We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fiore

Cafe Fiore
1169 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150-9011
530 541 2908
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice Italian food . Very small so early reservations are recommended. Food is good but not a place for the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    30
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation for the outdoor patio, and when we showed up they said we had no reservation and must have called a different restaurant in another city. They "accommodated" us by seating us inside near the restroom. The food was OK, fresh, nothing special and no better than what one can make at home. The wine list was interesting, well priced, but sloppy--the same wine was listed as both a petite syrah and a cabernet franc in different parts of the wine list with a $10 price difference. By the end of dinner, a table for two on the patio had remained empty the whole time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We have been spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another trip to the "Lake" and then back to what is becoming one of our all time favorites. The staff is superb. The bread was still warm from the oven. We split the Calamari appetizer. My bride enjoyed the Halibut and I ordered the Swordfish. Both were outstanding. Our wine paired well with our entrees and the dessert we split. Dining here is always such an enjoyable event. However you must have reservations. We saw at least five parties turned away while we dined. How do they continue to excel? Amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMFPEDS
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We ate outdoors in a quiet backyard setting, having walked over from where we were staying. We had not expected anything outstanding, having chosen it based partially on location, but the meal was superb. The menu appears to change regularly, but we had six courses (appetizer, main meal, and dessert), and all were outstanding. I went for the seafood pasta, and my wife had the swordfish for our main courses. The appetizers were light and tasty, with the flavours come through and the sauces not overpowering, and the deserts were most satisfying without being heavy. Our server was very helpful and unobtrusive except when we needed him, as he should be. All in all, this was a very pleasant surprise for us, and I highly recommend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Excellent Once Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We dine at Cafe Fiore every summer. It's our best meal of the week. The service is excellent. The dining room tiny but you don't feel cramped. Excellent wine list with a price range for everyone. Reservations a must! Entrees come with a salad or soup. We ordered the special salad of the night and split, had the minestrone soup which was excellent and both ordered the swordfish which was cooked to perfection. If your wallet allows, don't miss dining here. We will return and highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fiore also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe Vista, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Cafe Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.