We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge breakfast menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernie's Coffee Shop

Ernie's Coffee Shop
1207 Emerald Bay Rd, CA 96150
(530) 541-2161
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Stockton, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Huge breakfast menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Place was crowded but my wife and I were seated within 10 minutes, and service was prompt.
The breakfast menu had something for everybody from Huevos Rancheros to Belgian Waffle, french toast to egg scrambles with chorizo at really moderate prices.
The food was great and outside seating was really pleasant in a shaded area with warm Tahoe weather.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Upscale Diner, Great Breakfast Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved this place for breakfast. Good service and food. There is a vegan section on the menus: I had the french toast - 3 slices of sprouted whole wheat bread dipped in banana soymilk butter - really tasty. I'm allergic to eggs and dairy so it was a real treat to have french toast. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast is Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Based on a recommendation from a waitress in another restaurant we tried Ernie's. the service was quick and very friendly. There is a large menu with not only breakfast choices but lunch items.
The old standby ham & eggs was tasty and there was plenty on the plate. The coffee was good and the staff was around to make sure you couldn't see the bottom of you're cup. The price of our breakfast was more than reasonable.
On our second visit, the waitress recognized us and gave us the local discount. Most of the tables were locals and the atmosphere was warm and friendly.
You should drop by if you are in the area

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place for visitors and locals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ernie's (and-get thisyou Sesame Street fans- Bert's accross the street) are a great place for fresh coffee and homemade breakfast. Cute place in South Lake Tahoe that's easy to find on hwy 50. Coffee is fresh hot and plentiful. A little pricey but not more than the last Ohio I visited...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best French Dip EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

went there during my recent road trip to discover they REALLY know how to make a truly great French Dip (along with a nice tossed green salad!) Freshly baked soft roll, thin cuts of well seasoned beef and au jus not salty like most.

the place was full of locals. I was one of the few travelers. so glad i found this great spot. skip the joints along the strip and go here for down home cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernie's Coffee Shop also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
Lake Tahoe (California), CA
 

Been to Ernie's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernie's Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.