We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherry Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Save
You added Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10600 Highland Springs Avenue, Cherry Valley, CA 92223   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Despite what it sounds like below, I do recommend this place due to it's location and the beautiful grounds.

My wife and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. Last year we stayed there the weekend after the Annual Lavender Festival and we had a fantastic weekend. We strolled around the grounds anywhere we liked and we were practically the only ones there. This year we came during the Lavender Festival and it wasn't as relaxing for the most part.

On both visits we had trouble with our reservations since we used the reservation system on their web page. The first time we stayed there someone was already in our room and we found out when saw their stuff in the room when we opened the door, with a key (now they have key cards like other hotels). Luckily they were not in the room at the time. When we went back and told the front desk, we were upgraded to a nicer room in the 800s facing the lavender field at no extra charge. Last weekend, we arrived and were told there was a problem and then that "a pipe in our room had burst" after the front desk person had a consultation with the hotel President. We had to downgrade to the 700s, with the lower rate that came with the room.

CALL FOR RESERVATIONS IF YOU WANT TO BE GUARANTEED A ROOM WHEN YOU ARRIVE!!

With that said, this last visit they gave us 2 coupons for admission to the festival (which we didn't need), a coupon for 2 free lavender flavored drinks at the festival (which we did use and saved about $7) and a gift certificate to the onsite restaurant that almost covered the cost of dinner. The food at the restaurant was good however it was a long wait to get it. Probably due to it being the weekend of the festival and the place was packed. Even with a reservation we had to wait for a table. Also the chairs at our table were very uncomfortable. There were other chairs that looked like they were not as bad.

The grounds are what makes this place worth it. They have open spaces, shaded grassy areas, a few ponds and lavender fields you can roam around like you own the place. There is a long lane lined with olive trees that was the entrance at one point several decades ago. It's very quiet and peaceful.

Now that we know to call for reservations, we feel better about going back to stay here. It will be on a weekend when the festival is not going on. We will drive out for the day to attend the Festival.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lavender fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is not a resort. It is perfect for big groups for retreats but please...a resort? The tennis courts are beyond repair, the basketball courts be careful so that you don't trip over the cracked concrete. The cottages???? Um very outdated....they even use tape on the windown curtains to keep light out. No privacy....so curtains are always drawn. The rooms are very small....the bathroom and shower....wow....if you are a big man you are in for a surprise. Not your 4 or 5 star resort at any means. So why does this place get a 3 stars still? It is better than your average Holiday Inn express....although you might think differently with quality of the modern decor. The swimming pool is huge....and nice gym and whirlpool area. The grounds are amazing and relaxing. The acres of lavender fields over nice happy hour can't go wrong at all. The food is very fresh and the service is ok. That is why you get a 3 star vs. 2. If it wasn't for the grounds, the pool, and good food this is a hands down a two star place. Please taper your expecations when you arrive at this joint.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had rooms in the "700" area and our room was very large and nice. You can tell they are still working on renovations as the main part of the room was updated but the bathroom still needed work.
I would say this is more of a retreat than resort because what you think of being in the rooms of a resort. We had no coffee maker, no drink glasses, no ice, etc.
I will say that the grounds are lovely even with it being the end of summer. We did not have a chance to visit the restaurant, a little spendy for my budget but it sounded and smelled wonderful.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would try for the rooms in the "700" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We perchased a two night get-a-way for our son and his new bride. "BIG MISTAKE!" They found a number of dead bugs in the bed linnens, the floors were dusty, dirty bathroom, no continental breakfast that was supposed to be there. We asked for a simple DVD player to be placed in the room which we were told that would be done, "NOT". Not even a simple coffee maker in the room or a blowdryer in the bathroom! OK, Forget the blowdryer. If we wanted that extreme amenity we should have had a reservation at the nearest Motel 6. We will be contacting the Riverside Co. Health Dept. and the BBB. Not to mention our credir card to remove the charge. Sad Sad Sad.

