We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipi's

Pipi's
16 Joll Raod, Havelock North, New Zealand
06-877-8993
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone 8778993
Christchurch
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“You have to try it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We cycled into Havelock North on New Year's eve and stumbled across Pipis...mainly because I was attracted by the bright pink colour I could see up the street. We were told they did not take reservations so we returned somewhat apprehensively around 7.30pm. The place was buzzing and the staff rushed off their feet but despite that, they were lovely, helpful, courteous and accommodating.
We requested to go outside (there is a great dining area out the back that you can't see from the street) as the noise inside was unbearable. We started off sharing the end of a long table but ended up there by ourselves when the previous guests left.
The food was fantastic. We had a pizza that had bacon and egg. I would thoroughly recommend this. The desserts were yummy. I couldn't decide and so they let us half two halves rather than one whole so we could sample more than one thing. Oh and I would thoroughly recommend the fudge which is a cross between chocolate fudge and chocolate cake. Yum! The coffee was great too.
Such a lovely experience...we were asleep by midnight, having had a great experience at Pipis

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    79
    33
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited Pipi tonight and felt nothing was any problem from the staff. A pretty hardcase way of helping youself to the beer fridge. Loved the relaxed atmosphere and the food was very nice. Well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Help yourself to a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's Sunday afternoon and we drove into Napier for a look around, as soon as we'd explained to the odd shop assistant or two (like you do) that we are stopping in Havelock North... we just had to go to Pipi's. Which we did, and it's lucky we did. If you're in this neck of the woods (apart from on Monday's), you have to visit Pipi's. Great food, great atmosphere, great service (get your own drinks), great price, just wish it was open tonight!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Without doubt a must visit for everyone visiting the area.

We had a wonderful time here. Delightful in every way. Wonderful insightful cook book.

So generous with the huge Jaffa container.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Consistantly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Julie and I dined at Pipi's on Saturday night, had a half and half large pizza, strawberry short cake with licorice ice-cream for desert between us both. Really flavorsome and very fulling! We watched as other diners who hadn't been there before order a large pizza each, get stumped, take what's left home in a dogie bag and miss out on a wonderful desert. So take note for when you get to dine there, enjoy. They have other dishes for those who don't go for a great pizza, so try the gnocchi. Pete.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipi's also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Pipi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.