We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celiacs Beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 800 Degrees

800 Degrees
10889 Lindbrook Dr, Westwood, CA
424-239-5010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Westwood
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Celiacs Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Amazing concept and a great place with a bubbly "college kid" staff. The pizzas are awesome and the toppings over the top. Problem is, they offer a gluten free pizza that is intended for "gluten free eaters" that do so by choice and not for celiacs. I would have no problem with this if they told the consumer this before hand, but there is no warning that they do not stick to the strict standards demanded for gluten free certification to limit cross contamination. I know this because I lost a day of work over being sick from their pizza this weekend. It seems they tried to think of everything by having a separate palate and storage area for their crust, but in actuality they do an awful job of implementing and are putting celiacs in danger of significant food related illness which is far greater than a simple upset stomach. Bouts of contamination can be debilitating for many and overall celiacs are at great risk for major inflammatory illnesses and intestinal lymphoma if they do not adhere to a strict gluten free diet, so we need all the help we can get.

Gluten free pizza review:
The crust itself is not appetizing, though I have had worse. The redeeming qualities are that they have vegan daiya cheese (most celiacs and surprisingly most Americans are lactose intolerant) and really amazing toppings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Great Pizza, Fresh Salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and 15 year old daughter were hungry after a visit to the Getty Museum and while I had made reservations to a local up scale restaurant I was out voted for 800 degrees and was glad that I was. As others have said, don't let the lines or seating situation scare you off, it all seems to work out. This place is the Subway of great pizza and salads. You choose what you want of many, many topping choices, some traditional, some you would not normally see at a traditional pizza place, the same with the salad choices. With each you begin with one of three basic pizza's and salads and then let your imagination run wild. By the time you are ready to pay for your creations, they are ready to eat. Prices are great and once you are seated you really do not feel like your in a fast food place. Wine and beer selection is limited but what they had were great choices. All in all, if you're in Westwood and want great pizza and a fun place to eat it, try 800 degrees.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hot Hip Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very hip and fun place for pizza. This is where you need to go when in Westwood. You move down the line picking your sauce (or no sauce), protein(s), veg, and cheese. And, of course, with an 800 degree oven, your pizza is cooked really quickly. It's not the very best pizza we've ever had (as in Fireside Pies in Fort Worth), but we'd rate it very good and the price is reasonable and it's got the fun factor going for it. I started with the margherita pizza and had an egg cooked on top so the crust got a little soggy, but it was still very good and I had it topped with some arugula. My spouse had a margherita and added prosciutto and arugula (they add both of those after the pizza is cooked, of course), and my son had the Napoletana pizza with shrimp, capers, anchovies and extra cheese. The salads are crisp and the dressings are tasty. I recommend the chopped salad and Caesar. We were all very happy with our food. We were a little worried that there wouldn't be a table available, but people eat and leave so we didn't have a problem. We did notice that the line was way out the door when we left, so I can't say how those people fared with getting a table. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“LA Wood Fired Pizza at Naples, Italy Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place has blown the doors off of the premise that excellent artisanal pizza must be priced exorbitantly. By far one of the best pizzas in the US. My wife and I spent 3 weeks in Naples eating nearly a pizza a day and this is about as close to the real article as you will find. Salads were crisp and well dressed served with shaved parmesan cheese. They have a wide selection of toppings to choose from, but try a traditional Neapolitan pizza and order the marinara. If you can save room for the burrata salad, it is special. 800 degrees is new, clean and efficient. Don't be put off by the long line, it moves fast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This place is one of the best places to get fresh home made pizzas. You can choose any toppings you want plus any base ie just tomato or just cheese. You can get a variety of drinks to go with your pizza. Only one downside the line to get in can be crazy so best go early or order over the phone and just collect it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 800 Degrees also viewed

 

Been to 800 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 800 Degrees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.