. I didn't expect that a govt-owned resort will be this nice and comfy. Lunch was good - talong salad, grilled fish & chix adobo. After filling our stomach, we went island hopping. We saw the island where the different Survivor episodes were shot incl the local one and the TV series Paraiso. Different islands had different charms. Twas massage time before dinner - pork sinigang, grillef tulingan & Bicol express. Breakfast @ 530am - corned beef & fried egg, the ff day before my children and son-in-law went river tubing & cliff diving. All these were part of our package with some extras. Thanks to Resty, the manager, who was so accommodating that he wanted us to have a great time during our stay. Our return boat ride was now a bigger boat for approx 70
persons. There were portions of rough rides too and I got wet again but the sea was calmer this time unlike when we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a nice resort in a secluded location. Do not go there if you expect to be able to get to town by foot.

We went there during the low season. As such there were perhaps more staff than guests. The service was good and the staff was friendly. I wouldn't say that the service is exceptional but it was pleasant.

Because the resort situated in a remote location, we had most of our meal at the resort's restaurant. I must say the food is really quite good. The pricing is similar to a restaurant pricing in Manila- which is kinda understandable considering the location, a lot of the stuff probably need to be shipped from the city.

Room is clean and poky. Not big but adequate.

I highly recommend kayaking to the nearby islands on a calm day. It's beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were just about to have a quick stop at the resort but when we saw their cabins it made us stay for 2 nights.. And got a 50% off on our second night... every thing went out well except for the pricey foods. But it's quite understandable due to its location. The Good thing is you can take foods from outside. No corkage was being collected.

I love the cabins.. We got a place for 4 pax.. It's a spacious room with couch and working desks but not the en suite bathroom. :-(.. The shower cubicle I even found it too small even for the Asian guests. Anyways It has a small flat screen tv with limited cable channels and small fridge for your foods and water. I'm quite impressed with their clean and comfortable beds and mattresses.. And the clean beach towels as well.

About the island hopping , the resort has different activities to offer in a reasonable price. You can check it at their front desk. The resorts staffs and crews were accommodating and respectful which gives us the such comfort of a tranquil gateway.

Room Tip: Closest to the shore
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gota Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gota Village Resort

Address: Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Caramoan
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gota Village Hotel Caramoan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gota Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.