We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular day tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gota Village Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caramoan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gota Village Resort
Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Caramoan B&B and Inns
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“spectacular day tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we went there for a day tour and paid Php300 per head. they allowed us since there were few guests in their hotel. so my experience is not of the service and room accommodation but more of the outdoor experience of the beach, seashore, and the panoramic view of the trees and limestone formations.

i love the place. i was relaxed by the sea breeze and was awed by the rocks that plagued the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly people, great location, nicely planned and decorated. The beach and view is perfect and we felt very well taken care of. The only minor negative is that the kitchen is not quite well developed to serve a fully booked resort. And since there are no alternatives given the location, one needs a bit of patience here. But once the food came it was all ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We started looking for a hotel in Caramoan last February for our trip in March. Our top choice was Tugawe Cove but it was already fully booked. So was Hunongan, our 2nd choice. We picked Gota over smaller hotels and homestays since we figured it had very good, if not the best amenities, having catered to many international (and presumably more demanding) clients.

After 13 hours of land travel (there was an accident in Quezon that caused 5 hours of delay), we were relieved that the van driver patiently waited for us at the bus terminal to bring us to Sabang port. The van was not Gota's but was hired by the resort. We arrived at the port after 1 1/2 hours expecting someone from the resort to assist those who were booked at Gota but we had to make the boat arrangements ourselves. There were only fishing boats that can accommodate about 30 passengers and the waiting time was 2 hours for each boat. The boat ride itself took another 2 hours. Being a big, government-run resort with 130 cabins (including those in Hunongan Cove) that can house 2-5 persons each, we thought Gota would have their own boat for the efficient transfer of their guests. It certainly wasn't too much to ask since we paid Php7000/pax for a 3 days+ 2 nights' stay. We should have at least been informed that we'd be on our own at the port so we could have made arrangements to rent our own boat and not waste time.

We arrived at Gota at 4pm and missed the scheduled activities for the day. Not entirely their fault since our delay was largely due to the heavy traffic in Quezon, but none of the staff could help us make alternative plans to make the most of our stay. We found out the next day that we still could have gone rock climbing or firefly watching upon arrival and be able to spend more time on island hopping the next day. The staff were courteous and nice but they were obviously untrained for their jobs as none of them could provide helpful answers to any of our queries.

Our cabin was small but acceptably clean. However, our TV and shower heater weren't working and they couldn't fix the problem even until our check out. They prohibited drying of clothes on the porch but didn't have any provision for drying clothes inside. Just how do they expect the guests to dry their clothes after a day on the beach??? There were two of us but they only provided 1 set of soap and shampoo and no toilet paper. The shower stall was suffocatingly small, too.

We looked forward to good food at dinner but that, too, was very disappointing. Not only was the food un-tasty and the rice was half-cooked, there also wasn't enough for all the guests. To make matters worse, the electricity went out. Fortunately, the generator was able to provide power to the cabins. The resort grounds, however, was very dark.

We were supposed to have a free 15-minute massage upon arrival which we scheduled for 5:30PM. No therapist came at the appointed time and we assumed that perhaps the other guests enjoyed their massages and opted to extend the service. We requested to reschedule our massages to 11PM, hoping that everyone would have been finished by then. We waited in vain until 2 AM without any notice nor excuse from the staff.

Breakfast the next day was worse than dinner- plain scrambled eggs, half-cooked rice, corned beef and dried fish (which arrived after a few batches have already eaten). We requested that we be given packed lunches so we won't have to go back to the resort between islands as they originally planned). It consisted of laing, fried chicken and half-cooked rice. According to the itinerary they made for us, we were supposed to go rock climbing at 8:30AM then island hopping at 9:30. Noone told us where we should proceed for the said activities so we had to find the guides ourselves. It was already 11AM when they were able to find us a boat for our tour after repeated follow ups. They claimed that no boat was available because there were a lot of guests. What a BS excuse! They were the ones who accepted the bookings and planned all the guests' itinerary in the first place and many of the guests have been booked 1 to 3 months in advance. They should have been prepared. The management obviously lacks organization, preparation and foresight. We were definitely ripped off! Thankfully, Caramoan was indeed a beautiful place and we enjoyed touring the islands, lagoon, grotto and the underground river sans guide. We arrived at the resort at around 7PM, tired, hungry and sticky. Imagine our disappointment when they told us there was no water! All the guests who wanted to rinse off had to line up at the guardhouse and bathe using either a plastic cup or a cut-up water bottle to get water trickling from a hose. And this while everyone else were lined up not 1 meter away, gawking at you! The staff did hire men to fetch water and bring them pail-by-pail to each cabin but of course it took hours for them to provide for all 130 cabins. We informed the staff that we're willing to wait and that we'll go out for dinner first but we expected that we'd have water in the cabin upon arrival. We were out for over 3 hours but still didn't have water when we got back. What really irked me was they even had the gall to say they couldn't bring the water because we were out when in fact they didn't even have a pail for us yet. It was almost midnight by the time we received our first container of water which was only enough for one person's quick bath. And surprisingly, they sent the massage therapists at that time.

