We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual but tasty.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diva Bistro & Bar

Diva Bistro & Bar
10 Napier rd, Havelock North 4157, New Zealand
64-06-8775149
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Superb food, great service and a friendly bar, makes Diva an exciting local and out of town experience, serving lunch, dinner bar platters and great coffee. ...Diva Bistro & Bar found in the heart of vibrant Havelock North village.
Auckland , New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Casual but tasty.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good friendly if a little too familiar service in a comfortable yet casual environment. I had a shrimp cocktail which lets just say Ive had better ( sauce wasnt very tasty).. I asked for a strawberry dacquirie and got a tumbler with large chunks of strawberrys over chunky ice & rum , not the way I expected at all but stuill very yummy. I think a place of this calibre should know how to do a good cocktail. The menu had some tasty morsels on it but we werent very hungry so didnt give them a chance to impress. Nice environment for a casual dinner with friends.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    29
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Cocktail Magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had Tom the Cocktail guy at a private party and he was amazing! So professional, friendly and the cocktails were delicious! Such a great addition to any party and fantastic value. Thanks so much for a great day yesterday Tom, can't rave enough!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Successful Celebration held at Diva!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We held our parent's 50th wedding anniversary at Diva this month, a once in a life-time experience we worked with the Diva staff to achieve. What a great night we had! Many thanks to the Diva staff - they listened to what we were after, and added their advice and professionalism to the mix, making everything run smoothly. The food was great, on time, the room (affectionately called 'the Bat Cave'!) looked really special, and I would recommend it for anyone's function.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came here for a light dinner, having consumed a rather large lunch. Brightly coloured interior, central main road location, pleasant surroundings - although there's no door between the restaurant and the bar so if it's noisy in the bar, it does'nt make for a very quiet eating experience next door. Friendly efficient service; we had 3 small tasty plates (raveoli and a Mexican dish) and 2 glasses of local wine, the bill came to $59.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was great - service lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were a large group but had booked for 7.30. They finally seated us closer to 9pm. We were told off for wanting to order our mains straight away. We were told off for asking for water, and when we actually asked how long the mains would be, we were told to be patient - because cooking takes time! Lucky we had a sense of humour and a few drinks under our belt and took it well. I almost wondered whether we were at a 'theme' restaurant 'rude waitstaff'. Luckily the place redeemed themselves with the food - the paua fritters were amazing, and the steak was the best I've had in a long time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diva Bistro & Bar also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Diva Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diva Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.