We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....good dinner at a reasonable price!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Angel Cafe

Blue Angel Cafe
1132 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150
+1 530-544-6544
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, European, Asian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Blue Angel Cafe features fresh, innovative food from around the world and we hope you stop in to sample our eclectic menu and enjoy our cozy atmosphere. We have a beer, wine and espresso bar to complement our menu. Come sit by the fire after a day of skiing, or bring the dog by for a beer in our summer garden after a Tahoe hike. Recently celebrating our 10 year anniversary, we have come to be a favorite among visitors and locals alike. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Great location....good dinner at a reasonable price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying at the Deerfield Lodge (highly recommend..!!) just up the street and decided to pop in for a couple of beers with our 2 dogs. The cafe has outdoor seating so the dogs were not a problem.

While there, we took a look at the menu. After much debating we decided to do take-out as the grounds of the Deerfield Lodge offers a fantastic setting for a nice relaxing dinner and a glass of wine. Try it...!!

My wife ordered the Mediterranean Salmon, which was very good. I had the Chicken Thai Curry which was "OK". I have had better Thai food..!!

The prices are good, and the gal serving us was very friendly so no complaints there.

We were tired after a full day's driving and were looking for a light, relaxing dinner. That's precisely what we got by enjoying our dinner on the patio of our room at the Deerfield Lodge.

Three stars for the Blue Angel Cafe with an additional star for it's proximity to the Deerfield Lodge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Location - Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I recently attended a wedding reception here in the upstairs portion of this restaurant. The atmosphere was ideal and perfect for the intimate wedding I was a guest of. If the catered food at the reception is indicative of the food in the restaurant - this would be a place I need to come to every time I'm in Tahoe! The service was terrific and very attentive. The food was fresh and yummy. Great Job!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to eat dinner here, and were not disappointed. The staff was so friendly, and the ambience was warm. The menu had such a variety of the foods. We had the coconut encrusted tofu- was amazing, and shrimp tacos- which were good too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and boyfriend were looking for a place to eat something good and light, before an expected heavy dinner. The hotel owner of where we were staying recommended this place and even gave us a 10% off card. When we got to the place, the waiter explained all the options and she was amazing! We had soup and hush puppies. They were both very good and different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
2,266 reviews 2,266 reviews
715 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 426 cities Reviews in 426 cities
1,301 helpful votes 1,301 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place - Good Food; Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were staying at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort and asked the concierge where was a good place for lunch - and they said, this was one of their favorite and even gave us a 10 per cent discount coupon.

We arrived to the restaurant - comfortable place for lunch. We enjoyed their excellent humus plate, their fantastic coconut crusted tofu (note - I like coconut crusted shrimp; and this dish even surpassed that dish in taste and quality); and curry chicken salad. We shared the dishes - and had plenty for lunch the next day. Food was so tasty; good for you; and great place to go. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert - but they offer several tasty options if interested.

Wine, beer, Italian soda, and other soft drinks on the menu to order.

Fun place for lunch (The place is liked also by groups since as we were finishing up our lunch anda group of 20 plus showed up for lunch.....and they seemed to be there on a repeat visit from the sounds of it.)

Overall, highly recommend the place for lunch (have not had dinner there so only reviewing in terms of the lunch we had.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Angel Cafe also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Angel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Angel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.