We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garlic Chips are to die for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Pizza Co

Lake Tahoe Pizza Co
1168 Emerald Bay Rd, CA 96150
530-544-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Garlic Chips are to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We've eaten here about five times. We're always seated quickly and the servers always cheerful. We choose the booths rather than the lounge and love the feel of home, tho' our home has lots less collectibles surrounding us. The salad bar ingredients are fresh with our favorite additions - beets, grated carrots, mushrooms, olives and pepperocini. We share our dinners, one of us ordering a small pizza and the other an entree that includes Garlic Chips, pizza dough spread with garlic and oil and served with ranch dressing, which is in a word "delectable!" when our teenage grandsons came with us, they loved the Barnyard Massacre pizza which has every kind of meat. At every visit we've taken home enough leftovers for a satisfying lunch the next day.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best pizza for 100 miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A great "mom and pop" pizza place that's been in SoLakeTahoe for decades.

Their pizzas all feature handmade/hand-rolled dough and a special crust that I've only seen here: the fold the outer edges around/over the sauce, so it has a braided look and a delicious filling when you get to it.

The best (and most unusual) pizza in our family's opinion: The Acapulco Gold! Essentially a Taco Pizza with taco meat, cheese, olives, tomatoes, cheddar and mozzarella cheese, and fresh avocado on a corn dough crust slathered with a mild picante red sauce.

I wish I could talk more about their other specialties (Barnyard Massacre, Gutbuster, etc) but we always order the AG when we're in town. Great beer selection, great/friendly service, and some of the best pizza in over 100 miles.

A few caveats: 1) They're almost always slammed, so unless you arrive (or phone order) EARLY, expect to wait 20-60 minutes. 2) If you can, sit in the front area...it's more cozy and definitely less loud than the back seating area.

Say hi to the owner "Levon" if you can -- he's a great guy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“25 Years!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been craving this pizza for over 25 years now, and get my fill of it every chance I get. Favorites include the Acapulco Gold and the pesto or garlic chips. Just good pizza and worlds apart from the chain pizza places.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Place smelled like Vomit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were really relieved to find a place open after 10p.m. in Lake Tahoe. Once seated in the restaurant, it was noticeably in need a of a deep cleaning. Our waitress was nice and was very accommodating but while we waited for our food, whiffs of a foul smell came throughout our dining experience. The smell was very similar to vomit. Our pizza arrived but at this point had no appetite due to the consistant smell. The appearance of our pizza was vey below average and tasted like it as well. We did not complain but simply wanted to get out of there as fast as we could. Would rather not eat then go back there for another meal. I am not smell sensitive, but this was not for the wary. As I am about to write many glowing reviews for the Tahoe region, I seriously wonder what is wrong with the people who rate this place good. If you like cheap as possible bread, sauce and cheese with no flavor, go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not bad. Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The crust could use some work. The Jackpot (a combination pizza with pepperoni, salami, beef, sausage, onion, mushrooms, bell peppers, and black olives) tasted a lot like the old Godfather's combo before that chain lost its edge. Add some more cheese and add the old thick/cracker crust from Godfather's and you'd have a great pizza.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Tahoe Pizza Co also viewed

Lake Tahoe (California), CA
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Lake Tahoe Pizza Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Pizza Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.