We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Price & Location, some quirks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Frost Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tahoe (California)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Frost Inn
Save
You added Pine Frost Inn to your Saves list
4113 Manzanita Ave, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Boise, ID
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Price & Location, some quirks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

This super-bargain made a spontaneous Labor Day weekend getaway possible for our second anniversary. The location was unbeatable-- only 4 blocks from casinos and the free private beach shared by the area hotels. Unlike many hotels, it is on a quiet back street, NOT along the congested 5 lane Rte. 50 /Lake Tahoe Blvd and Emerald Bay corridor.

As with any discount hotel, expect some quirks: small, old towels, dated carpet, plumbing fixtures and tile (but hot water OK and doesn't cycle hot-cold). Furniture was nice and more modern, and the room itself very spacious. The hotel also has ammenities unusual at this price-- a small pool and hottub.

The owners are friendly and eager to please-- offered to show us the room before committing, suprised us with a discount for 2 night stay (after originally saying they couldn't offer this for a holiday weekend), and warning us in the morning about more convenient parking for the afternoon, since a bus would be arriving.

As other reviews note, the owners are also disorganized with their reservations. Be sure to call to reconfirm 1-2 days ahead, and to honor their policy of a same-day confirmation call. Some restaurants in the area also require this same-day reconfirmation due to an apparently high no-show rate.

We were extremely happy for the price, and the location was even better than expected. We were pleasantly surprised by the private beach within easy walking distance.

Note: Online directions will be slightly wrong. You must now access Manzanita Rd. from Stateline Ave or Friday Ave, as construction has permanently closed the connecting block of Poplar Ave. The hotel's repeated requests to mapquest, etc. have been ignored. No hint of construction noise at the hotel itself, though.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

I booked my stay through Virgin - it was a great deal and the Pine Frost was ideal in terms of location just a short walk from the Gondola although we had a car (car park at Pine Frost fine) and so drove to the Californian Base most mornings to get breakfast at the Blue Angel which I can highly recommend!

The rooms are spacious and simple in terms of decor, very warm and the shower was great. Yes it's a slightly dated inside but really when you are skiing the most important things are space for your stuff, a warm room and a hot bath and shower and the Pine Frost delivers! The beds were large, comfy and again very warm. I have stayed in a number of 4 star international chain hotels that have been far worse than the Pine Frost and cost a whole lot more!

The whole place is very clean and the cleaners came every day to change bins and towels and made the beds so it was lovely to come back to after a hard day on the slopes!

I will be coming back to Tahoe and the Pine Frost Inn! Great Value for money!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We booked the holiday through Virgin as it was such great value for money and having stayed in Lake Tahoe before - at the Ridge which is a 10 to 15 minute drive from Heavenly - we knew we wanted a more central location!

We were not disappointed and were about 5 minute walk max from the Gondola!

The decor is a bit dated with nylon bedspreads - but clean soft sheets - massive bed - fridge in the room - and overall pretty clean.
One drawback - tiny bath towels and the heater in the room is really noisy and goes off every 10 minutes.

The other thing that really annoyed me is that on the description from Virgin it mentioned the relaxing hot tub - realistically the hot tub will sit about 3 adults in it - so hope you are on friendly terms with your fellow hot tubbers - I would describe it as a Clairol foot spa - but that is a bit of an exaggeration!

Overall I would recommend Pine Frost - but our friends stayed at the Holiday Inn which has just been refurbished - so although a little further from the Gondola I would probably go there - sorry Pine Frost!!!!

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — small towels and noisy heater
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

Reviewer: My son and I traveled from Scotland to Lake Tahoe for a skiing holiday in Jan and were so pleased with the hospitality at the Pine Frost Inn that we returned for a second visit with my daughter in April. The owner could not have been more helpful in assuring our stay was pleasant. The rooms are clean and pleasing and everything worked. The linen was a cut above the normal motel linen which was nice. On the day we checked out the owner invited us to return to our room in the afternoon to shower and change before we set off for San Francisco in the late afternoon. A very nice gesture to round off an excellent weeks skiing. I would recommend the Pine Frost to anyone as a very good value, well run, clean motel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2006

We had 4 room's here and the room's were so nice, espically the bed's & sheet's, as most people know usually motel sheet's ---, but not here. Room's are very nice and were super clean, and the rooms were so warm espically how cold it was.We have been giving seminars in lake tahoe so each week we try a new place, and so far this has been one of the best. Plenty of parking and all the snow was removed so everybody had a place to park, and the place had no vacancy sign on friday night when we arrived. It is about a 5 minute walk to the casino, and a 8 minute walk to the gondola. The people who run it could not do enough for us we thanked them many times before we left. The $$$ is so cheap it is hard to beat at other motels. Give the pine frost a try, you will not be disapointed. Good Luck to all!!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

This was our second stay at the Pine Frost Inn - the first was cut short by a mid-day ski injury - that time the owners graciously gave us credit for an already-paid night when we had to go home early/mid-day - an unexpected and pleasant touch of a family-run business.

Rooms are large, clean, with strong heaters and lots of hot water. There's a pool (empty for winter) and working hot tub, though I can't imagine it was hot enough to be enjoyable as the flimsy cover barely fit over it. The beds are comfortable, linens and towels are clean, free TV gets 60 channels, etc.

It's about a 4-short-block walk to the main street - Heavenly Gondolas & bus pickup lot is on your immediate right, casinos are on your immediate left. We didn't need to use the car all weekend, now that's a nice vacation!

We paid just $60 a night and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

I was a little worried about this place since it had no website or pictures, and reserving a room was a little difficult since the husband and wife managers don't have a computer to give you booking information. But once secured and when we arrived they were extremely friendly and courteous; we got our choice of rooms, which were spotless (though one lamp didn't work), warm and comfortable, with decent water pressure and cable TV. The managers recommended a GREAT restauraunt called Nikki's Chaat Cafe, about 1/2 mile down the road, which is open until 9:30 most nights, 10 pm on fridays and saturdays; American breakfasts during the day and superb indian food at night (also very friendly hosts). The Pine Frost is 50-57 bucks a night even on a holiday weekend and is walking distance from Heavenly Gondola. We don't like to gamble, but it is also right at the state line, which when you cross stands the casinos. So forgive them if you can't book over the internet and making sure you have a room can seem vague. If you confirm conscientiously, this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Frost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Frost Inn

Address: 4113 Manzanita Ave, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 130 Hotels in Lake Tahoe (California)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Pine Frost Hotel
Pine Frost Inn CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Frost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.