We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, very friendly staff, short wait for a Saturday morning on a holiday weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bert's Cafe

Bert's Cafe
1146 Emerald Bay Road, CA 96150-6206
(530) 544-3434
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Winnemucca, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, very friendly staff, short wait for a Saturday morning on a holiday weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Yummy blueberry pancakes and French toast. Quick service. I think a family owns it and the presumable owner/dad (not sure on this) was very friendly and even gave us advice on bike trails. Our waitress was friendly and prompt. We sat at the counter where you can watch how they run and you could tell they are a well-oiled machine! I would definitely recommend Bert's place for breakfast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    21
    18
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Great Tahoe Breakfast Diner Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

A classic Tahoe experience. Located on High 50, near the "Y", makes it easy to get to for those driving from the Bay Area to South Shore.
Bert's feels like old timey South Shore, the one I knew from the 60's. Right on the highway, big windows remind you that you are in the forest. A simple design where the restaurant's energy is devoted to it's customers.
No high brow, pretentious cuisine, this is home made fare, just lime you have hoped to find.
They have fresh squeezed orange juice, home fries, great salsa, oatmeal and THE breakfast, just like you would make if you found the time to shop, cook and had someone to clean up after you. Good news! You have Bert's.
You will find a great menu, friendly service, and yes you can get lunch too.
They are open 6:45 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
I LOVE it!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family has eaten breakfast at Bert's for several years now and have always been happy campers when leaving!
Food is fresh and homemade, large portions and brought to the table by happy, friendly servers.
If the "wait" line seems too long, wait anyway, as we have never had to wait more than 15min. for a table. And the "wait is sooo worth it"!

Bon Appetite !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NICE & HIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really liked it , I order Breakfast Cambo and got eggs, sausage and Pancakes.. the pancakes were really good! it was a fulfilling breakfast. Will go for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talking rock, georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first vacation in Tahoe and there were plenty of restaurants in town to eat at. However, we found this place for breakfast on our last day there and it was too bad we didn't find it the first day! Our familes had breakfast there and had a wonderful experience. Since there were 9 of us we all had a variety of items off the menu. All of it was wonderful and even met the owner who was out and about on the floor taking care of his customers. I personally had the Crepe Eggs Benedict and it was a blend of sweet and salty mix that I ate in a hurry. The portions were large and the staff was friendly. Would definitely eat again there and maybe try some lunch and dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bert's Cafe also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)

Been to Bert's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bert's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.