We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3840 Pioneer Trail, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not What I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Went to South Lake Tahoe for the 1st week of August, where we stood at the Lodge at the Lake Tahoe. I want to say this was our first time for my husband two kids and me staying on the South and was not very happy. However, let me start by reviewing the Lodge itself…was not impressing.
PROS: Pool and surrounding areas cleaned daily. The room was clean with dishes and utensils to cook a meal.
CONS: I expected a resort because that is what I thought RCI was advertising. However, it was an upgrade from a motel status. Be warned there is no AIR CONDITIONER and it was very HOT during our stay in August, they only provided one fan. The bed was nice and firm but the pillows were like rocks. I suggested to management to invest on trash cans that keep wild animals out, because every night a family of raccoons would visit and rummage through the plastic containers which were 3 feet away from our upstairs room. I would have loved to leave the window open for some breeze but was afraid that the raccoons would rip through the screen to get to our food.
The Lodge is located on a strip where there are rundown apartments and cheap motels so you have to be aware of your surroundings. However, once you crossover the Nevada border you can see the difference.

Room Tip: Call the hotel & ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mona, Utah
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I booked a 7 night stay for mid-July. Temperature at the time we arrived was 82 degrees outside, The second floor room felt like 92 inside. The motel's solution was to send another fan, but it was not enough to cool the room to a comfortable temperature so we drove around for a couple of hours in the air conditioned comfort of our private automobile. While the room was clean and furnished typically for a room with a full kitchen, because it was so uncomfortable we spent alot of time trying to avoid being there. The decor was lodgey with log furnishings. There is a bbq grill, play area for kids, a nice lawn, a jacuzzi and pool, none of them spectacular. The bbq however seemed to be a popular amenity. The bed sank and was uncomfortable, the requisite fan was loud and annoying especially whilst trying to sleep. The shower seemed to be about 18-24 inches wide and I could not help banging my elbows on the door when showering. We knew the maintenance man arrived on time every morning because of the loud Harley he parked in the lot below. The outer walls are very thin. There is no daily maid service for guests staying one week or more. There was only one front desk clerk on duty during the day, and none at night. Only upside was the location that is within walking distance of the Heavenly Valley gondola, tourist shops, a brew pub and other various tourist traps. From there, the casinos in Nevada are another quarter mile walk to the east. Take the drive around the lake going counter-clockwise because it seemed much less crowded coming into King's Beach and Tahoe City. Get off on Pioneer Trail for a nice back drive to the motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and two older daughters spent a week at The Lodge in June as an exchange through RCI. We really enjoyed the facility, especially the pool, spa and barbecues. The resort is within walking distance of everything, even the beach (private, $5 to enter). This is an older place that has had a major facelift. We had a single bedroom unit which was a bit cramped for the four of us but it was spotless and seemed freshly painted with new appliances, carpet and furniture.

I have only two minor complaints: The dishes/utensils were a bit sparse; four of each item, nothing more. Also, we had two vehicles during our stay and were told that issuing a single parking permit was their policy. After a little begging, we were finally given two permits (and a bad attitude from the check-in agent). The facility was nearly empty the whole week we were there and many, many parking spaces were available! Why the pain?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We haven't stayed at this timeshare for years, so we thought we'd check it out. Location is great...half a mile walk to casinos and less than that to great shopping and food, so extremely convenient. We upgraded to the two bedroom unit with full kitchen, and the kitchen was completely stocked with everything we needed to cook. The room looked like two or three motel rooms joined together, so it was very spacious, with separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. The living area also had a hide-a-bed in the sofa. The second bedroom was supposed to have queen beds according to the floor plan, but they were only full size, so that was a bummer, since we had two couples, and double beds are a bit small when you're used to king. Pool and jacuzzi seemed nice and got use during the day, as did the barbecues at pool side. The grounds were clean and well kept. Not much parking...as I recall, there used to be more parking in the front, but I think the pool now takes up that area. I would say one car per room is it. The staff were excellent--very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious, and all of the usual amenities were provided for us, including coffee packets for the coffee maker, as well as popcorn, and hot chocolate. The rest of the food you need to bring yourself, but the refrigerator was full sized, which was nice. There was a toaster, blender, hand mixer, full set of dishes and glasses, full stove and oven, a microwave, and even a garbage disposal and a dishwasher, too, which was nice. Now for the cons: no air conditioning. We knew this coming in, and we happened to be visiting on a VERY warm weekend. There is a fan for each of the bedrooms, but unless you want to sleep with your blinds completely open, the fan won't draw much air in through the window where we had it set up. Still, it was totally bearable, as we're from the Sacramento area and are used to the heat. Other major con was that the mattresses were all VERY uncomfortable. We're not that picky, but these were pretty bad. Except for the mattresses and our resulting sore backs, we were very happy with our stay. Great if you're on a budget, and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a unit with a full kitchen if you need one, as there are units with only kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

After recovering from the decor (Flintstone furniture); the place really works out fine. Even though it is an older property; it is clean, quiet and has very pleasant staffers taking care of the property. The swimming pool is clean and heated. It does not have a fantastic view it is either a pool or garden view. Close drive to stores and beautiful scenery. We were able to use our time share week for this property. Our unit had a kitchen, small dining area, living area, bedroom with comfortable king bed. Robes are provided which made it easy to stay warm after a swim.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor room if you prefer more light....however you need to be able to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Centrally located close to all of the Lake Tahoe action, The Lodge at Lake Tahoe is a nice accommodation for couples, family, and friends. We stayed for a week here, and found the staff
friendly ( namely TONYA) and unit wonderful. Spacious, clean rooms ... not noisy,,, adds to the consistency of good reviews for this Lodge. They keep their hot tub at 103 degrees, which is well needed after a hard day of skiing. The Lodge at Lake Tahoe is very close to Heavenly Mountain with easy access to all other ski resorts either north or south.The Lodge is a good choice as a home base for your vacation. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Lodge at Lake Tahoe very enjoyable.We stayed for three night and 4 days just perfect. We had a two bedroom//2 bath, med. living, dining rooms & fully stocked kitchen with welcome baskets of coffee, tea, popcorn nice touch. The bed and pillows were comfortable, unit was 203/204 2nd floor nice location overlooking the jacuzzi and pool. This lodge is very close to casinos, shopping at there amazing Raley's grocery store, starbucks, 4 neat clothing stores, christmas store, huge hardware, sports ski shops. Also close to Applebees, Carrows, The Naked Fish, Subway, etc. Staff was very friendly and quick check in service. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor then you do not have to hear the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodge at Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Lake Tahoe

Address: 3840 Pioneer Trail, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Specialty lodging in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge at Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.