We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tuncurry Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tuncurry Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Tuncurry Motor Lodge
132 Manning Street, Tuncurry, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tuncurry
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unacceptable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We placed a booking for 31/12/13, 3 weeks prior to coming to stay.
I received a phone call around lunch time on the 31st to confirm the booking & to see what time we would be arriving to collect keys... A few hours later at 4pm, (we were on our way to check in) I had a call from the manager to say "Sorry, your room is double booked, we have no accommodation left"
EXCUSE ME?! but at 4pm on NYE in a busy tourist town where the hell were we ment to find accommodation??
After confronting the managers face to face I found them to be nothing but RUDE & uncooperative!
I would NEVER recommend this budget accommodation to anyone. Perhaps if the management were more helpful & provided alternative arrangements I would have been more forgiving.
but apparently we "were just unlucky" so they said.

A case of more money offered for the room? or just sheer poor management?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

A motel in need of some money spent on it. Rooms are dated. Cockroaches are rife. Shower screen cracked. New air conditioning, however, a dodgy patch up jOb been done where old one was, same for the TVs. Beds are very comfy, however.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This motel is close to the main street of Tuncurry and although on the main Street it was very quiet even with a full house. The pool was refreshing, the beds were comfy and the room was spacious. A lovely stay and would recommend as a budget place to stay. The service was great.
Room had a mini kitchen with sink, toaster, plates, cutlery etc.
Bedding was crisp and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urunga, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Room's were big and spacious, woolies right down the road for suplies, friendly staff clean rooms yummy breakfeasts its just fun and nice! the club is just dowwn the road and, there is also a clean and refreshing pool! If i ever come to this town again i will always come to tuncurry motor lodge! thanks for you kindness and being so friendly to me !

Room Tip: I was in 12 a and it was great and guiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

i felt compelled to write my first ever review, i just wish to thank Susan for her hospitality, nothing seemed a problem, very comfortable beds, i actually wanted to take one of the beds home with me, lol, the place was very clean and i will be returning again next year, thanks again Susan and wish you a happy new year and see you soon. breakfast was yummo too, : )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at tuncurry motor lodge with my partner we are in our mid 20s. The Room we stayed in was a good size had a very comfy bed and very clean which is all We wanted. The lady at Reception was very friendly. For the location it Was in walking distance to the bowling club and themain street of tuncurry which has shops and resteraunts. It Was only a 2 minute drive into Forster CBD.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuncurry Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuncurry Motor Lodge

Address: 132 Manning Street, Tuncurry, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tuncurry
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tuncurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tuncurry Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuncurry Motor Lodge South Pacific - Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuncurry Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.