Room Tip: "Nearest Motel 6 (NOT KIDDING)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSResort1884, General Manager at Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Mike S., 

I was dismayed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory due to several issues. We addressed the reported pest problem immediately with our pest control provider Ecolab (California's premier pest elimination services). We had a field expert come to the room your son stayed in, and after spending several hours going inspecting the room thoroughly he was not able to find evidence of any pests or insects in the room or bed. 

Unfortunately, our rooms do not come equipped with dvd players. I understand that our front desk personnel informed you and your son, before checking in, that this would not be available. Other amenities are available upon request when checking in (such as hair dryers, ice, irons, etc.). Continental breakfasts are currently offered on the weekends only. I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding regarding our amenities and for the issue with your son's room, and would be happy to discuss your complaint further.

My e-mail address is tina.k@hsresort.com, and I look forward to hearing from you with hopes we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Best Regards,
Tina Kummerle
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cherry Valley hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Rooms: The rooms were cozy and had character. The rooms were big enough for our needs although we didn't spend much time in the room. We were mostly out and about on the property or eating.

Location: We were on vacation so we were in no rush. But it was roughly 2 hours outside LA.

Value: The experience of staying in a heritage inn was great fun. We enjoyed our stay.

Reason for stars: Although the property wasn't prestigious, I give it 5 stars for the experience and the stay. The property had a lot of charm and character. We also visited their restaurant which was also great. It was quiet and gave us some "family time". We also took a short trip to the Cabazon Outlet Mall which was great as well. I have suggested the resort to friends who have enjoyed their stays as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

So disappointed in this historic resort! The rooms (800 series) are just awful. The rooms are huge and have beautiful new hardwood floors but the decor, the exterior and amenities are outdated by decades! The furniture is a mix mash of different styles. The sights and the property should be breathtaking, but the grounds aren't kept up and very little of the usable land is utilized. The rooms could use a reference binder about the property, the front desk hours, the directions to the pool, etc. This at one time was a glorious gem, but is very close to reverting to coal.

Dear HSR - hire a property management expert and get some investors.

Room Tip: Don't assume they all come with basics such as radios, dresser, TV and internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

So the bathroom faucet was difficult to shut off and the shower needed some work. The place itself was charming but I was disappointed that the room was not made up when we arrived. The clerk refunded the early arrival fee of $20. (No other hotel has charged extra just because I arrived an hour early to check in.) The clerk gave me the key and charged $20. Went to the room and it had obviously not been cleaned. This at 3 pm. I went back. Clerk was nice and said it would be an hour. We were there for the Lavender Festival which was very nice. After the first night, no service was performed on our room. We went out to dinner at 6 pm and I went to the front desk to ask for fresh towels. Younger clerk told me she was busy and couldn't leave the desk. I said, "That's okay, we are going out to dinner." We returned at 8 pm and still had not received fresh towels much less any tidying of the room. I again went to the front desk. Now the young clerk was a bit snippy when she told me she still couldn't leave the front desk. Towels were later delivered to our door. That day was the last day of the festival. We had a difficult time sleeping due to the young folks who had worked the festival enjoying themselves right outside our window. They were racing around in golf carts and squealing and yelling at one another. Also, they advertised there was WiFi. The WiFi signal was so week my laptop could not connect to the service. Needless to say, we plan to attend the festival next year but we won't be staying at HSR and I won't be recommending this place to my friends. Very disappointed in our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Valley
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Banning-Beaumont
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Beaumont-Oak Valley
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel  & Suites Banning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Ayres Hotel Redlands
Ayres Hotel Redlands
#1 of 9 in Redlands
4.5 of 5 stars 632 reviews
8.8 mi away
Morongo Casino, Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Banning Casino and Outlet Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

Address: 10600 Highland Springs Avenue, Cherry Valley, CA 92223
Location: United States > California > Cherry Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Highland Springs Hotel Cherry Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.