We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Angel Cafe

Blue Angel Cafe
1132 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150
(530) 544-6544
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Me and boyfriend were looking for a place to eat something good and light, before an expected heavy dinner. The hotel owner of where we were staying recommended this place and even gave us a 10% off card. When we got to the place, the waiter explained all the options and she was amazing! We had soup and hush puppies. They were both very good and different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    38
    24
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
584 reviews 584 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place - Good Food; Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were staying at Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort and asked the concierge where was a good place for lunch - and they said, this was one of their favorite and even gave us a 10 per cent discount coupon.

We arrived to the restaurant - comfortable place for lunch. We enjoyed their excellent humus plate, their fantastic coconut crusted tofu (note - I like coconut crusted shrimp; and this dish even surpassed that dish in taste and quality); and curry chicken salad. We shared the dishes - and had plenty for lunch the next day. Food was so tasty; good for you; and great place to go. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert - but they offer several tasty options if interested.

Wine, beer, Italian soda, and other soft drinks on the menu to order.

Fun place for lunch (The place is liked also by groups since as we were finishing up our lunch anda group of 20 plus showed up for lunch.....and they seemed to be there on a repeat visit from the sounds of it.)

Overall, highly recommend the place for lunch (have not had dinner there so only reviewing in terms of the lunch we had.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I went many times to eat and always the climet was warm and the owners super nice with all the clients.
I recommend the pizza,any kind is delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top 5 place to eat in south Lake Tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a delicious lunch here on our last day, pity we did not find it before. We all really enjoyed the food and the owner was very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“PERFECT PASTA PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel concierge, Connie. She told us that this was one of the best restaurants and she said go on Wednesday as this is their pasta night. She was right! When we got to the restaurant we were seated quickly by the smiling waitress and sat down. The atmosphere is amazing, it has got ski signs and music playing, which we really liked. We already knew what we wanted to order, which was from the pasta menu. You get a Caesar salad, garlic bread and your choice of pasta and sauce for $7.99-definitely worth it! You can also choose different types of toppings for an extra $1or $2. The salad came quickly and was all freshly made, delicious! As my daughter doesn't like cheese, they kindly left that off the salad and pasta which was very thoughtful. When the pasta came it looked as good as it tasted! The waitress kept topping our water glasses up and they were very efficient. We will definitely be returning to the Blue Angel Cafe! Thank you lovely Sara and team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Angel Cafe also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Blue Angel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Angel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.