On our third day, we were so eager to leave the place and swore never to go back again. Good thing our boatman informed us of a better option for transportation back to Naga. On the (bigger) boat, we met fellow tourists who stayed at a homestay where they were treated and fed much, much better for a third of the cost. Talk about rubbing it in!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed there over the Holy Week for 4 days. The accommodation was good, nice cabin with dependable AC. We were there with about a hundred people and the resort could not accommodate that much in terms of meals. They served both buffet and set meals. The buffet ran out most of the time so that some guests had to settle with whatever was left. If you had set meals, you were served last because the staff was scurrying about trying to manage and refill the buffet table. During these times, I didn't see the resort manager try to help out or appease the other guests. This is the one time that I felt shortchanged with the food. It was also unfortunate that the water supply ran out on 2 occasions. Maybe they should have a spare tank esp. if they have a large number of guests. Some forward planning is needed in this resort. There were no other water activities like kayaking as seen in their website. We saw several dilapidated kayaks by the mangrove. Apparently these have been allowed to go to waste. With better management, this resort has great potential. However, with the length of travel to get to this resort, I would not come back here.

Room Tip: Get one by the main road near the resort gate so that if water runs out you are near the outside sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Found out about Gota Village Resort as we (my husband and I) were looking for a vacation spot to fill a week we had off. We are working in Vietnam so decided we may as well see as much of Asia as we can while we are here. We love the hit tv show Survivor (and their views of the Philippine islands are mouth watering) so when we discovered that Gota was the spot to be, we checked it out. We didn't regret our decision at all. It is remote, takes a journey to get there but WOW is it worth it. Paradise! Beautiful beaches, a full slate of activities (snorkeling, kayaking, and more or you can just be lazy). Service is always with a smile; cottages are comfortable with ac, running hot water, everything is included - wifi is at the office. The restaurant and bar are open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night. Best of all, there is Resty, the manager. From my initial contact through email with him, he was the most helpful, customer friendly person I have every dealt with at a resort or vacation spot. . .even when we had problems at the Manila airport with connecting flights (what a surprise - it was Cebu Pacific - DO NOT FLY WITH THEM). Resty greeted us as soon as we got out of the van at Gota. He gave us a tour of the resort. He was there everyday to help, answer questions, be friendly. He is now a friend for life as far as we are concerned. He is probably the best resort manager and customer service individual we have ever met. Our time at Gota was beyond special. We would go back tomorrow. You don't have to worry about getting voted off the island (sorry, bad Survivor joke). It is definitely Paradise. . .

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center but who needs them. . .the beaches and the entire resort is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Gota Village Resort is used as the base camp for the production crew of several international versions of the hit TV show Survivor. While very remote and a challenge to reach, the destination offers a full slate of beautiful beaches, underground rivers, deep cave systems, snorkeling, mountain treking, rapelling, kayaking, fresh seafood, and a full array of adult beverages. They feature a number of cottage with AC and TV. WiFi is available on the sundeck next to the office. You may have to slide in between production cycles of Survivor as they shut the resort to outsiders when the TV crew is on site. But they offer complete and friendly service when and while you are there. Consider this a clue as to how they appreciate your need to relax: When I asked how late the beach-side bar was open, the manager said "As long as you're drinking."

Room Tip: The journey there is part of the adventure. Be ready for legs by planes, vans, and outrigger canoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The area is full of beauty with many pristine beaches nearby....we stayed at the more private area of honungan cove. Rooms were nice, clean, and water pressure was very strong at all times....I think all are on the beach, most beach-front, there are 1 or 2 that may be situated behind another cottage.

One day it was rainy - it is the perfect place to be 'stuck' on a rainy day.

All staff are very friendly and eager to help. I do advise though that if you have questions regarding travel time for island hopping-do ask the boatmen and not the dining staff. The boatmen we had were excellent and managed the waves well.

Local food was quite tasty. We especially enjoyed the Laing and the squash and beans in coconut milk. And a very pleasant surprise was the tasty veggie burgers!

Plan your trip in advance as most places of interest (beaches etc nearby) may be closed to the public if Survivor is being filmed.

Worth the 5 hour travel time from manila airport to the resort (flight-cat-boat-car-boat)

Will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gota Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gota Village Resort

Address: Caramoan Island | Caramines Sur, Caramoan, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Camarines Sur Province > Caramoan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Caramoan
Also Known As:
Gota Village Hotel Caramoan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gota Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gota Village Resort to your Saves list