We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biscuits and Gravy Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's Coffee Shop

Ernie's Coffee Shop
1207 Emerald Bay Rd, CA 96150
(530) 541-2161
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Biscuits and Gravy Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ernie's has been a must visit place for us for over 20 years now. We have not found better biscuits and gravy in all of our vast domestic and international travel. The "scrams" are a delight also. This is a must visit for breakfast place if you are staying in S Lake Tahoe. Granted, it is a bit out of the way but well worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    25
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nostalgia, noisey and delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a recent visit to So. Lake Tahoe we went to Ernie's coffee shop for breakfast. It is very crowded, but not cramped. The noise level is a little high, but it adds to the adventure. There is nostalgia on the walls and it is fun to look at all the items from back then! The food was delicious. Lots of choices for everyone on the menu, even vegans. The Mimosa's are lovely. A great way to start the day in this beautiful area. I recommend this restaurant for great food, large portions, and a happy atmosphere. The staff is GREAT and so friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is really like an old-time coffee shop. They still have milk that comes out of a machine, instead of a jug. Wonderful fresh squeeze orange juice. We sat at the counter and watched them make the juice. All the people that work there are very nice. Don't expect anything special, just a great regular breakfast. Although I had the bacon waffle and it was so good. It was so good, we went back the next morning

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and warm welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Ernie's consistantly serves up fresh flavorful food! The Paul's omelet is always great for breakfast or any of the burgers for lunch. The service is fast and friendly. You should have at least one breakfast or lunch there when visiting Sourh Lake Tahoe

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Place was crowded but my wife and I were seated within 10 minutes, and service was prompt.
The breakfast menu had something for everybody from Huevos Rancheros to Belgian Waffle, french toast to egg scrambles with chorizo at really moderate prices.
The food was great and outside seating was really pleasant in a shaded area with warm Tahoe weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Coffee Shop also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Ernie's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernie's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.