We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bay State Park

Emerald Bay State Park
Hwy 89, CA 96145
530-541-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$149*
and up
Lake Tahoe Semi-Private Photography Tour
Activities: Motor-boating, Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This spectacular bay in Lake Tahoe is best approached by hiking trails.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Emerald Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Since there are no signs directing one to this popular attraction, it took awhile to get there, but it is worth the trip. Once you park, you can take a picture (the classic picture of Emerald Bay) then you take a long walk to the beach. The parking lot is small though, but I noticed no one was staying that long at the park. Many would simply walk to the beach, explore a little then head back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    32
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best of Tahoe Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Emerald Bay is a lake with in a lake. It is so very popular, the parking lot is full by 8:30 a.m. After that, getting a spot is just luck. But, once there, the views are spectacular.

Want more? Come prepared to hike a mile down to the lake and a mile back. Bring a back pack, bring a pull cart with wheels. Once down on the beach, there is water, water, water.

As a kayaking fan, my wife and I rented a kayak and kayaked in from Tallac Beach. Wow, on the map it didn't look that far and the lake was choppy so it was a hard paddle. that being said, we would do it again because of the access it gives one to all of emerald bay, including the island in the middle of Emerald Bay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We drove around Lake Tahoe on our recent stay in Incline Village, NV. The views of Emerald Bay were breathtaking! There were several places to stop and look around. We took lots of pictures. There is a lodge at the base of the bay that you can only get to by walking a mile down the hill. We didn't take the hike but our traveling companions did and they said it was worth the strenuous walk both down and up the hill.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The views at Emerald Bay are exactly what you'd dream of at Lake Tahoe. They're breathtaking. The hiking is ideal for people who are somewhat active - the trails are easily marked and the maps are easy to follow. However, do not take on the hiking if you are not prepared to walk a few miles with incline. If you're ready to get out and move a little, the views will be some of the best you encounter. Don't forget your camera!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It really is Emerald!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find when driving around the lake and after a mile hike down you are on the shores of Lake Tahoe. Worth taking the paths around the bay out to the main Lake and if you take the right path make time to look at Lower Eagle Falls

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Bay State Park also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Emerald Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Bay State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.