We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chevys Fresh Mex

Chevys Fresh Mex
3678 Lake Tahoe Blvd, CA 96150
+1 530-542-1741
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: When we think Chevys Fresh Mex, we go to our happy place; fun-lovin’ guests, fajitas & margaritas, and the freshest food, always from scratch. Founded in 1986 in Alameda, California, Chevys is an ultra-casual restaurant concept that offers guests an array of freshly prepared Mexican dishes in a relaxing atmosphere. Similar to other Real Mex restaurants, Chevys prepares its dishes daily from scratch using only the freshest ingredients. Chevys is a national brand with locations in 8 states. Chevys' store base includes 39 Company-owned restaurant locations and 16 franchised restaurants. With more than 25 years of successful operations, Chevys is the most widely recognized Mexican casual dining brand in northern California, and is the second largest Mexican casual dining brand in California in terms of number of restaurants, behind El Torito. Designed to offer a fiesta for the senses, where every experience is fresh, fun and full of flavor, the concept is focused on the execution of its trend-setting Fresh Mex® menu and continuous innovation. Chevys uses a "Fresh Mex®" pledge which underscores the Company's promise that all products are made daily from scratch.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great service with typical Chevy's atmosphere.
Three in our party..we ordered Chicken fajitas, chicken flautas and pork tamales. The fajitas were sizzling (as they should be) the flautas and tamales weren't "hot" as in temperature by any means and the beans and rice were luke warm. Although it was all very tasty, the food could've been at a better temp but we were too hungry and it was too busy to send it back. (4 stars for service)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    14
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
342 helpful votes 342 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for lunch during our recent visit to Lake Tahoe. All in all our meals were well prepared and tasty. No complaints. I'd eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy WI
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Our party of 5 left properly sated!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were in South Lake Tahoe for a family reunion of sorts and one of the evenings we went here for a nice dinner for five. The manager on staff was WAY friendly -- almost too friendly -- but that's ok because he staff balanced him out.

This was our first visit to Chevy and we enjoyed it a lot. The portions were more than ample, the food seemed to be well prepared (but not being huge tex-mex fans we can only way we enjoyed it), and the drinks were nice (margaritas not overly alcoholic, but not lacking either)

The entrees were large enough that even though I had been eyeing the flan from our arrival I was too full to even consider ordering it.

We had a very enjoyable time, ate some very nicely flavored food, and left in a mood to return soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fresh well prepared Mexican food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Making fresh tortillas in dining room. Sauces on enchiladas extremely tasty. Decor reflects age of building. But food and value are excellent. Service friendly and easy going.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Football special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you want good food on the cheap, hit the football special. Drinks and nachos are reduced and very good. We had the combo fajitas and will be going back for more. The service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chevys Fresh Mex also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Homewood, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Chevys Fresh Mex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chevys Fresh Mex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.