We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangapapa Petit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mangapapa Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Mangapapa Petit Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Havelock North
victoria b.c.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a fantastic property with a few rooms. There are numerous facilities including a 3 hole golf course! The greens are a bit rough though. The service was great and the 6 course meal was incrideble. Tony was very helpful to us. I highly recommend this lovely place with great gardens. We even saw 2 Kangaroos in the garden!

Room Tip: Main lodge upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
46
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We won 2 nights stay as part of a prize package. Didn't dine there, but would like to go back and stay and dine. Setting is fabulous, rooms appointed beautifully, attention to detail very fine. Staff very friendy, courteous and most willing to assist where ever. Breakfast was lovely. Resident cat a bit wary..

Room Tip: Had a room in the old homestead - nice views and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had the most amazing experience on Friday night. We arrived at Mangapapa and were greeted and shown to our room. We relaxed and then had a couple of drinks at the bar , followed by a spa. We tried for the first time the 9 course Degustation Menu with matching wines/drinks. The food was simply the best we have ever had (thanks Chef Michael) and was matched perfectly with wines, port etc The service was exceptional and we cant wait to go back with friends. We loved our room and it was a bonus to be able to stay at this delightful hotel. Thumbs up to Catherine Hobbs -Turner and her team, we loved every minute. Thank you! We will be back.

Room Tip: Im sure every room is just as good as the one we had. It was tastefully decorated , spacious and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the Mangapapa suite withe wife and daughter. Place was wonderful, breakfast a treat (didn't dine there). Staff were the most friendly and helpful people we have encountered. A great headquarters for exploring the Bay.

Room Tip: We had the Mangapapa suite which is large, exceptionally well air-conditioned with a modern contempo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over Easter and had a lovely weekend. We were lucky to get a special deal and were given "the honeymoon suite". The first night we had the 6 course degustation dinner with matching wines and the food was fantastic. The break fast was also very good. It is close to havelock north a very nice town with some great shops. You need a car to get around if staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

we stayed at the Mangapapa Petit Hotel for my husbands birthday. driving down the drive way as soon as we pulled into the hotel entrance we were greeted at the car! - welcomed by professional friendly staff and escorted to our suite.
we dined at the restaurant experiencing a 6 course wine matched degustastion dinner - Fantastic.
for a special made to feel welcome weekend this property was really great. a huge thanks to the manager Catherine Hobbs-Turner, she and her team were exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012 via mobile

50 acres of gorgeous orchards abundant with fruit which guests may pick from the trees! Our room Cambridge suite was fabulous with lovely amenities, towels etc as you would expect at this price range. Very professional welcome from Tara. There is a pool and spa gym, small but functional. Fab place for stylish intimate wedding. We opted for the 6 course dinner and it was spectacular and the service impeccable.
The bad news is that we had no idea what food we would be served and 4 of the 6 courses were fish incl oysters so do ask up front in case of allergy etc.. It was actually mentioned on our check in form but people need to be specific.
Breakfast was a little let down too. Limited options, quite unusual. I would like to have seen eggs Benedict and more fresh fruit...I brought an apple from the orchard the second morning!
Overall a lovely experience.
We were here mid week and it was very quiet .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mangapapa Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangapapa Petit Hotel

Address: 466 Napier Road, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mangapapa Petit Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is still a place where guests are greeted at the car, where every guest is catered to with pride and where meals turn into timeless events. Built in 1885, this exquisite hotel is known locally as the homestead of Sir James and Lady Wattie. It has been carefully renovated throughout yet maintains its historical look and charm. The hotel boasts 12 magnificent guest suites, each individually decorated from modern contemporary style to old fashioned elegance. Mangapapa's restaurant serves a bespoke menu seven days a week. With a choice of 3 or more courses, with or without matching wines, we guarantee a memorable and complete dining experience. The Menu changes daily, always optimizing the fresh produce of the kitchen garden and local suppliers. For lunch order a delicious Mangapapa picnic to savour anywhere on or off the Mangapapa grounds, or try new terrace menu. The Conservatory is available for those who would rather eat indoors; a bright and sunny spot even in the winter when the roaring fire will keep you warm. Together with the pool, spa retreat, tennis court, and fully equipped conference facilities, this 'Olde Worlde' homestead offers the ultimate experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mangapapa Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangapapa Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.