We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fiore

Cafe Fiore
1169 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-9011
530 541 2908
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are not many tables here, so you need a reservation, but it's worth it. The garlic bread ($4, not complimentary) is brought out fresh from the oven and full of flavor. I had the pasta with sausage. I loved it as the sausage had lots of flavor. Hubby had the halibut which was done to perfection with a delightful sauce. For dessert, the white chocolate ice cream is a must. The pours on the wines by the glass are 8 oz and that's on the wine list. Very nice. I will go back the next time I'm in Tahoe. There were essentially two waitresses who work very hard and were good. They could describe the dishes and the wines clearly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    142
    27
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice Italian food . Very small so early reservations are recommended. Food is good but not a place for the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We made a reservation for the outdoor patio, and when we showed up they said we had no reservation and must have called a different restaurant in another city. They "accommodated" us by seating us inside near the restroom. The food was OK, fresh, nothing special and no better than what one can make at home. The wine list was interesting, well priced, but sloppy--the same wine was listed as both a petite syrah and a cabernet franc in different parts of the wine list with a $10 price difference. By the end of dinner, a table for two on the patio had remained empty the whole time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We have been spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another trip to the "Lake" and then back to what is becoming one of our all time favorites. The staff is superb. The bread was still warm from the oven. We split the Calamari appetizer. My bride enjoyed the Halibut and I ordered the Swordfish. Both were outstanding. Our wine paired well with our entrees and the dessert we split. Dining here is always such an enjoyable event. However you must have reservations. We saw at least five parties turned away while we dined. How do they continue to excel? Amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFPEDS
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate outdoors in a quiet backyard setting, having walked over from where we were staying. We had not expected anything outstanding, having chosen it based partially on location, but the meal was superb. The menu appears to change regularly, but we had six courses (appetizer, main meal, and dessert), and all were outstanding. I went for the seafood pasta, and my wife had the swordfish for our main courses. The appetizers were light and tasty, with the flavours come through and the sauces not overpowering, and the deserts were most satisfying without being heavy. Our server was very helpful and unobtrusive except when we needed him, as he should be. All in all, this was a very pleasant surprise for us, and I highly recommend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiore also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cafe Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.