We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Retreat & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gaia Retreat & Spa to your Saves list
Gaia Retreat & Spa
933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Gaia was everything that we expected and more. Comfortable rooms, fabulous food, friendly staff, gorgeous surroundings, great treatments and activities. We stayed for two nights, and would definitely stay for three the next time we visit. We loved that you could do everything or nothing. The group activities were there if you wanted to participate, but they were not compulsory. The food was fresh and delicious and servings were generous. And the wine options were excellent too. We're coffee fans and while plunger coffee was available on request, we found great coffee at the Harvest Cafe in Newrybar just down the road. The facilities such as the spa and fitness centre were clean and well equipped. The grounds and the views were breathtaking. All in all a great stay for those who want a healthy and relaxing time away.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    13
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
54
129
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from a divine week at Gaia. The accommodation is comfortable and beautifully appointed. Yoga every morning conducted by well qualified, caring teachers followed by the best breakfast on the deck in the sun while I contemplate the treatments I am to enjoy that day. What a way to start a magical day! And this perfect day finished with a three course evening meal, a glass of superb organic rose', a chat with fascinating guests and snuggling down into my comfortable bed with a pot of herbal tea to sip and a good book to read from the Gaia library at 9.30 pm. Perfect!

The accommodation is great, the common areas are welcoming, the food is first class, the treatments are given by some of the best therapists I have experienced anywhere in the world. And the amazing people who make up the Gaia team are all sensational. I don't believe I have ever had the joy of meeting people so dedicated, professional, proactive, thoughtful and caring. The values of Gaia are imbued in the people who make up the Gaia team.

I will definitely be back and I highly recommend Gaia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

With a big relaxing sigh, this is the retreat, that truly lives up to its reputation. We only spent two nights and I SO wish it was longer, but we still reaped the benefits of this stunning retreat. It is beautiful, relaxed, five star yet unpretentious . The service and welcoming from the staff is A+. The food is superb. Any dietary requirements are accommodated, without making you feel imposing - a breath of fresh air. The spa centre and treatments are beautiful - I felt 5 years younger after each one! The daily activities are diverse and you can't miss the morning yoga sessions. I couldn't fault it and will definitely be back again. Thank you Gaia for a much needed rejuvenation - my husband is very happy with his new relaxed, refreshed wife.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What an amazing place, so peaceful, nurturing and healing. After a 5 night stay at Gaia I felt completely renewed with a zest for life and a inner calmness. The food is five star - every meal was fantastic and accomodating to all diatary needs eg: gluten, dairy and sugar free.
The staff make you feel as if you are part of the family and any request is met with a no problem attitude. Therapists are very experienced and exeptional healers.
Will retreat to Gaia again whenever the "real world" is getting too hectic for me!
Ann-Maree R

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a TV or a bath so make sure you request one if you can't live without it! My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My second visit- can't believe I waited 3.5 years, was every bit as good as the first. This place is the ultimate in providing the self nurturing experience we often forget to provide for ourselves. The therapists are all true healers, the total experience is heaven on earth. The food, the decor, the service, the spa, the total experience is bliss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You cannot begin to expect what Gaia has in store for you until you get there. From the moment their driver picked me up from the Ballina airport, I felt so cared for by every staff member and each of them exuded such grace and kindness throughout every moment of my stay. My only regret is staying for just 2 days, as I could have easily settled in for a full week. The meals and the service were absolutely impeccable. Wholesome, organic, full of flavour and incredibly satisfying in a 5 star dining presentation. The morning yoga classes with Danielle reminded me of the true beauty of a practice and she brought a wealth of love, warmth, and knowledge to the class in a way that openly encompassed all levels. The day spa is a more than a treat. All of the therapists and staff are so careful to make sure your every need is tended and that you experience the highest level of relaxation possible. They pay close attention to the smallest of details and you'll want to do at least 5 treatments during your stay. Their menu is full of every kind of pampering you could imagine. The check in and check out with reception was also a wonderful experience. In fact, rather than approaching a desk, you are gently taken to a comfortable seated area full of pillows and warm colours, where a member of staff brings you tea and fresh fruit, then beamingly takes you through the details of your stay and the facility. Some of the nicest moments were simply the ones where I sat and read in the Kukura House, listening to the vast nature unfolding outside (the grounds are absolutely breathtaking!) with a blanket and some tea, breathing in the delightful scent of the room. I have not one bad thing to say about this truly wonderful place. In a matter of 2 days, I found an utter sense of gentle calmness that I hadn't had in months. It reminded me how to relax, how to take care of myself, and most importantly, to breathe. Thank you Gaia for an exquisite weekend.

Room Tip: The Layana rooms are all so calm, warm and cozy. There will be times you won't want to leave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I'm not sure why I've left it so long between visits!! This is one of the very special places I have been to in the world that is almost on my doorstep. I love that I can go somewhere and treat myself without feeling any expectation of what I 'should" be doing. It is a very special retreat - fabulous food; exceptional spa staff and experiences; exotic and humble, relaxed facilities. I LOVE IT and encourage others to indulge in the experience. Great way to have time with dear friends when time and geography limit opportunites to be together. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful break from a cold, busy city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaia Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Retreat & Spa

Address: 933 Fernleigh Rd, Brooklet, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Brooklet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brooklet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to the beauty and healing cultures of Gaia Retreat & Spa, nestled in the breathtaking Bundjalung Country hinterland of Byron Bay, Northern NSW Australia. Gaia is the perfect place to renew, refresh, and restore. Poised on the highest point in the shire and set on 25 acres, Gaia has 20 beautifully appointed retreat style bungalow villas set in the lush sub tropical gardens. This unique boutique property will seduce you into infinity with its endless views and beautiful vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Gaia Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Retreat Hotel Brooklet
Gaia Retreat And Spa
Gaia Retreat & Spa Australia/Brooklet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia Retreat & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.