We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and location great, but renovation still in progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort to your Saves list
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Room and location great, but renovation still in progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Room and location good but resort still under renovation, so if you want a nice room, one bedroom nice with a full kitchen, or a studio with kitchenette(still better than a normal hotel room), but don't need the pool or full restaurant. Then this might work for you. The casino's and heavenly valley resort a mile and a half away. Access to lake rentals / Tahoe Queen large paddle boat and other beach activities lakeside right behind hotel. Several restaurants within walking distance. Renovations should get completed by end of summer in stages for pool and common area---consider calling if you have any concerns.

Room Tip: Had a second floor room -- no noise from above or below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    130
    57
    47
    33
See reviews for
138
108
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a time-sharing hotel and certainly a great place to stay when in South Lake Tahoe.
Rooms are big, bathrooms are huge. Kitchen has all the gadgets to prepare meals and decor is nothing fancy or obnoxious.
Beds are very comfy and clean.
Great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My brothers and I stayed here for a couple of days, and we had a great time!

Yes, there is still construction going on, but we knew that going in. We ended up getting a 2-bedroom unit. This was actually 2 separate living areas with access to both quarters from a main hallway entrance. Let me explain better: When you use your key card to enter the rooms from the hallway, you find yourself in a small vestibule room. On one side is the door leading to one room; you still need a key card to enter this room. This room had 2 beds, its own bathroom and a kitchenette. From the vestibule you also have access to the other room (key card required), which is the main component of the 2-bedroom suite. This area is comprised of a full kitchen, living room, bathroom, and a king-size bed. It also had a nice balcony.

Part of the “hassle” of staying at this resort is that it is a timeshare property. Believe me, the mission of the staff, along with making your stay as comfortable as possible, is to get you to buy. Hey, I understand: it’s a business and they are going to sell, sell, sell. As when dealing with any salesperson, if you are not interested, immediately say, “No, Thank you,” in a confident, firm voice and move on. They will not physically stop you. As long as you did not sign up for a tour, you’re not obligated to do anything. If you were lured in by the freebies and did commit yourself to enduring a tour, then you must grin and bear the sales pitch.

This place is right next to the marina, so if you are interested in going for a ride on the Tahoe Queen paddlewheel ship, or renting some jet skis or other water craft, you can walk there right from your room.

The shops at Heavenly Village are also only a mile away, making it an easy 20 minute stroll if you do not wish to drive around town.

Check-out time of 10 AM is pretty early, so be ready for that (I had asked the previous day for a later time and obtained an 11 AM check-out. The key is to ask in advance, and not the morning of your departure).

PS: There is a $20 resort/parking fee PER NIGHT (unless you are a timeshare owner)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This resort is large and is located just outside of main downtown. It is centrally located near McDonalds and a shopping center across the street. The rooms were large and very comfortable. I'm not sure if this is available as a hotel or a timeshare. Hopefully the construction is done and the parking is better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

LTVR is a timeshare facility with decent amenities. Located near the lake, and within walking distance to excellent restaurants, the resort is good for a few day getaway. Rooms are functional with small kitchen and eating areas off a living room. The only downside is that the rooms are subject to external noise from the hallways and the outside. Also, it is wise to avoid the sales people who are pushing hard the timeshare aspect of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have been owners at this resort since it became part of Diamond Resorts and was Embassy Suites. WE are here every August and have learned how to avoid the sales staff. The sales people that have been here for a few years know me and my wife by name and greet us as soon as we arrive. No hassle but a quicky pitch. If you are to go to a presentation you can usually walk away with lots of perks. Keep saying no until they hit you with the good stuff. Enough of that, the regular staff is very helpful and Rob the bartender is the best. Always great to visit with him while waitinf=g for the room to be readied. We always take a 2 bedroom lockout and have only been disappointed once. Very comfortable beds and furniture, flat screen TV in every room, teeny kitchen but thta's ok. If you like to walk you can walk to the casinos

Room Tip: Upper floors with lake view is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I checked in without any issues, but as we walked out of the lobby a tall man blocked the exit and told us to go a different way, shuffling us toward an awaiting sales staff employee. After a 7 hour drive our 2 children, under the age of 5, were antsy to get moving. I asked if this was a necessary part of checking in and they both emphatically said yes.

After not taking no for an answer I finally started walking away because our children were being loud and running around. The woman wouldn't even let us go to our room despite me telling her that they had to use a bathroom. Instead she insisted that we just use a lobby restroom located around the corner. She finally got irritated by our kids and gave us some info to "think about".

Less than an hour later our phone was ringing in the room, I refused to answer it knowing that it was the saleswoman. Our phone intermittently rang throughout the weekend and we knew they were trying to drag us into a timeshare meeting despite the fact that we told them we would not attend due to our short stay.

Despite the renovations around the facility our rooms were very nice and quiet. We used it only as a "hotel" on the weekend so you don't get maid service when you do this. It's been 3 weeks since I've stayed there and they still haven't taken off the $100 hold on my credit card for incidentals. I refuse to call to have it removed because I don't want them to keep me on the phone with more sales tactics.

This would have been a great stay with it's location and nicely sized rooms, but the sales staff was just unbearable. The parking rates are ridiculous as well, but they seem unavoidable. If you can stomach the intense sales tactics then this place was a great bargain for the size and quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: The two bedroom lock off is great for family that wants to be close, but still have privacy. They h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort

Address: 901 Ski Run Blvd, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tahoe Vacation Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tahoe Vacation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.