We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe Retro - Rustic without Air Conditioning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Lake Tahoe

Save Saved
You added The Lodge at Lake Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Lake Tahoe
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3840 Pioneer Trail, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Mona, Utah
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Tahoe Retro - Rustic without Air Conditioning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I booked a 7 night stay for mid-July. Temperature at the time we arrived was 82 degrees outside, The second floor room felt like 92 inside. The motel's solution was to send another fan, but it was not enough to cool the room to a comfortable temperature so we drove around for a couple of hours in the air conditioned comfort of our private automobile. While the room was clean and furnished typically for a room with a full kitchen, because it was so uncomfortable we spent alot of time trying to avoid being there. The decor was lodgey with log furnishings. There is a bbq grill, play area for kids, a nice lawn, a jacuzzi and pool, none of them spectacular. The bbq however seemed to be a popular amenity. The bed sank and was uncomfortable, the requisite fan was loud and annoying especially whilst trying to sleep. The shower seemed to be about 18-24 inches wide and I could not help banging my elbows on the door when showering. We knew the maintenance man arrived on time every morning because of the loud Harley he parked in the lot below. The outer walls are very thin. There is no daily maid service for guests staying one week or more. There was only one front desk clerk on duty during the day, and none at night. Only upside was the location that is within walking distance of the Heavenly Valley gondola, tourist shops, a brew pub and other various tourist traps. From there, the casinos in Nevada are another quarter mile walk to the east. Take the drive around the lake going counter-clockwise because it seemed much less crowded coming into King's Beach and Tahoe City. Get off on Pioneer Trail for a nice back drive to the motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shingle Springs, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and two older daughters spent a week at The Lodge in June as an exchange through RCI. We really enjoyed the facility, especially the pool, spa and barbecues. The resort is within walking distance of everything, even the beach (private, $5 to enter). This is an older place that has had a major facelift. We had a single bedroom unit which was a bit cramped for the four of us but it was spotless and seemed freshly painted with new appliances, carpet and furniture.

I have only two minor complaints: The dishes/utensils were a bit sparse; four of each item, nothing more. Also, we had two vehicles during our stay and were told that issuing a single parking permit was their policy. After a little begging, we were finally given two permits (and a bad attitude from the check-in agent). The facility was nearly empty the whole week we were there and many, many parking spaces were available! Why the pain?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We haven't stayed at this timeshare for years, so we thought we'd check it out. Location is great...half a mile walk to casinos and less than that to great shopping and food, so extremely convenient. We upgraded to the two bedroom unit with full kitchen, and the kitchen was completely stocked with everything we needed to cook. The room looked like two or three motel rooms joined together, so it was very spacious, with separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. The living area also had a hide-a-bed in the sofa. The second bedroom was supposed to have queen beds according to the floor plan, but they were only full size, so that was a bummer, since we had two couples, and double beds are a bit small when you're used to king. Pool and jacuzzi seemed nice and got use during the day, as did the barbecues at pool side. The grounds were clean and well kept. Not much parking...as I recall, there used to be more parking in the front, but I think the pool now takes up that area. I would say one car per room is it. The staff were excellent--very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and spacious, and all of the usual amenities were provided for us, including coffee packets for the coffee maker, as well as popcorn, and hot chocolate. The rest of the food you need to bring yourself, but the refrigerator was full sized, which was nice. There was a toaster, blender, hand mixer, full set of dishes and glasses, full stove and oven, a microwave, and even a garbage disposal and a dishwasher, too, which was nice. Now for the cons: no air conditioning. We knew this coming in, and we happened to be visiting on a VERY warm weekend. There is a fan for each of the bedrooms, but unless you want to sleep with your blinds completely open, the fan won't draw much air in through the window where we had it set up. Still, it was totally bearable, as we're from the Sacramento area and are used to the heat. Other major con was that the mattresses were all VERY uncomfortable. We're not that picky, but these were pretty bad. Except for the mattresses and our resulting sore backs, we were very happy with our stay. Great if you're on a budget, and great location!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a unit with a full kitchen if you need one, as there are units with only kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

After recovering from the decor (Flintstone furniture); the place really works out fine. Even though it is an older property; it is clean, quiet and has very pleasant staffers taking care of the property. The swimming pool is clean and heated. It does not have a fantastic view it is either a pool or garden view. Close drive to stores and beautiful scenery. We were able to use our time share week for this property. Our unit had a kitchen, small dining area, living area, bedroom with comfortable king bed. Robes are provided which made it easy to stay warm after a swim.

Room Tip: ask for 2nd floor room if you prefer more light....however you need to be able to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Centrally located close to all of the Lake Tahoe action, The Lodge at Lake Tahoe is a nice accommodation for couples, family, and friends. We stayed for a week here, and found the staff
friendly ( namely TONYA) and unit wonderful. Spacious, clean rooms ... not noisy,,, adds to the consistency of good reviews for this Lodge. They keep their hot tub at 103 degrees, which is well needed after a hard day of skiing. The Lodge at Lake Tahoe is very close to Heavenly Mountain with easy access to all other ski resorts either north or south.The Lodge is a good choice as a home base for your vacation. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Lodge at Lake Tahoe very enjoyable.We stayed for three night and 4 days just perfect. We had a two bedroom//2 bath, med. living, dining rooms & fully stocked kitchen with welcome baskets of coffee, tea, popcorn nice touch. The bed and pillows were comfortable, unit was 203/204 2nd floor nice location overlooking the jacuzzi and pool. This lodge is very close to casinos, shopping at there amazing Raley's grocery store, starbucks, 4 neat clothing stores, christmas store, huge hardware, sports ski shops. Also close to Applebees, Carrows, The Naked Fish, Subway, etc. Staff was very friendly and quick check in service. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor then you do not have to hear the people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Three of us stayed for a full week in a 1 bedroom with full kitchen as a timeshare exchange. The unit was a pretty standard style - king bedroom with sofa bed in living room. It was clean and everything in the kitchen worked (though none of the appliances or dishes matched each other). The furniture was newer log furniture that fit the style of the area. We wish there had been a small desk in addition to the dining table though, as we had to move the laptops every time we had a meal. Closet and drawer space was acceptable. The pool and spa were nice and the gas BBQ's at the pool were popular. Midweek cleaning was included with the exchange and the brochure said rental guests get daily maid service. Plenty of hot water for showers and good water pressure.

The Wi-fi in South Lake Tahoe isn't the best in general, but we found several connections to chose from and we had good phone service.

The only dislike - a small charge for extra towels for the unit ($4) and charge for washer/dryer use ($1.50). Most places offer these free and it seemed kind of petty that the resort was charging for them. Also needed were animal proof outdoor trash cans - the racoons were in them every night- making noise and a big mess.

We liked the location - it is possible to walk to heavenly gondola, casinos, grocery and other shopping. There is only one parking space per unit and no street parking close by.

As some else noted - no planned social activities - but we did meet friendly people at the pool/spa area. For winter, there are ski lockers for each unit so the carpet doesn't get messed up so bad.

Room Tip: units starting with 1 or 2 are by the pool, and 3 or 4 have a quiet lawn area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Lake Tahoe

Address: 3840 Pioneer Trail, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tahoe (California)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge at Lake Tahoe 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Lodge at Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe Hotel Lake Tahoe (California)
The Lodge At Lake Tahoe CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Lake Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.